We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect storm, a perfect "10"”
Review of Seagull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Kingston, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect storm, a perfect "10"”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at the Seagull Inn for 6 nights over Christmas in Dec 2010. The stay could not have been nicer!. We got to experience gale-force winds, a wild ocean and heavy snow over the holiday, and were delighted with the chance to stay curled up in bed during the worst of it. We were in the Library Suite - a warm and delightful room lined with books that you want to read, and with light that was bright enough to read them - a key issue for my aging eyes these days. Innkeepers Ruth and Skip were friendly, funny and accommodating. When my back molar developed an abscess, they amazingly managed to locate a doctor and dentist for pain meds and antibiotics, despite the deep snow and holiday weekend.

Everything in the Inn seemed focused on comfort - My partner, who is always cold, was happy about the supplemental in-room heater and the extra down quilt. We loved being able to snack on nuts, chocolates, sherry and copious goodies - and were delighted with Skip's offering of wine and conversation after the sun was over the yard-arm. The location is lovely, the ocean is nearby, and the historic homes of Marblehead were charming, and fabulously decorated for the holidays. Breakfasts were delicious, varied and plentiful and the coffee was excellent. We look forward to visiting again and again.

Karen and Mike

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen_in_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
67
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Allenhurst, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Ruth & Skip Sigler made our stay very special.
The view from the B&B is breathtaking
The Sigler's coundn't be better hosts
The breakfast was outstanding
and so were the extra's that separated this B&B from most we stayed at.....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasNosofsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed for 1 night whilst in the Salem area....wished we could have stayed longer but they were full...we only managed to get the one night due to a cancellation. Despite the fact we didnt find the B&B until almost 9pm, Skip made us extremely welcome and shared a wine with us...he is very chatty informative guy. Ruth provides a lovely breakfast and we would strongly recommend a visit. Thank you Ruth and Skip

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cordelia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repentigny, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My spouse and I stayed at the seagull inn for 3 days at the end of august. It was are first experience in a B&B and it surpassed our expectations. The host ruth and Skip are very friendly and they greet you with a glass of wine or beer which is very nice. The location
is very beautiful and quiet with some nice streets for walking or jogging. There is some nice site to relax and view the ocean like the lighthouse or castle rock which are a few minutes walk from the B&B. The brakfast is fantastic with smoked salmon, bagle, fruits and everything you need to start your day. There is some great restaurant on the beachfront where you can eat all the seafood you desire. The Library room is very clean and comfortable whith hundreds of very interesting books. If you go to Boston take the ferry in Salem, it is a beautiful ride by the sea and you get in Boston in the harbor.
Richard and Diane

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Over the Fourth of July weekend we enjoyed the comfort and beauty of Marblehead's Seagull Inn, with warm hospitality provided by owners Ruth and Skip Sigler. These folks really know how to treat their guests right, providing clean, convenient and reasonably priced accommodations and one of the best (and fullest) continental breakfasts we've ever had: homemade breads and rolls, jams and jellies, fresh fruit, an array of cereals, smoked salmon, cheeses, juices and—most importantly—great coffee. We stayed in the Library Suite, a small wing of the house off the main living room with a queen-size bed, TV with VCR-DVD player (the inn has a selection of movies), a small refrigerator, antique desk, plenty of closet/dresser space, and a private bathroom across the foyer with large shower and plenty of towels, hand soaps and shampoo. And yes, the suite is indeed a library, with shelves full of all kinds of books for your enjoyment—we never turned on the TV! One nice detail: although it was quite warm that weekend, the suite is sufficiently shaded with wood blinds on the windows, so we used only the fan to keep cool at night (there is an air-conditioner, but we didn't turn that on either).

The area near the inn—on Marblehead Neck—has some great roads for walking and jogging, and points of interest including a park with lighthouse and a great view of the harbor (and spectacular fireworks on the Fourth) and Castle Rock, a pathway next to a castle-like mansion that has a breathtaking view of the water (ask Ruth about the history of that mansion...it's quite a story). The town of Marblehead is quaint and quintessentially New England, with some great shopping, an active arts scene, and lots of historical sites—not to mention some very good restaurants (in particular, we liked Maddie's Sail Loft for a perfectly delicious fried-clam plate). You can't go wrong in Marblehead...especially if you're guests of the Siglers!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahtsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton, ma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This is a gem of a B&B. You might think you were in Maine when you are at the Seagull Inn. Its situated on a peninsula with rocky shores on one side and a beautiful harbor on the other. The Seagull rooms are comfortable. The innkeepers are friendly. The area is great for running and biking. Kayaks are available to paddle through the harbor. There is a big B for the breakfast. Homemade bread and granola along with fresh fruit, yogurt, etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flonoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This was our fifth visit to the Seagull Inn. (That should be a clue about how we like it!) Our grandson is now 10 and out of school for the summer and we thought he was old enough to enjoy exploring New England. (We're from Atlanta) From the Inn you can go to Boston, (Skip and Ruth gave us precise directions to the nearby train station that took us to the Longwharf stop downtown) or you can drive North and explore Cape Ann, Gloucester, Rockport, etc. We did both. Marblehead Neck is the retreat at the end of the day because of it's serenity and beauty. It' a wonderful place to start your day with walks to the lighthouse park or Castle Rock or take one of the guests bikes for more vigorous exercise. (You'll pass the homes of at least two billionaires along the way) Skip and Ruth could not be friendlier or more helpful. They've lived there for 40 years and know everything. You can't stump them. They gave us directions to Browns Island where our grandson thrilled at walking across the ocean floor at low tide when it was just wet sand, exploring the shells and hermit crabs along the way, and then coming back hours later to find the water was ten feet deep. If you take this excursion, remember that low tide will give you about 30 minutes on the island. (Skip will look up the tide tables for you) We lingered a little too long and waded through about six inches of ocean to get back.
When you arrive they offer you a glass of wine that turns out to be bottomless. When you wake the breakfast is teriffic and they'll accomadate any needs. To summarize, you don't just get a spacious, clean, comfortable room or suite (and we've stayed in them all), at the Seagull Inn, you share a home with friends.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bridgeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
3.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,972 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#2 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Inn

Property: Seagull Inn
Address: 106 Harbor Ave, Marblehead, MA 01945-3848
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On beautiful Marblehead Neck near ocean and harbor, this old New England inn has been restored with cherry floors, Shaker furniture, and original paintings. Comfortable and private guest suites, expandable for families. Water views from porch, dining room, some suites. Beautiful gardens. Kayaks and bikes free for guests. Beaches nearby. All rooms have private baths, TV/VCR/DVD, phone and refrigerator. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing