We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot summer day in Lexington, MA”
Review of Munroe Tavern

Munroe Tavern
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Munroe Tavern was built in 1735 and temporarily served as a field hospital for the British Army on their retreat back to Boston from Concord on April 19, 1775. Later in 1789, George Washington paid a visit to the Tavern and dined in one of the rooms.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot summer day in Lexington, MA”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Visit time: noon on a hot summer Tuesday.
Air conditioning in this historic two-story colonial structure was perfectly balanced.
Period costume guide was friendly and knew her history.
The period raised bed flower gardens outside are beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHSOC, Guest Relations Manager at Munroe Tavern, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! The Munroe Tavern was recently restored and that allows us to have the comfortable air conditioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“no bar”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Unlike Buckman Tavern, this tavern does not have a bar. It is not set up as a tavern. It has been renovated through the years and just looks like a house. Well, It was a residence too during its time as a tavern. It is located a significant distance from Hancock Clarke House and Buckman Tavern. (A First Shot ticket grants entry to Munroe Tavern, Hancock Clarke House, and Buckman Tavern which saves money rather than purchasing individual tickets.) We didn't have a car so my husband and I walked from Hancock Clarke House to Buckman Tavern which was about 30 minutes. This place is historical because it kind if served as the British Soldiers' hospital during the war and George Washington stopped in here for a meal during a tour after he became president. No photography allowed in here. The tour guide was clear and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boogalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHSOC, Guest Relations Manager at Munroe Tavern, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Munroe Tavern and our other properties. You may be pleased to know that we recently amended our photography policy and now allow photography inside all three historic buildings. I hope that you can visit us again sometime and take some photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special Attention”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We purchased the historical package to tour Buckman Tavern, the Hancock-Clarke House and the Munroe Tavern. We enjoyed all the sites but we especially wanted to cite the Munroe Tavern and especially John Dennis, our guide. We were a small group of 5 on a late, rainy Saturday afternoon. After the standard tour, our group asked deeper questions of John, now knowing he was a history teacher in his 'other' life. We were all enthralled discussing history, relating it to today's issues, etc. An additional hour quickly passed. I just wanted to thank John Dennis for making our tour of the Munroe Tavern all the more special.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHSOC, Guest Relations Manager at Munroe Tavern, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and praise of guide John Denis. He is a wealth of knowledge and we are lucky to have him on staff. We will pass along your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Loved this historical tour. Maureen was very accommodating and a wonderful guide. Our group needed an expedited tour, which she graciously gave us, and she still made the history of this place come alive. She left out the side commentary that becomes so annoying on many of these tours, and she left you feeling that she had actually been there during the war. The video was good, and it was helpful to have a British view of the war. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHSOC, Guest Relations Manager at Munroe Tavern, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Munroe Tavern and your kind review. We will pass on your words of praise to Maureen. She is an excellent guide and we are lucky to have her on staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
“Afternoon Tea in Historical Tavern”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My sister and I took a break from visiting Lexington Open Studios a recent rainy Sunday to enjoy afternoon tea at Munroe Tavern. The setting was delightful, the staff so welcoming, the tea perfect, and the hot scone out of this world! I had passed the "Open for Tea" sign many times, and am so glad I finally dropped in for this delightful break. I highly recommend you do so, too, either when you visit the historical Tavern, or like us on this particular day, just for Afternoon Tea!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munroe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Munroe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing