We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room with friendly innkeepers!”
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marblehead Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Beautiful room with friendly innkeepers!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

They were perfectly accommodating of me, my husband, and our three-year-old daughter. Unfortunately we were only there for one night but should we ever get back up to Massachusetts, we will stay at The Marblehead Inn for sure!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDeeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you, Caitlin. We enjoyed having you and your family here, and it's always fun to have a toddler in the inn. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    51
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
90
125
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We found the handicapped suite to be just perfect. Karleen and John were welcoming and concerned for our comfort. We will return to this property on our next trip to Marblehead. We found the property lovely and clean with excellent parking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanMarieOfAustinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you, Jean Marie. It was a pleasure having you, Juli, and Charlotte here and we're very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We're looking forward to seeing you all again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We love the large suite we stayed in. Wonderful furnishings and very clean. The hosts Karlene and John are very warm but not obtrusive. We highly recommend the Marblehead Inn
The hosts are very knowledgeable about the area and have many recommendations of places to visit. In particular we asked for and we received many maps to places we were seeking

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you, John. We're very glad that you and Mary Ellen enjoyed your stay. We're looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were able to get a last minute booking at Marblehead Inn and had a lovely stay in this quaint Victorian House. The rooms were large enough and comfortable, bathrooms clean, friendly staff on check in. The breakfast in the morning was lovely although not cooked, and the owners chatted to us throughout breakfast to give us some tips on the local area which was great. We would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and your visit to the area. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent one night at the Marblehead Inn. Had a restful nights rest, very friendly staff, clean accomodations.
We were given suggestions on a restaurant that proved to be good.
Wish there was more space for reading, lounging.
Just back from a Holland America cruise that ended in Boston.
We would definitely use this B&B again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_R32648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you, Paul. We're very happy to hear that you and Jean enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A nice little B&B outside the Boston hubbub yet only twenty minutes from the airport. Everything to make a romantic getaway is there. The innkeepers can and do provide plenty of hints for sight seeing and dining destinations.

Room Tip: We chose the first floor rather than climb the stairs. Even the street side was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesSelirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you, Les. We're happy to hear that you and Barb enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you both again.l
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We come to Salem every October for my birthday, but this was the first time we stayed in Marblehead. It's a very charming little town to explore that I would recommend if you get the chance. The Inn was a nice change of pace as oppossed to staying in "chain" hotels. It is very enchanting victorian style house that is beautifuly remodeled and let's you step back in time. We arrived a bit later then I said at the reservation call but were greeted by John with a friendly smile and hand shake. Then we met his wife Karlene who was just as nice and extremely helpful with recommendations, site seeing ideas etc. The check in was quick and easy, as I was taken care of payment etc. Karlene was giving info. to my girlfriend about the area, where to eat, what to see etc. like I said very helpful! Our room was on the first floor, and was perfect for us. It was one of the single rooms with just a few nice amenities, but it's exactly what I had wanted and expected. If you want more I would recommend getting one of the suites. The room was very clean and nicely adorned. The bed was super comfortable, especially after walking around Salem all day. Even though we were on the first floor you could barely hear the hallway or breakfast noise. In the mornings your greeted by Karlene and John, go out of their in every aspect to make sure your comfortable and your needs are met. The breakfast was a very nice continental style offering, muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, cereal etc. oh plus they leave snacks out if you get a late night belly rumbling ;) Our stay was one of the best we've had since coming here for my birthday weekends, and will definitely look foward to return to the Inn!.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceansize_421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you, Lawrence. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the amenities. And it's exciting for us to know that your stay at the inn helped this be one of your best birthday visits to the area yet. We're looking forward to being part of your birthday celebration next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,952 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Property: Marblehead Inn
Address: 264 Pleasant St, Marblehead, MA 01945-2147
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marblehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our seven rooms and five suites with private baths. All 12 have been newly decorated. All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Le Naturel Earth Friendly Soaps & Shampoo •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable/HBO •Free Wifi in rooms and all public areas •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Wet Bars in the suites. New for 2016 our newly remodeled front desk and lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing