We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful,wonderful,wonderful!!”
Review of Seagull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marblehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Marblehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We were treated oh so nice, from the moment we drove up, until the moment we reluctantly drove off..

We were greeted with a genuine smile at the entrance, to what we thought was the secret garden! Ruth's Garden, and that smile belonged to ruth.
Our trip had been a long one, but worth it, we knew that when we crossed the Marblehead Neck! It was like going into another very pleasant world..(-;
It seemed Skip and Ruth knew how tired and dusty we were from car travel and offered drinks and relaxation immediately! and that sure hit the spot..
We started to notice what a beautiful place we had come..

For some wonderful reason we ended up in the Lighthouse Suite apartment that opens up to the roof! and yes you can see the whole world from up here! We would have coffee and watch the seagulls go by...I close my eyes to this day and can see the view of the ocean and bay, the smell of the sea and warm coffee.

We had originally booked the Seabreeze Suite, which is a very lovely suite, but for some reason the upper apartment was available and we took it.

From this central location we would venture out and explore some of this countries most historical sites and Salem in October was interesting..It was always good to go home at the end of a hard day of vacationing, and that is how we viewed the Seagull Inn, Home..
Skip and Ruth , well it was like we had known them for a long time and we had just met, very warm and hospitable..
Food in the morning was yummy and a good selection, so no one would be left out..This is served buffet style and a pleasant time..
Just thinking about this trip again makes me want to go back!!

One thing I wanted to mention was the swing! I forgot to get a picture, but this swing is just outside the apartment door and is the most incredible swing, made me feel young again, I loved it..

We would recommend Highly to anyone wanting to find a breath away from the busy world, this is it..Families, newlyweds, couples!

We would like to revisit in the Summer..
Thanks for the memories
Kevin & Alice in Colorado

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2007

This was just supposed to be somewhere to sleep after a late flight into Boston before starting a trip into New Hampshire & Vermont. Instead what a treat and a great find - both the Inn and the town. The Inn is perfect and Ruth & Skip are very welcoming hosts. We went for a walk around Castle Rock and to the lighthouse to work up an appetite before an excellent breakfast. Marblehead itself is a beautiful little town in a wonderful location. We decided before we left that we would have to return for a longer stay to check out the area. The Seagull Inn will definitely be where we stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2fromTrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

It was my bday weekend and my boyfriend and I wanted to do a weekend away. More specifically, we wanted to find a place that was close to our NYC home where we could take our dog that would be our "home away from home". We found it. Ruth & Skip were absolutely amazing. They are absolutely friendly without being overbearing. The Inn is just steps away from the water and the kayaks are right there. Guests also have complete access to their bikes. Both were so much fun.

We stayed in the Sea Breeze suite the first 3 nights and it was really nice. It was extremely comfortable. The bedroom and sitting room are separate from each other and the shower in the bathroom has amazing water flow.

We decided to stay an additional day last minute and moved to the Lighthouse suite. Fully equipped kitchen, beautiful private roof deck as well as side deck; this suite was 10x better than our Manhattan apt.

All of this plus Ruth's bfast made us not too happy to come home. Before we left, we made sure to book a few more weekends next year so we know we will have something to look forward to.

Oh, and I didn't mention that you will find soda, juice, water and snacks fully supplied in your room!! With some sherry.

My boyfriend and I plus our dog absolutely recommend Seagull Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NYCer2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We arrived after a long day of driving, when we got to the B&B it was as if we got our second wind. Ruth and Skip were welcoming and let us know we could take the kayaks out or go for a short walk to Castle Rock. Castle Rock was only a quarter mile from the house and it was amazing! We took photos and took in the beautiful vista.
Our room was the Library room, the bed was extremely comfy. In the morning we had a nice spread of breakfast foods available. We chatted with the other B&B guests and enjoyed fresh hot coffee! Overall, it was a great experience. Ruth and Skip are great hosts and will reccomend some fun things to do and good places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jannica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

A long weekend getaway turned into one of our best vacations ever because of the Seagull Inn and hosts Ruth and Skip Sigler. Just looking to leave the work world behind, my husband and I were given the royal treatment including a beautiful, water-view, breeze filled room; woke to aromas of fresh bread and coffee, and were entertained with our hosts' stories, knowledge of the area, suggestions for itineraries, and just plain old hospitality. Self-proclaimed B and B "officianados", we both agree this was our best experience ever. The Seagull has spoiled us for all others!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PITAPIERichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Great people, great place, great room, great location.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ellis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario
12
Reviewed May 22, 2006

Having just returned from spending 3 nights at The Seagull Inn, our visit is still fresh in our minds. The inn is located on charming Marblehead Neck, which is surrounded by the ocean on one side and Marblehead Harbor on the other. We stayed in the Library Suite, a lovely book-lined bedroom with a large adjoining bathroom (with shower) on the main floor of this beautiful home. Ruth and Skip Sigler are the owners, and the pride with which they run their B & B is evident from the moment we were greeted at the front door and shown our suite. Often it's the special little touches that help to create a magical effect. Here on a table in our bedroom we found a small carafe of sherry, some wrapped chocolates, a crystal jar filled with mixed nuts, and a small fridge filled with complimentary soft drinks and bottled water.

Breakfast each morning was served in the charming dining room with a view of Marblehead Harbor. This was no ordinary continental breakfast! Ruth bakes her own whole wheat bread every day, along with scrumptious home-made muffins or scones. The buffet table is spread with platters of smoked salmon, capers and cream cheese, sliced cheese and ham, jams, hot and cold cereal, hard-cooked eggs, and a variety of juices. What a wonderful way to start each morning, with a hearty breakfast and engaged in conversation with Ruth and Skip, who are intelligent and fun and a delight to get to know.
This spotless B & B is lovingly run, so much so that one cannot imagine any guest leaving without giving Ruth and Skip big thank-you hugs.

Gail and Steven Oliver
Toronto, Ontario

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marblehead
3.1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Light Inn
Harbor Light Inn
#1 of 19 in Marblehead
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marblehead Inn
Marblehead Inn
#4 of 19 in Marblehead
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbor Gardens
Harbor Gardens
#9 of 19 in Marblehead
21 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Inn

Address: 106 Harbor Ave, Marblehead, MA 01945-3848
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Marblehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marblehead
Price Range: $140 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On beautiful Marblehead Neck near ocean and harbor, this old New England inn has been restored with cherry floors, Shaker furniture, and original paintings. Comfortable and private guest suites, expandable for families. Water views from porch, dining room, some suites. Beautiful gardens. Kayaks and bikes free for guests. Beaches nearby. All rooms have private baths, TV/VCR/DVD, phone and refrigerator. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing