We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like every other historica building in ma”

Hancock-Clarke House
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Due to reopen April 2017. Closed for the season. The home of Lexington's first two ministers and the location where John Hancock and Sam Adams were staying on April 18, 1775. Paul Revere stopped here on his famous "Midnight Ride" to warn Hancock and Adams that British troops had left Boston.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
billskis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just like every other historica building in ma”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

good if you have never been here before. One tavern, one house, one church, one burial ground. Looks the same after that. I drive by it every day. Original paint color.

Helpful?
Thank billskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    37
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
374 reviews
309 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Enjoyed the history lesson we received here. Better than just reading about it in a book. If you want to brush up on your history, this house is a don't miss. You would think it would be a little fancier, since Hancock was so rich, but it is really old. Most of us don't have much better houses today.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LAtoEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Updated Tour and Incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This house was the first stop on Paul Revere's ride. Soaking in the historical experience is made easier at the star of the tour with a video entitled, "First Shot" which gives the viewers a great historical context and explanation. Your tour guide is a wealth of knowledge and the hour long tour is very interesting. A must see if you're in Lexington!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newlex, Front Office Manager at Hancock-Clarke House, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you very much for the compliments. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience as well as our "First Shot" video. "First Shot" is a film that we are very proud of here at the Historical Society. It was created by all local reenactors and Lexington Historical Society members with only one paid actor. We hope that you will come back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Got to see it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Along with Munroe Tavern and Buckman Tavern you have to see this if you are interested in history. This is where Paul Revere notified John Hancock "The British are coming!" and where you will learn he never actually said that.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surpisingly interesting beyond the expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

My wife and I live in the area, and had never visited the house, because we had been to many re-enactments and displays of Paul Revere's ride, the first battle and so on. We had guests from California and decided we would finally visit. We were very pleasantly surprised. There was a great introductory video that was somewhat graphic as another viewer mentioned- however that is what it made it special as it went beyond the obvious- as this was the start of a war. Hancock and others at that house had to flee as they were in fear of being arrested. As we toured the house- room by room, the details explained made us understand the period and what the people at this important place (probably) were thinking, and doing as the war was beginning. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable when we asked questions regarding both the house furnishings, its structure including how it was moved and restored to its original location, as well as the historical events preceding and following the beginning of the revolution.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FussySleepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hancock-Clarke House also viewed

 

Been to Hancock-Clarke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing