We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love their cocktails and the bar area”
Review of Vine Brook Tavern

Vine Brook Tavern
Ranked #51 of 66 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located in the heart of historic downtown Lexington, Vine Brook Tavern offers contemporary American fare with European influences housed in a warm setting that narrates its roots within the community. Led by owner Marcus Palmer and Executive Chef Chris Frothingham, both alumni of the Todd English Group, the pair combine their years of hospitality expertise and skill for executing comforting cuisine into a unique interpretation of casual yet elegant dining.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“I love their cocktails and the bar area”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I have stopped at Vine Brook for a drink several times. I always enjoy the experience. The margaritas are great as are the other drinks that we have ordered. We also like the sweet potato fries. Definitely a nice place to stop for a drink and chat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjc_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    60
    46
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food--a bit pricey”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this restaurant but it is a bit over priced. Great service and the food was delicious. The homemade New England brown bread melted in our mouths. I had the lobster tacos with a delicious corn side. My husband had the burger with 4 different meats and an egg on top. The homemade french fries were the best we've ever had. The calamari appetizer was very good too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4gradys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Uneven - some menu items miss the mark”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Filet was overdone. The scallop "BLT" (a not a sandwich) was innovative but thick bacon was too tough to cut or chew. Wines by the glass are moderately priced, food is not. Best menu items that we ate (and saw/asked other diners about) lobster hush puppies, mac and cheese. The appetizers are generous portion, so appropriately priced. Main menu overpriced for the quality. Chose your seating carefully according to your dress- fine ac in the upstairs center, hotter in the side section (good if you are wearing a summer sundress, etc).
The food could be good with a bit more attention paid to the cooking results.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parisbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible overpriced lunch experience.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for lunch after a tour on a warm afternoon. We knew nothing about the restaurant but it was there and we were tired and hungry.
We were greeted by the hostess who wanted to seat us in one of those booth type seats that you share with other people. We said no so she grudgingly gave us a table.
We both ordered the burger. It tasted like mustard and thyme and was way too thick. It was delivered to us by a girl who seemed think she was doing us a favor giving us our food. She acted disgusted that she had to carry it out to us.
The bill for two burgers, two ice teas
and one chowder? $44.00. We will not be coming back to this snobby overpriced place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced trendy place”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I needed to wait a few days to calm down before writing. This tavern/restaurant has a nice atmosphere with a long list of interesting sounding beers on a chalkboard. The menu was limited but there was variety in the selections available. Sadly, that's it for the positive. Overall, the place was not a good value for my hard earned restaurant budget. Our calamari frites were good, my omelet was dry, my friend's pulled pork was okay but not outstanding. Besides being generally overpriced, the irritation of the afternoon was being charged $11 EACH for a couple of glasses of wine that were listed as $6 on the menu. I remember the price from when I ordered. It was a special occasion and I didn't want to make an issue at the time. But, this is not a place that will see my return business.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Brook Tavern also viewed

 
Lexington, MA
 

Been to Vine Brook Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing