We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History Alive”

Hancock-Clarke House
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Due to reopen April 2017. Closed for the season. The home of Lexington's first two ministers and the location where John Hancock and Sam Adams were staying on April 18, 1775. Paul Revere stopped here on his famous "Midnight Ride" to warn Hancock and Adams that British troops had left Boston.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Temecula
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“History Alive”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Start with a great movie, then get guided through an historical house that is absolutely wonderful! Hand painted wallpaper & nicely crafted woodwork are the backdrop to a wonderful guide, who answered all of the questions brought by this history teacher! Buy the 3 part ticket with the two taverns & you will have a great half day!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1nelson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    39
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
250 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Beautiful large house”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The place is great, historic and very authentically done. The video is very amaturish (why they couldnt get someone with a British accent to plays the redcoats is beyond me) and the tour guide a little strange but she was friendly and informative, sometimes too informative.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LA-JH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“One of the better tours in the area”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I live in the Lexington area and decided to go visit the Buckman Tavern and the Hancock-Clarke House for the first time this past weekend after a bunch of rain canceled a planned hiking trip. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the tour of the Hancock-Clarke house.

A couple of tips - first, if you are an active duty military family, make sure to ask the about discounted or even free tickets when you arrive at the entrance to buy your ticket. We were pleasantly surprised to receive a free ticket. In addition, there are 3 historic buildings in the area that the Lexington Historical Society gives tours to (in addition to the 2 mentioned here, they also give tours of the Munroe Tavern). If you plan to see more than one of these buildings, when you buy your ticket, be sure to ask how often the tours run, particularly if you're visiting during an off-peak time, as it will help you plan out your tours so that you don't miss a tour or have to wait a long time for the next one.

I found the introductory film quite good, especially if you need a refresher to remind you about all the history leading up to the events of the Battle in Lexington (first shots fired in the Revolutionary War). Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and just really seemed to love her job as a tour guide. Because of her enthusiasm for the subject matter, I enjoyed our tour of the Hancock-Clarke house much more than the tour of Buckman Tavern. It was a very interesting place -- so glad that the Historical Society has preserved and taken care of it, as it has so many interesting things about it.

One thing -- Lexington Historical Society -- if you're listening, my husband mentioned that he did have a really hard time following the geneological history of the Hancock-Clarke families as told by the guide. An illustrated pedigree chart or family tree that the guide could pass around (like the pictures and letters that are currently passed around on the tour) could really help to explain the connection of the patriot John Hancock to the former owners and inhabitants of the house and explain why/how he was present at the home when the Battle of Lexington occurred.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank naturegirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHSOC, Front Office Manager at Hancock-Clarke House, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we agree sometimes it is difficult to follow the genealogical history of the Hancock-Clarke Families. We will look into possibly having some kind of handout made in order to help our visitors better understand this family's history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billskis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just like every other historica building in ma”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

good if you have never been here before. One tavern, one house, one church, one burial ground. Looks the same after that. I drive by it every day. Original paint color.

Helpful?
Thank billskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
374 reviews
309 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour!”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Enjoyed the history lesson we received here. Better than just reading about it in a book. If you want to brush up on your history, this house is a don't miss. You would think it would be a little fancier, since Hancock was so rich, but it is really old. Most of us don't have much better houses today.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LAtoEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hancock-Clarke House also viewed

 

Been to Hancock-Clarke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing