We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salem State Parent's Weekend”
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marblehead Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at the Marblehead Inn which was located less than five minutes down the street from Salem State University. From the moment we checked in, the Innkeepers, John and Karlene, couldn't have been any more friendly or helpful with suggestions of where to eat and what to see while there. Our room was clean with a private bath, nicely decorated and comfortable for the 2 of us. We were thrilled with the breakfasts served each morning. They were delicious! We will definitely stay here again and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We had a small, lovely decorated room on the first floor with a king bed and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you, Marie. We're very happy to hear that you and Ed enjoyed your room and your stay, and we're looking forward to seeing you both again for the next parent's event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 322 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Located within 1 mile of Marblehead Center, yards off the bike/jogging path through town, under 2 miles from scenic Marblehead Neck, this warm and welcoming place is a perfect base from which to explore locally or farther afield (Salem, Boston) Most of the rooms are large suites with sitting room separate from bedroom and include a kitchenette with some eating/cooking supplies. Some downstairs rooms are cramped and tiny, so inquire ahead of time (for larger rooms, you need to walk up 1 or 2 flights of stairs) Coffee-tea and snacks are available at all hours, full continental breakfast is satisfying (yogurt, cold cereal, variety of breads and pastries, jams and butter and peanut butter) Staff is friendly and helpful Internet blinks on and off and can be quite slow, and booking is by phone, not available on internet

Come here for a very satisfying stay

Room Tip: make sure you book the larger suites, avoid cramped first-floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kck40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you, Kay. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and your visit to the area. And we'd like to let you know that, in addition to phone reservations, we do also offer secure online reservations from our website, our Facebook page, and also here on Tripadvisor. We're looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent a quiet overnight here meeting good friends for a brief reunion. The rooms were lovely, baths modern, breakfast delicious. We appreciated the small touches such as coffee, tea and snacks always available. From the moment we stepped in, the atmosphere was friendly and we were given excellent information regarding activities and dining in the area. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone wishing accommodations in Marblehead.

Room Tip: Discusss room selection with the hosts before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you, Debra. We're very happy to hear that you and Burke enjoyed your stay here at the inn. We're looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I (from California) recently had the opportunity to spend 3 wonderful weeks traveling and exploring the New England states. Our last days there were spent in a beautiful and comfortable suite at the Marblehead Inn. The hosts were very accomodating in many ways, including everything from transportation tips to dining advice to local sights and making sure we had all the comforts of home at our disposal. There were tempting treats and beverages available at any hour which I much appreciated (and indulged in). The Marblehead area is gorgeous and the Marblehead Inn doesn't disappoint. Thank you for making our last days there some of our best most memorable. Debra and Burke

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraF17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you, Debra. We're very happy to hear that you and Burke enjoyed your stay here at the inn. We're looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you want to avoid the big city yet stay close to Boston, Marblehead is a great option. Picturesque New England city. We enjoyed our short stay at the Marblehead Inn. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful, giving us some good tips for our travels upon leaving their bed and breakfast.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cototraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you. We appreciate your time and effort in writing a review, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and visit to the area. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I just returned to California from the Marblehead Inn. What a lovely stay, lovely innkeepers, very comfortable room and gathering space, great location for leafing and long walks, and wonderful people that we met along this journey. Our room #12 was clean, inviting, decorated nicely, and spacious. We highly recommend the Marblehead Inn, particularly because of Karlene and her husband. Great hosts!
Steve & Tara Chase

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SPCTCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you, Steve and Tara. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and we're looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our trip to Salem gave us the opportunity to visit the beautiful community of Marblehead. Our daily walks allowed us to see the deep marine history and the authenticity of the homes. It is a beautiful area. The Marblehead Inn is convenient to both the Marblehead shore and Salem. Our stay was extremely pleasant. Our suite was spacious, extremely clean and quiet. The soft beds offered a great night's sleep. The owner's are good, genuine people. Thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Cleanliness
Thank 1Workinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and we're very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,012 reviews
5.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
1.2 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Address: 264 Pleasant St, Marblehead, MA 01945-2147
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: $210 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marblehead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our seven rooms and five suites with private baths. All 12 have been newly decorated. All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Le Naturel Earth Friendly Soaps & Shampoo •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable/HBO •Free Wifi in rooms and all public areas •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Wet Bars in the suites. New for 2016 our newly remodeled front desk and lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing