We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid This Inn! More professionally run elsewhere.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marblehead Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Avoid This Inn! More professionally run elsewhere.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

We were traveling from NYC to Marblehead for a family event and the Inn was blocked out by the family hosts four months in advance. We promptly booked a specific room. After a while, we called the Innkeeper Diane to ask for our confirmation as we did not receive as she had promised. It was a good thing I called as she had the wrong date entered. We did re-confirm and we still had the specific room we requested. We called a third time one week ahead of time to be certain our room was confirmed.

This time, Diane said in a casual manner, "Oh yeah, I moved you to another room." When we questioned why, as the Inn was blocked out by the hosts months in advance for family members and we had specifically asked for a particular room, she replied, "Oh, you won't be disappointed. You'll like this room too." Even though the room was inferior to what we had requested and was the same price as the original room, when we insisted we wanted the room we had booked months prior, she became angry and abusive and cancelled our reservation.

We have been traveling at B&Bs for many years, and have NEVER encountered such unprofessional behaviour. We do understand that sometimes at B&Bs travel requests may not be honored, but when the entire Inn was blocked out months in advance for family only, we found that giving a room away to an outside guest is unacceptable. There are plenty of other Inns that are just as nice if not nicer in Marblehead and we recommend you avoide this Inn!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NYCTravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    50
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
90
124
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

I was re-locating to Marblehead and needed a place to hang my hat for several weeks as my plans were finalized. The Marblehead Inn was perfect! It quickly felt like home. My suite, which was tastefully furnished, was wired for internet and cable. Breakfast was available daily, but I also was able to prepare meals in my own kitchenette. The staff was professional and friendly and made every accomodation I needed. The location was great for exploring the downtown Historic District (dense with colonial houses from the 1600s & 1700s). Stunning ocean views were just minutes away by car on Marblehead Neck. My rating is 'exellent'. I would recommend The Marblehead Inn for both short and long visits to Boston's North Shore.

Jean O'Neil, Boston, MA

  • Liked — Friendly Atmosphere
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFeetBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

We booked a third floor king bed suite for one night with a quoted rate of $189.00 per night at the Marblehead Inn. My husband and I were visiting Marblehead for a long weekend October 3 through October 7th. We had reserved accommodations at another property for the rest of our stay and booked for Friday night only. Because we had not received any confirmation from the Inn after the initial phone reservation, my husband called the day before we left to make sure all was set.

The manager of the property told him that we were being moved to another suite without giving an precise explanation. Since we were flying in the next day, we figured we would assess the situation then since it was too late to find another room. When we arrived, the manager, Diane, told us our initial booking was occupied and offered us a very small suite directly opposite the entrance and adjacent to the common area. It was a hallway with a bedroom attached.

Since we would be there only one night, we said we would settle for it as we were told the first room was taken and there were no other rooms available, except one that had some problems with the TV and toilet. We did ask to see a larger room just to see the difference in amenities. It was a much larger room and when Diane offered us a adjustment in our rate, we figured it would be significant.

The next day we checked out after the night in cramped quarters and being disturbed by all the noise in the common area. The kitchen, dining area and the office was only a thin wall away. The next morning at check out, we told another employee our story of being bumped ( a first time experience) and we asked what was the charge. Diane had told us she was working on the reduction, but never gave us the figure. She left while we were out to dinner the night before.

To our surprise, we were charged $174.00 for the small room. Even more surprising when we explained what had happened and what Diane told us, the second woman said our original booking had been available the previous night. That was the big shocker as we had not questioned the story we were told and were trying to be understanding if the Inn was able to book the room for a longer stay. We were originally told the room was only open the one night and that is why we did not have to stay a two night minimum.

I told the desk person we had expected a bigger adjustment and she responded it was a holiday weekend. When I asked what holiday she replied Haunted Happenings although that is not listed on the website as a holiday for the Inn's rates. We paid the standard rate for the smaller room.

When we contacted Diane by phone after we got home and requested the owner's name, she told us he was an absentee owner and did not want to be disturbed. She stated the Inn staff has the option to move people at its discretion and room numbers will no longer be assigned at booking.

We have traveled extensively and are usually pretty easy going, but we do like nice quarters to come back to at night. The rest of our stay was fantastic and the next owner available and welcoming. We cannot understand why we were given the story we were, other than Diane hoped she could get more for the room and up the rate.

Since the change was made before we arrived, we can't take it too personally, but with the empty parking lot we saw and the vacancy sign on the Marblehead Inn we passed the rest of our stay, we are wondering why we were downsized. One of the shop people in town to whom we told our story said to us "you could have done better" and gave us the name of another Inn. We did thoroughly enjoy every other part of our trip in beautiful Marblehead, Massachusetts.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank VirginiaRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latremouille, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2009
Very Sweet to Suite:

I am very surprised by this very negative review ..especially for a one night stay......When he booked at the Marblehead Inn we did give him a one night reservation instead of the required 3 night minimum due to the our busiest time of the year: Haunted Happenings in Salem, MA our neighboring town.
We needed to juggle our reservations due to a full house coming in. I gave him a smaller full suite not the hallway he describes. The suite has a living room, kitchen, bedroom with a queen bed, bathroom with jacuzzi jets and a lovely patio... Generally guests love this suite!

I hope this guest is reading this rebuttle and will give us an opportunity to make up for any disapointment they may have expeirenced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

What a great place. Our entire wedding party stayed at the inn . Everything was perfect, they even made up a special room for my elderly grand parents. We were pleased beyond expectation. Thanks for a memorable time. The Loudens.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank loudens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

My family and I spent 2 nights at this inn in August 2005. The hostess showed us several rooms and let us choose. We had a large, and very reasonably priced, suite, complete with kitchenette. It was clean and had a nice homey feel. The staff was very helpful with suggestions for local attractions and restaurants. It is also conveniently located for tourist activities in Marblehead and Salem.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2005

The Marblehead Inn could easily be called a "home away from home". The rooms/suites are comfortable and the staff is extremely nice. The suites have televisions in both the sitting room and the bed room. The kitchenettes are equipped with both a fridge and microwave. Everything is immaculate and the location is convenient to the harbor and nearby Salem attractions.

Helpful?
1 Thank pinhillpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2003

My wife and I recently enjoyed a stay at this wonderful inn. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and the inn itself is small and charming.
It is located on the main road between Salem and Marblehead so it was very easy to find. I loved the the breakfast setup. You can get everything you want, including a fresh, individually brewed cup of coffee and take it back into your room to enjoy privately in front of the morning news. No cons to mention.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
5.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 20 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Property: Marblehead Inn
Address: 264 Pleasant Street, Marblehead, MA 01945
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marblehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our seven rooms and five suites with private baths. All 12 have been newly decorated. All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Le Naturel Earth Friendly Soaps & Shampoo •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable/HBO •Free Wifi in rooms and all public areas •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Wet Bars in the suites. New for 2016 our newly remodeled front desk and lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing