We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Littleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boston Minuteman Campground
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Very Nice Campground”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I hate campgrounds. I can't stand the smoke, the yapping dogs, the music and good times lasting far too long into the night. And why do people need lights draped all over their tents and campers? What is wrong with the dark and seeing the stars?! This campground was everything promised on their website. Quiet and clean. We saw dogs but heard no barking. We could glimpse the stars thru the pines. We did have to put on long pants and spray for mosquitoes, but I noticed that everywhere we went while hiking around Mass. last week. Spaces are closer together then they would be at a state park campground, but I have seen worse. Large rocks and trees help to mark boundries. One of the kids working at the camp store told me about a parking area nearby where you can take the commuter train to Boston. I did not get a chance to do that but will definately think about it for the future. I went by the lot on a weekday and there was plenty of parking. We didn't hang out at the campground during the day as we went to Concord, Lexington, Lowell, Salem and Cape Ann but nice to come back to a quiet and clean place. Plus it smelled nice (pine trees). Restaurant, gas station, fast food nearby. Shopping and more restaurants about 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmisrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klillquist, Manager at Boston Minuteman Campground, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hate campgrounds?!?! That's blasphemy! All kidding aside, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy camping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    29
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We chose this campground based on the great reviews that we found on Trip Advisor. As stated in many of the reviews, this is a very very clean campground. The pool was clean and the bathrooms are possibly the cleanest ones I have seen in all the campgrounds we've camped in (I have been camping every summer for as long as I can remember all over the US and in Canada). The staff was always nice and helpful and our campsite was an ok size. On the plus side also, it is a very short drive to Boston.

The only thing that was very bad were the mosquitoes. Like I already said, we go camping every summer and we know that bugs are part of the experience :) But not to that amount certainly. It was nearly impossible to eat outside without being eaten ourselves by the mosquitoes :((( We had 4 citronella candles, a fire in the ring and repellent (40 deet) sprayed on us and it was still unbearable. My daugther (4 years old) had 56 bites on her !! Because of that, we left 3 days before our expected departure date.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie69_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klillquist, Manager at Boston Minuteman Campground, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our park honestly and thoroughly. I am sorry to hear that you had such a difficult experience with the mosquitoes! We have had a good amount of rain recently and they do seem to come out after the ground is wet; thankfully that hasn't been often this year.

Happy camping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting this campsite for several years now. Family owned, extremely well kept and maintained. there are a lot of choices for campgrounds; however we will still visit here every year- several times.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Must98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klillquist, Manager at Boston Minuteman Campground, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We're so happy to hear from our repeat campers! Thank you for taking the time to review us and for returning year after year. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been coming to Boston Minutman Campground for the past 8 years. Camp every Memorial Day and Labor Day Weekend. We also try to spend a week during the summer. The campground is perfect for families, restrooms are immaculate, heated pool is wonderful, game Room, TV Room, 1/2 basketball court, horseshoe pits and dog run are all great. The owners could not be nicer. I highly recommend this hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogLoverToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klillquist, Manager at Boston Minuteman Campground, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you & thank you! We're glad we can be a nice vacation spot for your family and we appreciate the time you've taken to review us online. Happy camping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Compton, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very clean facilities but difficult to relax as constant feeling of being watched by "big brother" campground management. Security and enforcement of "quiet hours" is appreciated but here the supervision exceeded what was necessary and bordered on creepy. Sites were on the small side. Found the rates to be high considering the lack of social events and/or entertainment. While I understand the restriction on bringing outside firewood for fear of insect infestation, charging $4.75 for 6 (small) pieces of wood is outrageous! Although showers were free the remainder of the weekend I felt like I was being nickeled and dimed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klillquist, Manager at Boston Minuteman Campground, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We welcome feedback, both positive and critical, but will only respond to those who have camped with us. We have no record of any registered campers from Little Compton, RI for the 2012 season. We did recently have multiple issues with unregistered day visitors with RI plates who used the pool, did not check out at the designated time, and returned the following day to do the same. We have attempted to contact the author of this post for clarification, but have yet to receive a reply. We invite all campers to visit the “About” page on our site to ensure a positive camping experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Minuteman Campground in Littleton for a week in late June. I must say, it is possibly the quietest and loveliest campground we have ever stayed in. The campsites are situated for privacy and the huge pines create just the right amount of shade. It is easily accessible to Boston and the coastal areas. We highly recommend this spot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klillquist, Manager at Boston Minuteman Campground, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
What a generous compliment, thank you very much! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed for short stays several time at this campground just to have my kids and grandkids up to use the heated pool. While the amenities are few, the store is well-stocked, there's a nice playground for the little ones, a game room and that heated pool is excellent. There are limited sites that can access satellite, however many sites do have cable hookups and all have free wi-fi access, which is important to me.

The rest rooms and showers are immaculate !!!!

If you're looking for well-wooded and shaded lots, this is the place. I love that it's local to me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Boston Minuteman Campground, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much. We love that you travel locally, it's great to have our neighbors with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleton
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Devens Common
5.5 mi away
Westford Regency Inn
Westford Regency Inn
#3 of 3 in Westford
440 reviews
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Littleton
Courtyard Boston Littleton
#1 of 1 in Littleton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Devens Common Center
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Westford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Minuteman Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Minuteman Campground

Property: Boston Minuteman Campground
Address: 264 Ayer Rd, Box 2122, Littleton, MA 01460-1010
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Littleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Littleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 30 miles Northwest of Boston in a picturesque woodland nestled in Littleton, MA. Our family owned and operated site has been hosting families and nature-lovers since 1973. Come enjoy our heated swimming pool, brand-new playground, game-filled Rec Hall, half-court basketball court, volleyball court, horseshoe pit, bocce, and more. If you're looking for connectivity, you're in luck! We have complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the campground and all full hookup sites have cable; the electric and water sites have very good over-the-air reception; and we have a public computer with access to the Internet available during store hours. We also offer free movie rentals (DVD & VHS) and a TV in the Rec Hall. Our top-rated restroom facilities are spacious and clean, and a reasonably-priced laundry room is open 24 hours for your convenience. Our campsite width average is 40’, each having its own picnic table and fire ring, and the cabins have an additional charcoal grill to cook out on. Our fully-stocked store has many items in case you forgot something, as well as goodies and toys for the kids. We sell propane by the gallon, so you only pay for what you need. New tanks are available for purchase, and yes, our filling station accommodates RVs.Don’t forget your furry family members: pets of all sizes are welcome in the campsites and we have an enclosed dog walk for them to stretch their legs off-leash. What are you waiting for? Holidays and weekends fill up quickly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boston Minuteman Campground Hotel Littleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing