We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was closed but looked cool from outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buckman Tavern

Buckman Tavern
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Buckman Tavern is closed for the Season. We will be re-opening in March of 2016. This Historic Tavern is one of the few colonial era buildings still standing around the Battle Green and was used by the Lexington Militia on April 19th, 1775 as a gathering place. It is now a Museum with self-guided audio tours. Sorry for any inconveniences.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was closed but looked cool from outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Looked pretty neat from outside. But unfortunately it closed not too long ago for updating. Little irritated because this is the busiest time of year (October) and they know it. But didn't put it on website or even mentioned it anywhere. I know they have the other two places, so it's not the end of the world. Just wish they could postpone for two more weeks. Just saying. :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelle725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    50
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great information; very historic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very interesting tavern from the 1700s; guide was dressed in period garb; very knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide; great artifacts.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveAGreatBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent docent, excellent tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to be the only two on our tour. Our guide was knowledgable and knew her history. She was very open to questions and you could tell she was proud of the Lexington history. Would highly recommend not missing this tour. If you take the Liberty Trolley tour this tavern tour is included in your total cost. Definitely a good value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MTtraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fun historic stop worth the visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stopped here while on a local tour, and it was fantastic. Tour guide Bobby said it right with "if these walls could talk". It's a great bit of insight on historical living, as well as capturing one of the most historically important events in our nation's past. Well worth the visit, and reasonably priced. I recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Apete06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,903 reviews
886 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
“Another interesting site next to the green”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Buckman's Tavern is yet another of the exhibit buildings that you might as well see if going through the entire tour of the area. It is located right in front of the Visitor's Center, and is also easy to access for wheelchairs. There is a fee for entry, so purchase this as part of the three-building pass. It's interesting in that it was used as a headquarters for one of the commanding Generals at Lexington, (please don't ask me which one!), so it's also in integral part of the history of the battle.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckman Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Buckman Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing