We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morgan's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lexington B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast. We took a red eye from Seattle, arriving in Boston at 7 am. We went straight to the bed and breakfast hoping to drop off our luggage. When we arrived, we were informed that our room had not been used the night before so we were welcome to go straight up. We were also offered breakfast and had a delicious quiche and fruit. We then crashed for 2 1/2 hours - I didn't realize how tired we would be after the flight! We spent the rest of the afternoon and the next day sightseeing around Lexington and Concord. This location was very convenient to seeing the area and the neighborhood was very quiet. We had a wonderful night's rest. I would have been happy to stay another night. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

Morgan's Rest is truly a home away from home. There are precious few guest houses in New England that combine its easy laid-back charm, quality, and value. I am genuinely taken in as a member of the household each time I visit from England (sometimes alone, sometimes with family). The blurry line between using family/guest spaces such as the library and dining hall is perfectly negotiated, making guests feel simultaneously at home and yet not in the way of domestic life. The family is fun and charming and we're great friends now. My daughter prefers our stays at Morgan's Rest than anywhere else in the Boston area (apart from her grandmother's flat in Boston). If you've ever felt suffocated by a fussy guest house, or lonely in an indifferent one, then you will know just how rare this New England gem is. A+. Ted Dewan

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a great place to stay. We drove up to an old brick home in Lexington. We were treated like family. It had all the comforts of home. We could do all the things we wanted to do, and come back and relax. It felt like home.

Room Tip: We would have liked any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffparnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We found this place to be a treasure, nestled in a lovely quiet area. We came over from Boston on public transportation. It was easy to get to and find. Also a short walk from the Libertyride tour, and not that far to walk for dinner. The hostess is gracious, attentive, and very accomodating. She is helpful with local information, and a good conversationalist.Our room was very nice, quiet, and we relaxed and slept well during our entire visit. Breakfast was delicious, with a nice variety. If you are visiting this area, I highly recoomend to give them a try.

Room Tip: Try the poolroom, nice way to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historybuff46738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Gracious hostess Alix, took our late night arrival in stride during the recent MA tornadoes and even talked us in from Lexington town center as we Arizonans were dealing with the heavy weather. We are innkeepers in Tucson, and so look at properties as both guests and hosts, and we'll acknowledge that "up front". The Pool Room was as spacious and bed as comfortable as others have attested. The multiple sky lights had been opened prior to our arrival and the heavy winds had caused dirt to sift through the screen coverings onto the bed (even a little worm) and the bath sink. Alix quickly responded to our comments in the morning by offering to clean, and giving us Windex and paper towels. At breakfast, Alix thoughtfully accommodated my iced coffee request. We were served the same - scrambled eggs and bacon both mornings. She remarked that she figured out we didn't care for bacon since we didn't take it the first day and she was vegetarian (but it was still there the 2nd day). It's nice to hear that she does offer oatmeal and frittatas. Alix clearly loves this family home and its furnishings are very period. We did not meet her husband, and their daughter was at a school trip. The location requires driving (whereas a later stay in another community was closer to Mass T) and parking in the driveway was a bit tight, but Lexington is delightful to explore and we returned with a greater appreciation of our Nation's early patriots!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZGR8BNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband, 8 year old daughter and I enjoyed a single night stay at Morgan's Rest this weekend. We stayed in the "pool" room - an enormous converted attic with a comfy king size bed, full-sized antique pool table (the room is so big that the pool table took up only a small fraction of the space), delightful private bathroom with a wonderful shower and sweeping cathedral ceilings and numerous skylights. We were able to lie in bed at night and look up at the stars. It was heaven!

We were greeted by Inn keeper Alex who was lovely and welcoming. The location of this B & B is perfect for anyone visiting Lexington proper or Boston in general. Close to the major highways and quietly nestled in a lovely residential neighborhood. This B & B has a lovely little fish pond outside (actually I didn't see fish - but it seems like a fish pond) along with a lovely teak picnic table and lots and lots of strawberry plants. Our daughter slept on a comfy roll-away bed (she loved it) and thanks to a large stone chimney in the center of the room my husband and I felt that we had a bit of privacy even though we were sharing the room with our daughter.

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, home made bread, fresh squeezed OJ and a yummy fritata.

We highly recommend this lovely B & B!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed in the Follen Room which had plenty of space for a rollaway bed. Alex and Jon are wonderful, friendly, and accommodating hosts. They cooked up scrumptuous breakfasts and we enjoyed chatting with them. We felt like we were staying with old friends. The house has a very nice lived-in feel, but is older so don't expect being in the lap of luxury. We were the only guests over the weekend so we were welcomed to use the pool table in the pool room which is a very large, There is a microwave and refrigerator in the upstairs hall for guests. We came in late spring and were told that they had window AC units that they had not installed yet. The ceiling fan was sufficient for us. There was a small TV but we did not watch much of it. We took more advantage of the free wifi. The location is in a quiet residential area. It is close to Lexington & Concord sights and easy access to the Metro and Harvard. But driving to downtown or the North End will require navigating through a lot of city streets. We would definitely stay here again if we are in Boston again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRCSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
513 reviews
2.5 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Lexington
Show Prices

Been to Morgan's Rest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Rest Bed & Breakfast

Address: 205 Follen Rd, Lexington, MA 02421-5943
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range: $85 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing