We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boston B&B”
Review of Marblehead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marblehead Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Boston B&B”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

For anyone visiting the Boston area for a vacation or visiting relatives, The Marblehead Inn
in historic Marblehead Mass is the best B&B in the area.

For more than 20 years, I had stayed at a differant B&B when visiting Boston's North Shore. Recently i tried the Marblehead Inn and was completely blown away by the accommodations, serenity, and comfort of the rooms as well as the outstanding service and helpfulness of the staff. This B&B is a gem.

The Marblehead Inn is an old home that has been painstakingly restored. And unlike other B&B's in this part of the country where narrow staircase make it very difficult to make the trip upstairs with a bag in hand, the Marblehead Inn's staircase is wide enough and accomodating. Our room was a suite. It was large and amazingly quiet. What was THE BEST however, was the bed. Whether it's a hotel or B&B, it's usually difficult for us to get a good night's sleep becuase the beds just aren't like home. Not the case at The Marblehead Inn. The bed was fantastic. It didn't sag, wasn't too hard...it was perfect. The next nice thing was the bathroom (spacious) and shower....big!! Again, that's not usually what we've found at other B&Bs where the bathrooms are typically cramped, and the shower tight. Not so at the Marblehead Inn.

While we didn't get a chance to savor the continental breakfast it looked terrific. We'll try it next time.

The Marblehead Inn is centrally located with easy access to/from the airport or local sightseeing spots like Glouchester and Rockport, as well as the foliage routes in New Hamphire, Maine and Massachusetts in the fall season.

And last, the owners Collen and John couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. From the time we made the reservation, all the way through a very early check out, they were terrific. They definately made us feel "at home".

Arthur & Kim

Room Tip: They all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you Arthur and Kim. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to get a good night's sleep. We enjoyed meeting you both and we're looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    51
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
90
125
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mashpee
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Last month, May 2012, we chose to stay at Marlehead Inn.
We had two rooms reserved and they were ready when we arrived. They were in perfect condition and met our needs. We were greeted cordially, were helped with our luggage and shown around the Inn. We needed directions to visit with a friend that we were meeting, at the famous Barnicle Restaurant. We had a very good nights sleep in very coimfortable beds. The followiing morning we enjoyed a complete breakfast with good coffee, and a variety of items to choose . Upon departure we were, once again, helped with our luggage said our goodbyes to our hostess and others. We all look forward to another visit, and have already referred many to stay at the Marblehead Inn when on the North Shore of Boston. Ruth Robinson

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you, Ruth. We enjoyed meeting you and Bob, and your sister, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. We're looking forward to seeing you all again sometime soon and to meeting whomever you send our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We found a beautifully appointed inn with gracious host and hostess on a tree lined street.
Our room was immaculately clean and comfortable with individual air/temperature control.
Since we like cool temperatures for sleeping that was a luxury too seldom found.
Our hostess gave us directions for finding the lighthouse - located at the far end of a spit and easily missed otherwise. She also suggested a very good bayside restaurant with the plus of great views.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: I cannot rate either pool or fitness center as I did not use those. All rooms we saw were excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elijahCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you, Anna. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the inn's accommodations and exploring the area, and hope you'll be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

After a wet tiresome day travelling we found this gem in Marblehead, it made our day. The hotel is warm comfortable and cosy, the hospitality first class. I wanted to take the bed home it was so comfortable.
The owners are a delightful couple and nothing was too much trouble.
They found us restaurants to suit our food tastes and recommended trips.
If I return to Marblehead I know where I will be staying.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmTReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you, Malcolm. We're very glad that you found your way here and that you enjoyed your stay. And we hope you find your way back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosser, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Years ago, as I walked back and forth to the old Marblehead High School, I always wondered how nice the grand old house at 264 Pleasant Street must be. After all these years I had occasion to stay at the Marblehead Inn and my youthful observations were confirmed. Karlene and John have wonderfully maintained a beautiful old home and provided me with memories I will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you, Fred. We're glad that you enjoyed being here and have fond memories of your stay. We hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, CT
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

An old framed letter proudly shown to us by Karlene and John, the eager new owners of the Marblehead Inn, attests that pioneer aviatrix Amelia Earhart slept there -- quite happily -- a lifetime ago, and with the period charm of this venerable Victorian B&B still largely intact, one can only imagine that Amelia would feel right at home checking in today. In fact, if our recent stay there was typical, then most people will quickly come to feel at home in the friendly Marblehead Inn, helped along by the considerable warmth of its gracious hosts. Recently unpacked after a decade of globe-hopping adventures, the new innkeepers know better than most what makes weary travelers happy: a location convenient to everything; spotless and comfortable rooms; scrumptious breakfasts; engaging conversation (especially when it turns to the joys of world travel); and a wealth of local knowledge freely proferred. In short, we found everything we needed at the Inn for a great stay, and we will happily return for more whenever we revisit Marblehead. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leyena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you, Bill. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay, and it 's always wonderful when guests tell us that they felt right at home here. We certainly enjoyed chatting with you and Alison and are looking forward to doing it again sometime soon. Thank you, too, for highlighting so many of the inn's many charms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at the Marblehead Inn in May 2012. We thorougly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were charming, well furnished and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bath was modern but stylish.
The best part of the Inn is the support of the hosts. Both Karlene and her husband took time to explain what was in the near environment as well as in Boston.
We highly recommend the Marblehead Inn
John and Mary Ellen

Room Tip: Third floor suites have refrigerators, stoves. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbleheadInn, Manager at Marblehead Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you, John. We 're happy to hear that you and Mary Ellen enjoyed your stay with us, along with some of the local attractions. We're looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
2.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,932 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 20 in Marblehead
434 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
169 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Salem Inn
The Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblehead Inn

Property: Marblehead Inn
Address: 264 Pleasant St, Marblehead, MA 01945-2147
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marblehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban design meets nautical flair with the backdrop of stunning Victorian architecture. We have been busy updating and upgrading our seven rooms and five suites with private baths. All 12 have been newly decorated. All are cozy, stylish, and each has its own personality. We pride ourselves on the amenities at the Marblehead Inn, and below is a list of the perks we think are noteworthy: •Le Naturel Earth Friendly Soaps & Shampoo •iHome ipod/ipad docking stations in the rooms •Sony flat screen TV's w/ cable/HBO •Free Wifi in rooms and all public areas •Private updated bathrooms •Complimentary afternoon wine or tea •Wet Bars in the suites. New for 2016 our newly remodeled front desk and lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Marblehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblehead Hotel Marblehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing