We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food”
Review of The Ship Restaurant - CLOSED

The Ship Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $34
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chelsea, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We've been here many times since they reopened as the ship. Every meal we have had has been wonderful. Their Sam Adams battered fish & chips is the best I have ever had. My husband loves both the chicken picata & the fruits de mari. The limo cello parfait for dessert will blow your mind.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpecialFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    37
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Happened upon here and so glad I did. Bartender Victoria was so great. Will come back here every time I am in the area. Food. - awesome. Drink - awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank NHTraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fathers day surprise”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My brother in law set reservations at the ship not knowing of the change of management. Unreal late lunch there. Our party of 9 had the best meals and we all talk about it still. They had a great new menu with alot of different seafood options. Presentation of all was perfect. Portions had 5 out of 9 taking food home for leftovers. New makeover has this place full of windows now. Not like it was before being on the bottom of a ship. All glass for great views. Even the smallest detail was considered in each meal of our party and the food was great. A major step up from where they were before. I'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ted12600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I went to the Ship on a Monday night for dinner. There were very few people in the restaurant considering it was Monday. The service was good, but it took a very long time to get bread because they bake each bread order individually and when we finally got the bread there were only 2 rolls. I had salmon and my husband had scrod. Both meals were very tasty and we shared a desert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bridal Shower Letdown”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I came here for a bridal shower and I was not at all impressed by the food nor the service. The fish smelled old(fresh seafood doesn't have a "fishy" smell) and the servers were lacking. They even ran out of coffee cups at one point! Needless to say I will come back here.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing