We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, nice atmosphere, refreshing place in Longmeadow”
Review of Ume Asian Bistro

Ume Asian Bistro
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Longmeadow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Hartford CT
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice atmosphere, refreshing place in Longmeadow”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had the lunch box special. They have a combination of Japanese and Chinese menu. Food was very good, as was the service. Food was fresh, well-prepared. I will definitely go back again and would like to try the dinner menu. Refreshing change from your typical average Chinese restaurants. Clean, well-done interior which makes for a nice atmosphere. Everyone there-service staff, and manager was friendly, welcoming and cordial.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mal723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Another Chinese restuarant?! Ok, Ok, I'll try it. What the heck. Hands down, the best. I've been there three times for lunch. Each time ordered a different lunch special. They were all great. So much better & fresher, better presented & atmosphere than the other three in Longmeadow. Haven't been there for dinner yet, but the atmosphere tempts me to have a drink in the upscale bar. This does not look like your typical oriental restaurant. It looks, well, very expensive but it is not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aredsoxfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not fabulous food...”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I, too, seem to be in the minority of those who don't get the hype. Yes, it is visually fabulous and the comfy seating is great, but I go to restaurants for the food. I'm not impressed.

There are no outstanding items on the menu and it's all just a little bland. We ordered a variety of apps. and the pad thai and nothing exciting. I'm all about the dipping sauces and there were none to speak of. The pad thai was fresh in terms of ingredients, but it was bland. The prices are high also, and, frankly, I get much better asian cuisine from my local take out joint for less than half the price. And the service was an non-descript and bland as the food.

Needless to say, we won't be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zazu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, MA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fresh new mostly Japanese bistro”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The newest restaurant in town is this very stylish, mostly Japanese bistro, a sparkling contrast to the Friendly's previously in this location in the shops on Bliss Road. My son and I tried it for the first time on a Monday evening, and there was a respectable number of other diners there as well. My son -- who is something of a Japanese connoisseur -- thought the sushi was very good and also enjoyed the Dim Sum appetizer that he chose as his entree. I am far less knowledgeable concerning Japanese cuisine, and found the Yaki Soba with shrimp a very good if safe, basic choice. Service is fast and unobtrusive, abrupt but not unfriendly. Decor is very upbeat and fresh. I expect this will be a popular competitor to Iron Chef down the road apiece.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobLongmeadow_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ume Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Ume Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing