We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special occasion favorite”
Review of The Blue Ox

The Blue Ox
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Ox is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 183 Restaurants in Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Market Street
Transit: We are a short walk from the Lynn station of the MBTA Commuter Rail.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A special occasion favorite”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always great food with interesting selections, the Ox is our choice for any special ossasion. The bar is always busy and can be a bit too noisy for conversation so if that bothers you ask for a table on the other side of the restaurant. There is something for most tastes on the menu which it a great choice for families.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    64
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, lively and awesome food!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Overall experience really good, food is unbelievable!!! The appetizers were delicious, the drinks, some of which are made in the restaurant, were different and delicious. The servers and bartenders were friendly and prompt. The food, especially the specials were incredible. A re visit is a must!!! Great job The Blue Ox!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alffy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“gem”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

stopped in before a concert and as time was a factor we opted for the Sin burger...I know this is not a burger joint but it may have been the best burger I ever had....great cocktails and superb service

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been to the Blue Ox numerous times and I have always had an excellent dinner. I have tried several different appetizers, salads, entrees, and deserts and have never been disappointed. The atmosphere has a real comfortable feel to it. My favorite choices from each course are the Tuna Tartar, Pear Salad, Half Roasted Chicken, and the Chocolate Cake. My wife likes the oysters for an appetizer. I read the review by Calvin A and was puzzled by his criticisms. It seems to me that he and his friend don't know how to go out and relax and enjoy a nice night out. They seem to pick apart everything from the hostess, to the food, to the service person. I have never had a bad experience or a bad dinner at the Blue Ox.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbumteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“After Work Beverages”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is the perfect spot for great drinks and delicious food. It is cozy in the bar area and everyone is friendly and staff attentive. The bar tenders are creative so don't be afraid to give them a challenge and have them make you a cocktail that you don't see on the menu.
Parking isn't an issue if you park in the Eastern Bank parking lot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank camy945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing