We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing jewel of a restaurant!”
Review of Royal India Bistro

Royal India Bistro
Ranked #2 of 66 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing jewel of a restaurant!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This tiny restaurant serves wonderful food. I tend to pick the vegetarian options as they are so delicious, but the meat dishes are also good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 60745Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    59
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

On top of several good experiences at RIB, I recently ordered take out. When I went to pick up my order, the joint was hopping with both diners and other take out orderers. Myself and a couple of other guys were only waiting 5 minutes when a waiter came over and gave us each a tasty Indian beer. Before I had a few sips, my order came out. These guys just get it (and Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer were excellent).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy indian”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of the better Indian restaurants in the area. Lunch is great for a $10 tali plate with three entree choices, rice and raita. Service is efficient. Give it a try- you won't be sorry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visited this place on a weekday night and had mixed feelings at the end of it. Some of the food was decent but other was pathetic. Don't try the South Indian stuff, they don't seem to get a hang of it. North Indian dishes were decent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vavasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood (Montgomery County), Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Saag Paneer”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We saw this highly rated on Trip Advisor and found it very good. My wife's saag paneer was perfectly seasoned while the sauce on my lamb curry was a bit runny, and the taste needed more complexity. Jesse will treat you like honored guests in his home; service was great. The gulag jamun was larger than I've ever had and not as sweet. The raita was very creamy and delicious, and the naan was perfect and fluffy. Top place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tromba61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal India Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Royal India Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing