We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marblehead Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently stayed at The Marblehead Inn while visiting my in-laws. I wanted a place convenient to their home & this location fit the bill. It's a lovely Inn with well appointed rooms. We took a suite on the 2nd floor which had a livingroom with a pull-out sofa, small kitchen area & a 4 poster bed in the bedroom. In the mornings, I sat at the desk in the livingroom to apply my make-up after dressing & had adequate lighting for this task which I rarely find in hotel rooms. The combination bathtub/shower is a jacuzzi. Karlene & John offered us a mattress cover & pillow topper for the pull-out which my son loved. He said it made the bed "very comfy." John offered to carry the foam topper up to our room since it was heavy & helped me make up the sofa bed. They provided us extra pillows & good sized bath towels & the maid remembered to include our extra towels when making up the room the next day. This hardly ever happens in my experience, I almost always need to request towels each day we're staying somewhere, so this was a nice surprise. The TV has cable stations & when asked, John provided us with a list of channels that are available via their cable package. I found Karlene & John & their staff very responsive to requests. Breakfast is continental style since by law they are not allowed to cook breakfast. There was a generous array of bakery breads, muffins, etc as well as cereals, yogurts. Hot coffee & a big selection of tea are also set out. Hot water is available at any time so you can always help yourself to tea. There was another couple staying with toddler twin boys & they appeared very happy too, so unlike a lot of B&B's & Inns, this place is family-friendly. This family stayed across the hall from us & we never heard the boys. My only minor complaint, is that the mattress for our bed was extremely firm, which we're not used to, but if you're a fan of extra firm mattresses, you'll be in heaven. BTW, these are brand new so the innkeepers keep up & maintain the Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chasswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you, Leslie. We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations and stay at the inn. We hope to see you again and we'll see if we can arrange to also have a pillow topper for your bed next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

I come to the inn often with my two daughters and we always have a wonderful stay. The place is clean, comfortable and the inn keepers generous and helpful! Thank you again for another great visit!!!!

Room Tip: We love room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you, Karen. We always enjoy having you and the girls stay at the inn, and as they're getting older and we're able to interact more with them, it's even more fun. We're already looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had never stayed at an Inn before that housed inn keepers. Karlene and John are absolutely wonderful! A well-stocked breakfast every morning and snacks throughout the day; and they are so very personable and willing to answer any questions...certainly made our stay worthwhile. THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Ask about the room that Amelia Earhart stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonascain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you, Jonas. We'e glad you enjoyed your stay and the accommodations. We enjoyed having you and Sara and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our experience at Marblehead Inn was not one to be repeated. The owners acted as if we were intruding into their home. I have stayed at many inns and Bed and Breakfasts and this one wa the least accomodating of any. Usually there is a comfortable and inviting sitting area. Not so at the Marblehead Inn since the settee and two chairs are crowded into a small passage space with a coffee table in the center. The one chair in the hallway is filled with the linens for the day. not only is that univiting, but quite inappropriate. The inn keepers themselves were always lurking either at the computer or pretending to be reading the newspaper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 34Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for sharing your opinions regarding your recent stay. We value guest feedback and do our best to address any issues, while always keeping in mind the safety and well being of our guests and staff, and working within the constraints of a very old building.
Built in 1872, the Inn has retained much of its private home feel. As a classic Victorian, it offers intimate nooks and crannies, rather than large open spaces. We're sorry that seeing fresh linens on a chair under the stairs during housekeeping hours bothered you. This is an example of working within the limitations of the building and, interestingly, many of our guests have found that to be a homey touch.
In today's world, I think most innkeepers, when not interacting with guests, are pretty much always working on the computer. And, they certainly deserve a well earned break to read, or maybe just catch a breather, behind the newspaper.
One of the best parts of being an innkeeper is the variety of people we meet. And, one of the most challenging parts of being an innkeeper is recognizing that people have different wants, needs, and expectations, and that we cannot meet them all. We did our best and we're sorry that wasn't enough for you. We hope you don't give up on staying at other inns and B&B's and we wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I came with a group of Marines for the aviation centennial and was booked in the Marble Head Inn. Little did we know that we were staying in a historical Victorian Inn which is a nice change from main stream hotels. We do a lot of traveling and have stayed in quite a few places all over the country but none of them brought that feeling of home away from home like this place. Karlene & John were welcoming and treated us like family. They helped us with whatever we needed during our stay and gave us some tips on what to see while we were in town. The place was quiet and peaceful and close to plenty of things to see in Marblehead. I'm already planning a trip for the fall time to visit Marblehead with my wife and we will definitely be staying here!

-Corey Carlson, NJ

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you, Corey. It was great having your group of helicopter pilots and mechanics stay here, and especially nice to know that you all have an appreciation for the special charms of the inn. You're a wonderful group of young men that we'd be happy to host again anytime. Having you all here felt like having family visit and it's wonderful to hear that you feel the same way. We're looking forward to seeing you again in the Fall and to meeting your wife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had to find a place to stay while visiting our daughter in Swampscott. We booked the Marblehead Inn and we were in the room behind the breakfast area, at the end of the hall,1st floor. The room was fine. It had a queen bed. Many of the rooms have suites for families. The continental breakfast was the usual. What made the Inn most enjoyable was the delightful couple running it. They were all about helping you plan and enjoy your day's activities.

Room Tip: Call to give your desired room requests. There are many different configurations. There are a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1crissytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you, Crissy. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your room tips for other travelers. We enjoyed having you and Mark here and we're looking forward to seeing you both again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My daughter gave me a Christmas gift...a trip. She is very ,VERY picky and in her selection of the Marblehead Inn, her pickiness is confirmed.
This place was beautiful in not only exterior appearance, but in the interior as well. The Victorian design follows throughout the entire building. What a nice surprise!!
Quiet, restful and private.
Parking ON SITE available, with easy IN and OUT access. Walking to the offerings of Marblehead is easy from this location, let alone the caretakers KNOW what to see and do in the area!!!
Friendly, courteous and efficient in/out checking. Clean environment with a nice atmosphere for chatting in the breakfast area.
The only thing missing from this Christmas gift is a big huge BOW on the doorway!! I was SO happy and comfortable staying here.
I highly recommend The Marblehead Inn to anyone and everyone looking for a place to stay in Marblehead.

Room Tip: Don't want to share a bed since you are two singles, or just a mom and kid? They have it...just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you, Bonnie. We're happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised, happy, and comfortable here. And, what a lovely image you've presented! We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,012 reviews
5.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
1.2 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coach House Inn
Coach House Inn
#7 of 9 in Salem
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Address: 264 Pleasant St, Marblehead, MA 01945-2147
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: $210 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marblehead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our seven rooms and five suites with private baths. All 12 have been newly decorated. All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Le Naturel Earth Friendly Soaps & Shampoo •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable/HBO •Free Wifi in rooms and all public areas •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Wet Bars in the suites. New for 2016 our newly remodeled front desk and lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing