We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a great innkeeper!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marblehead Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“What a great innkeeper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We recently spent a rainy weekend at the Marblehead Inn, but had a wonderful time, mostly because of the suggestions and directions from the innkeeper, Jeff. He is definitely a keeper! He went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. We have stayed at dozens of B&B's in New England and Jeff was, by far, the most personable innkeeper we have encountered.By the time we left, I felt like he was an old friend. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed In Room 9. We didn't hear a sound from the rest of the inn and were able to great a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    48
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
87
117
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Though overdue, we would like to say that hospitality and attention was superb during our stay in Sept 2013. Extra special accommodations for our daughter, Amanda, was especially appreciated.
The Continental breakfast was excellent. All in all we would love to stay at the Marblehead Inn again. Karlene and John were superb hosts rendering us a warm welcoming.

John and Susanne Funchion
Norfolk, CT 06058

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Found this place via some locals in a coffee place in the town. Fantastic room, separate seating area (lounge) huge bed, great hospitality. Wasn't even planning on visiting Marblehead but was so disappointed with Salem that we decided to go through there on our way to Boston, I would recommend it to anyone within 50 miles well worth the detour....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathanearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Warm and welcoming without being intrusive. Would recommend this great inn and will visit again. Jeffrey was very informative and accommodating. Understand there are plans for updating period design even though it already looks amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glfangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

In October we had the opportunity to visit historic Salem, Massachusetts, and in keeping with the spirit of the holiday, I can say we had a "hauntingly" good time. One of the highlights of the visit was the good fortune of making use of the accommodations at Marblehead Inn during our stay. The Inn is truely lovely and yet conveys a "at your own home" ambiance. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the continental breakfast the next morning was, in a word, outstanding. The service was excellent and the staff pleasant and helpful. In today's disposable society it is quite easy to see why you have been in operation for all these years. Keep up the good work, and thank you for a wonderful experience. Please feel free to share these observations with your staff and guests.

Steven Borges and Deborah Charette

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Marblehead Inn two weeks ago. The staff was attentive and friendly, the room was large, quiet, clean and very comfortable, and there was a quality breakfast. We met interesting guests from England. The walking/biking trail is a pleasant 12 min. walk into town, passing friendly people, and it's quite handy to the Inn.

Room Tip: We chose a first floor room (not a suite) which was fine for a 2-night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahNov13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, Hannah. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you and Robert again, sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A long and dreary drive into Marblehead from Boston was amply rewarded with our arrival at the Inn.

A friendly welcome, coffee and a lovely room set us up for exploring the charms of the old town of Marblehead, culminating in a lovely lobster meal at the Landings.

We spent a very comfortable night, followed by a good breakfast around the table with interesting guests.

The friendly and accommodating staff and management showed us some of the features of this fine old building before we headed back to walk Marblehead again.

An excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the complimentary review, Frank. It's wonderful to know that arriving at the inn felt like a reward to you. We're glad that you enjoyed exploring the town, the beautiful architectural details of the inn, the comforts of your room, our breakfast offerings, and the other guests. We hope you and Penny will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 1,818 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
1.2 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 21 in Marblehead
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Property: Marblehead Inn
Address: 264 Pleasant St, Marblehead, MA 01945-2147
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marblehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our seven rooms and five suites with private baths. All 12 have been newly decorated. All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Le Naturel Earth Friendly Soaps & Shampoo •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable/HBO •Free Wifi in rooms and all public areas •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Wet Bars in the suites. New for 2016 our newly remodeled front desk and lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing