We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marblehead Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This inn was very nice, quiet, and clean. There was some hallway and breakfast noise since we were on the first floor but minimal. No noise between rooms as in some old inns and houses. Having the parking lot was great. The location was convenient to get around town. We were in town for a wedding so we weren't there much to socialize but from what we experienced the inn keepers were friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying here if you are headed to Marblehead.

Room Tip: We liked our stay in room 12 but it is the closest to the breakfast area so if you like to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS9182010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you, Mia. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    53
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
90
128
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

While The Marblehead Inn is a remodeled victorian house, full of antiques and lovely carved wood bannisters and such, there was nothing stuffy or pretentious about the people or the place. We paid a little more and treated ourselves to the suite which has a separate living room type area as well as small fridge. The extra space was well worth the relatively small extra cost for the two nights we were there. The (separate) bedroom was extremely comfortable with lots of plush pillows and blankets and furniture that was anything but cookie-cutter, mass-produced sameness. Other things we enjoyed were having the ability to make ourselves tea and coffee 24/7 (and a very nice selection of teas too), the fresh baked goods at breakfast, and watching the birds flock to the bird feeder in the morning. We also appreciated that the owners went above and beyond, printing directions to a local attraction for us, and offering us umbrellas when it rained. Our room faced the parking lot, but we heard no noise at all during our stay. Would definitely stay here again if I were in Marblehead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you, Beth. We're happy to hear that you and Michael enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night - rooms and location were very good and found the owners to be extremely helpful and friendly. Would happily return if spending more time in New England. Marblehead itself was very lovely town - highly recommended for a relaxing couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan1979_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you, Jonathan. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in one of the 3rd floor suites and were very happy with the size and comfort. The staff was very friendly and you never felt like you were too close to anyone else staying at the inn. There's a little shopping area within walking distance where the wives found plenty of stores to visit while the husbands had lunch at a local pub.

Room Tip: The suites that we saw were all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you, Patrick. We're glad that you enjoyed your suite and visit to Marblehead. And, we hope to see you and Claudine again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was impressed with the Inn at first. Was not a very warm welcome as most B&B's are. Some young man sitting at a window that did not seem to want to be bothered. But the rooms were very nice, clean and like in the pictures. Parking was great and it was easy to get to. Breakfast was ok. They did have some gluten free muffins. No hot food. was ok. However one thing that was not great was in the website it does say the suites have kitchenettes. That was one main reason we stayed there. Wanted to.stay in for dinner. It did have a small refrigerator and a small dishwasher but the stovetop had a cover glued on so it could not be used. No.glasses or plates or forks, spoons etc. No paper towels. etc. As was all provided in the previous place we had stayed. But the AC was great and I did like.the suite with a jetted bathtub. Just disappointed about the cooktop not working

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paymgr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was surprised to read your comments regarding our employee, who has been generating very positive guest comments. I’m very sorry you didn't get the welcoming attention you should have, and I apologize. I have reviewed your feedback with him and provided further training to ensure this doesn't recur.
I'm happy to hear that you liked your accommodations, but sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast. We do not have a commercial kitchen and are not allowed, by law, to cook for our guests. We offer a very full Continental breakfast with, as you mentioned, a variety of gluten and dairy free options.
Again, by law, and for the safety of all guests, the only cooking allowed is by microwave, which each of our suites does have. Glasses, dishes, silverware, napkins, etc. are all available in the common area for guests use, and if requested, we would have been happy to supply them for you in your suite.
I regret that we didn't handle things better and hope that you will give us an opportunity to warmly welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The property was beautiful, very elegant, great breakfast served, the home was clean, new linens, beautiful interior and very quiet for a B & B. The proprietors were very friendly but also allowed us our privacy. The B&B is located in a great location on a beautiful street in a great neighborhood. Jill J

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the front of the home so had nice windows and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you, Jill. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to seeing you and Tom again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The lovely Marblehead Inn, and her gracious hosts Karlene & Jim, are one of the highlights of our recent Cape Cod road trip. :) We enjoyed our romantic room, the Inn, the delicious baked goods and fresh fruit for breakfast and most especially, our interesting conversations with the current innkeepers, Karleen & Jim. We exchanged wonderful stories of past travels with one another. They are definately an asset to the Marblehead Inn!

Take care, Karlene & Jim, and enjoy the comings and goings of the travellers you receive at the Inn in the year ahead, and armchair travel along with them while you are settled in to the Marblehead Inn for another year.

Merci mille fois et on éspère de vous revoir ; à la prochaine!

Dianne & Pascal
Montréal, QC, Canada

Room Tip: We had a lovely romantic "red" room at the front of the house on the main floor. A little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you, Dianne. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the inn. John and I also enjoyed our conversations with you and Pascal.
You are very welcome. We're looking forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,971 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
1.2 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
443 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Property: Marblehead Inn
Address: 264 Pleasant St, Marblehead, MA 01945-2147
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marblehead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our seven rooms and five suites with private baths. All 12 have been newly decorated. All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Le Naturel Earth Friendly Soaps & Shampoo •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable/HBO •Free Wifi in rooms and all public areas •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Wet Bars in the suites. New for 2016 our newly remodeled front desk and lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing