We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service, Outstanding Craft Beer selection”
Review of Vine Brook Tavern

Vine Brook Tavern
Ranked #51 of 66 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located in the heart of historic downtown Lexington, Vine Brook Tavern offers contemporary American fare with European influences housed in a warm setting that narrates its roots within the community. Led by owner Marcus Palmer and Executive Chef Chris Frothingham, both alumni of the Todd English Group, the pair combine their years of hospitality expertise and skill for executing comforting cuisine into a unique interpretation of casual yet elegant dining.
Finksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, Outstanding Craft Beer selection”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were a group of seven having a Sunday lunch. The service was prompt, friendly and responsive. The food selection was outstanding. The portions were just right. Several of our party were craft beer aficionados and pronounced the selection and the sampled results to be outstanding.

There seems to be a very nice focus on wine also. Wine classes are offered and though we did not order wine, the selection was good and fairly priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    60
    46
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant-great food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went here twice on a recent trip. Ate once at the bar and once at a table. Both meals were excellent and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and attentive. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and Service very good; air conditioning and noise level need attention”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The food [American, casual] was varied and delicious; the service was very good. The wait person was a cheerful, attentive, helpful server. The food arrived promptly and was as good as expected. On the other hand, it was hard to hold a conversation because of the noise level. Perhaps the Tavern hopes to be a neighborhood sports bar -there are 2 large screens above the bar- but the overall noise level was higher than I appreciate. The air conditioning was not working properly; it was rather hot, which detracted from the experience of enjoying the food. The wait person explained that a technician had come to look at it and had done what they could. The restrooms were very cold, the dining area pretty hot. Recommend calling beforehand to check on air conditioning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Didn't stay to eat. ”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Sadly, we walked into an empty place and were asked if we had reservations. There were 2 parties in line so I'm not sure why we needed reservations. When I inquired if they were needed the hostess blankly looked at us and went to find out the answer. We didn't quite understand why we needed a reservation but the hostess left us with a bad impression. We went across the street to Ruyi and had a great meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank LittleJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I have some reservations about this place...”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Went in at 1130 am on a Saturday with a group of 5. The entire restaurant was empty! The hostess asked if we had reservations, and we did not. She then had to go to the back to check with someone to see if we could be seated. There were no other customers sitting or staff around. There were two couples behind us that did not have reservations for the empty restaurant either; they encountered the same problem. I can't review anything other than this.

We did not stay to eat and went across the street to Ruyi Hibachi and Sushi. They, on the other hand, have great food and awesome lunch specials!!

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinAsh-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Brook Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Vine Brook Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing