We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shubies

Shubies
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Marblehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Looking for great food? Looking for great wine and beer? Looking for great gifts? Look No Further! Since 1948, we've been serving up some of the best food and wine around. We have wines from around the world, over 100 cheeses, charcuterie, magnificently prepared foods, a Foodbar, bakery, gifts, kitchen gadgets and so much more. The best way to enjoy the Shubie's experience? Visit us! We have plenty of free parking and lots of seating in our Foodbar or cafe. We have great options for gluten free, vegetarian and vegan diets, too! We feel so privileged to be serving this community and hope you enjoy our store as much as we do! Hope to see you soon!
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Friendly staff, delicious food. Get a variety of prepared foods, fancy cheeses, or delicious soups or sandwiches at any time of year. Great selection of small-company foods as well as foods made by their staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HistoryGirl1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    33
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent liquor store with fine prepared foods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The owners are competent and very friendly. The liquor variety is very good with fine guidance concerning the wines. In my experience, very few stores do prepared foods well. This is an exception. The selection of take out food is very tasty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank massbayreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, CT
Level Contributor
132 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gourmet and wine on the go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for exemplary food and an excellent choice of wines to go this is the place for you. It's a bit pricey and the few small round tables are often full. But this is a deli-deluxe. So grab some great food - and don't forget their desserts - and head down to the several harbor side parks or beaches for a wonderful day

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stumbled on this place by accident on a trip to Marblehead and it is my new favorite place to eat. The variety, quality and taste of the items at the salad/sandwich counter is amazing. Their roasted brussels sprouts rocked my world! ;)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sbaldwin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST to-go food on the North Shore & Can't Beat wine selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

First off, Shubie's staff makes you feel like you're family when you walk in. The place is certainly overwhelming; beyond a vast wine selection is a hybrid food specialty store/gourmet take-out counter/fun and funky kitchen appliances shop. If you're looking for delicious picnic food? Shubies (the vegetarian sandwiches with house-made hummus are amazing, the salads are gigantic enough for 2 meals, and their daily soups are phenomenal.). If you're looking for a wine you've had once and maybe remember the name of, they will help you find it or find something like it. Their weekend events are awesome (wine and food tastings, cooking classes, dinners prepared by their chef with wine pairings...). There is not enough good to say about Shubies.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shubies also viewed

 

Been to Shubies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing