We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going strong for over 35 years”

Mario's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 66 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
usa
Level Contributor
326 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“going strong for over 35 years”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I started going to Mario's over 35 years ago, when I moved to nearby Waltham. Things are still as good now as they were then. Can't beat the Baked Ziti. All the pasta dishes are very good. It has been awhile since I had a pizza there, but they looked good and smelled great as they passed my table. The antipasto is huge, enough for 4 people. Portions sizes are a bit smaller now, but still plenty. I was there on a Tuesday afternoon, for lunch, the Baked Ziti was the "special" and came with a dinner salad and a basket of bread for $7.99. Where can you get that much food for that price anywhere near Lexington?
Note that I drove from Cape Cod to Portland Maine that day and made a special stop for Mario's. That says it all. Enjoy! Brown bag your own beer and wine. Lexington is a dry town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank commentmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    66
    18
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“About what I expected”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Small neighborhood Italian joint that appears to have withstood the test of time. I was looking for just that, so picked Mario's. The service was attentive and friendly. The food was average. The bread, although plentiful, was a little stale and should've been better. Just heating it would be better. My family shared pizza and pasta. None was bad, but none was great. Average ravioli (appeared to be frozen) with marina that was nothing special. Pretty inexpensive, so probably worth the value, but there are better places for sure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JAH00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“solid Italian food”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

No frills, just solid Italian food and relatively cheap (2 entrees and an app for $40 with tip!). The chicken and eggplant parm was extremely good. Everything is made to order, ready very quickly, and is pipping hot. They aren't messing around. Everyone is super nice and very attentive. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BYOB”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

It's not haute cuisine for sure, but it is homey and good. We brought our own bottle of wine ( no corkage fee) and had a nice meal with two teens. We started with mozzarella sticks for the kids, which surprisingly had a bit of flavor and were accompanied by a simple marinara sauce. We also had a large house salad that was a little disappointing- uninspired, wilted, and slightly warm. The entrees were better: chicken and eggplant parm and pizza. The parm is a large portion, and we spilt that with the spaghetti that came with it. Tasty and satisfying. The pizza (small- enough for two to split) was solid; good crust, tangy sauce and not over done on the toppings. This place is a winner- keep you expectations in check, bring your own wine (and wine glasses or you get paper cups!) relax and enjoy a good family run Italian restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Imelda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Local, small, family-style restaurant”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Good food, great price, and big portions. Don't forget to sign in when you get there, because it was packed even on weeknight. I had the buffalo chicken calzone and it was yummy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teachertraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Lexington, MA
 

Been to Mario's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing