We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No welcome here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malden
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No welcome here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel/motel is advertised as being convenient to Logan airport: it's not too bad, though rush hour traffic makes it less so. However, that isn't enough to lure me back. A sinking feeling in the gut began on seeing the bulletproof plexiglas at reception. You know, the kind in liquor stores in bad parts of town. There was no smile of welcome to mitigate the sense of doom. OK, up to the room...I opened the door and saw bananas. You can imagine I was surprised that the Econo Lodge offered fruit baskets, but then I espied someone's luggage! Bad feeling getting worse. I beat a hasty retreat to reception where I was asked what was my problem...wasn't the room clean? Started to wonder if there were anywhere else to stay. Even if the room were clean (hah), don't they know that a cardinal rule for a hotel is never have anything at all that hints that someone else stayed in the room yesterday. Luggage and fruit is just too much to ignore! My room was changed to one on the ground floor. It was clean enough, but felt like a cave. The curtains had to closed the whole time for privacy, and I think a tom cat had marked the door prior to my arrival. When the key didn't work when I came back from dinner I was treated as if I were a nasty trouble maker. In the morning guests lurked in the lobby for breakfast. All looked disappointed and dejected. Can we stop advertising "continental breakfast?"...Let's call it what it is...instant coffee and doughnuts (the cake-y kind, which are better)..."American breakfast" maybe, but continental not. If you want to be convenient for the airport, just stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinker2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your stay and writing the review with observations.

We apologize for whatever may have happened howsoever.

Please note that we have investigated the unfortunate trouble you had, but have taken remedial steps to see that it never happens again to any of our guests.

We have done a thorough check up of the rooms and taken steps for maintaining the best cleanliness in the rooms and premises.

Once again we are sorry for the same and please do rethink and visit us.

We will see that you get a nice experience at the Econo Lodge.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    22
    24
    78
See reviews for
24
43
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The room reeked of smoke so badly that we had to launder all clothes after staying here. Meager breakfast should not even be advertised. Apathetic and unhelpful staff. Located in a very questionable area. Really didn't feel safe staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge during your last visit.

We note your review and regret the incident howsoever it might have happened.

Our apologies on behalf of the front desk manager for any unfriendly behavior
and assure that it will never happen again.

We have given a special training to all the hotel staff and reception managers to ensure a warm and secure hospitality to our guests.

They have been instructed to ensure that our guests receive a hospitality which they shall make them feel welcome and wanted.

We take our reviews very seriously for improvement.

Please stay with us again and experience a new hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malden hotels

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The room refridgerator had been turned off and was left closed, creating a foul smell and making it unusable. The strong smell of urine in the corridor at the top of the stairs was horrible - that alone would make me never want to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcculloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge.

Thank you further for your review which will definitely help us to improve.

Guest reviews help us to improve a lot so that they get a nice experience.

We are continuously improving our rooms, amenities and other related areas.

We would love to see you again at our hotel and assure you a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The room stinks bad from the stale smoke. Opening the windows didn't help. Defiantly not worth it. Called the front desk about getting another room and i was told there are No non-smoking rooms. Paid $120 per night. Do not stay here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge and the review.

We have investigated the smoke issue and have taken appropriate steps to attend each room of the hotel for amenities and just everything.

We will offer you the best hospitality. So please do visit us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

...Far from it. The place is certainly sketchy and god knows who it caters to. I was in Boston and temporarily without accommodations, so I booked this motel without reading the reviews.

The good
-Fairly well-equipped room, with microwave, refurbished bathroom, mini-fridge, safe, hangers, TV
-Fairly clean

The bad
-Not everything works, especially the lamps
-The TV only has one channel
-Sketchy people. I'm sure some were drunk and others stayed up all night making a ruckus. That the registration counter has thick transparent windows should be clue enough
-The "breakfast" is not worth having. The other reviews said it all
-Rumored bedbugs, though I myself was not bitten.
-Bad location. Going to Boston Area can take more than half an hour, for what little mileage it really is.
-Loud air conditioning
-Definitely not worth the 80 dollars (plus tax and other fees) I paid

Tip: LOCK THE DOOR. Barricade it if you must. Don't take your chances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaiusjuliuscaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge, Malden.

We appreciate you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your feedback.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

We have implemented complete security measures and ensure that no anti social activity is going on.

We are addressing your observations related to the rooms. Each room shall be individually checked and certified before checking in a new guest.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at the Econo Lodge back in May of 2012 for 3 days. The rooms are damp and humid. The AC barely works. The covers are itchy. The area is shady. MY GPS GOT STOLEN OUT OF MY CAR. I told the manager but he didn't do anything about not even a courtesy phone call.
Breakfast is a joke. Some green banana's that not even a monkey would eat...The coffee was just hot water! The orange juice was awfulll.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for being at the Econo Lodge to stay during your last visit to our area.

Our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever.

We have taken your review seriously and appropriate actions are being taken on each of your observations.

We are hiring a professional team to study and improve the hotel upkeep and hospitality. We are looking into your comments on the breakfast also.

Please make a note of the same.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Hotel was in worse part of city, first time visited Boston, this place was my first impression of Boston. I did checked out next day. The pictures showing nice place but are deceiving. It smells of mold and Boston's humidity adds to that. Got there on a rainy day, which I had no choice but to stay in hotel room. Over $120 dollars for a crubby room, small bathroom, that you could not move in it without hidding yourself on the mickymousy built sharp tone countertop of sink, and hurt yourself. I blame myself for not reading carefully the reviews, after reading the reviews I felt lucky not gotten bitten by bed buggs. OOH GROSS... bad memories of Boston...
Recommend to stay in center of Boston and not to look at milage distance from center, because you don't know the traffic in Boston, the 6.8 miles takes over 1 hour to get you to center.

Room Tip: I recommend not to use this hotel if you are looking to leave the city with good memories. Boston is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHemedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge and the review.

We are investigating the issue you have mentioned, and our apologies for the same however unlikely it may be.

We believe that’s only way to improve.

We are paying serious issues to the amenities and also pest control through a special agency.

You are again welcome to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malden
2.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Revere
Quality Inn Revere
#4 of 5 in Revere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Boston Logan International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Logan International Airport
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Boston Logan Airport
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Malden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge(R) hotel is conveniently located just seven miles from the Boston Logan International Airport. This Malden hotel is only minutes from the University of Massachusetts Boston (UMass Boston), Tufts University, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Northeastern University and Harvard University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malden
Econolodge Hotel Malden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing