We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italian food!”

Caffe Italia Trattoria & Bar
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Marblehead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Half price Appertizers at the Bar from 4:00 -6:00 every day .
Massena, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The atmosphere was romantic and the food was out of this world. It wasn't too pricey either. Great place to eat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bunny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great atmosphere, great food. Love the shrimp risotto and scallops. Service is friendly. Go on a nice day when the windows are all open!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HistoryGirl1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Italian to be had in Marblehead!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I were in Marblehead for 2 nights and spent both nights at Caffe Italia. Not only was the food great, but the service was top notch as well. We had such a great dining experience. The staff are real lovely people and the owner, Donna, is a sweetheart! We are from Brooklyn and this place really gives most of my local restaurants a run for their money. We had salads, fish entrees and pasta. So good! I also love the massive selection of wine by the glass. No more "merlot, cabernet, chianti". Do yourself a favor and eat here. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GivemeaTfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The first thing I noticed about Café Italia is all of the employees love working there, which naturally creates a positive atmosphere.

Speaking of atmosphere, this is great place for a date or for a whiskey with your buddies. The atmosphere is classy but still humble so you won't feel out of place if you walk in there with jeans, t-shirt and sneakers.

The food, including the bread and oil, is phenomenal because the folks in the kitchen are professionally trained. I always get the specials and they are always delicious.

And everyone, including the ownership, is warm and kind. I was treated like a friend the first time I walked in there. Actually, the first guy I met was the owner, and we were talking for a bit before he seated the wife and I. I was so impressed by his kindness I demanded that we return again.

In short, Café Italia is a fabulous restaurant run by pleasant folks which makes me proud to support them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkereako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, lots of choices”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The food quality is excellent and the menu is quite varied. The salads are creative and always delicious. I've had the eggplant rollatini appetizer as an entree and it is more than enough food. We've never had an entree that was disappointing. Service has always been excellent. However, this place is very busy and you should make a reservation if you want a table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngatheart3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Italia Trattoria & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Italia Trattoria & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing