We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar, overpriced food.”
Review of Vine Brook Tavern

Vine Brook Tavern
Ranked #51 of 66 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located in the heart of historic downtown Lexington, Vine Brook Tavern offers contemporary American fare with European influences housed in a warm setting that narrates its roots within the community. Led by owner Marcus Palmer and Executive Chef Chris Frothingham, both alumni of the Todd English Group, the pair combine their years of hospitality expertise and skill for executing comforting cuisine into a unique interpretation of casual yet elegant dining.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice bar, overpriced food.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The bar is great although the drinks are expensive. The food was good but did not justify the price.The portons were not large. Perhaps it is too new but the service did not justify the high food costs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gr8fuldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    60
    46
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood option”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Vine Brook Tavern is a new entry into Lexington center. Great bar with lots of local beer choices and some creative cocktails. The food is a bit inconsistent. Some items are outstanding; the pork shank appetizer, burgers, crunchy french toast, fish cassoulet. Other items are not so successful; meat loaf, veal pot roast. Service is casual and friendly and the dining room has a nice warmth. Street parking can be a bit challenging at times however.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Owner's should sell now!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here last evening and were stunned at the poor service. When I complained to the manager he said we train our servers to turn in the entree order after the salad, etc, etc.. He further said our order would be next out. It was not, not even close. So I went to the other manager and he went to the kitchen and got our orders out. When we received our orders, (mine was salmon) it was cold, particularly the vegetables and potatoes. Having complained to both managers, it was obvious I was not the only one complaining. The other staff was apologetic but powerless to do anything. The original manager came to our table at the end of our meal ( I didn't eat my cold food). He offered free dessert, I indicated we did not want dessert and I said he should make an adjustment to our bill due to poor service and cold food. He said no.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DRR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You can do better - cold food and long wait”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Kitchen slow and food is cold
Cute place but poor value
Bartenders are great
Overall - not worth the premium price fir a one hour wait for food!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top notch in Lexington”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautifully redone, great service and wonderful food. I could eat the apps and be fine but the entrees are worth it too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AudraBoettcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine Brook Tavern also viewed

 
Lexington, MA
 

Been to Vine Brook Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing