We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting spot - and a little spooky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckman Tavern

Buckman Tavern
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.99*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Buckman Tavern is closed for the Season. We will be re-opening in March of 2016. This Historic Tavern is one of the few colonial era buildings still standing around the Battle Green and was used by the Lexington Militia on April 19th, 1775 as a gathering place. It is now a Museum with self-guided audio tours. Sorry for any inconveniences.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting spot - and a little spooky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Sadly we were running out of time to see the three historic houses in Lexington, so we left the Hancock-Clarke house tour early (unfortunately) to run over there to make the last tour of the day. It was interesting, but once we left the first entry room I got a weird feeling like the ground was moving. (Being from CA, I know what an earthquake feels like - but this was almost as if the ground was floating. Weird.) I asked my husband if he felt anything, but he did not. We walked through the tavern, and once we got to the kitchen it felt like the house moved again, like it was swaying. At that point I grabbed my husband and said "you HAD to have felt that!" and he thought I was crazy. I don't believe in ghosts much, but there was something in that place that was moving. Very odd.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    49
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Bit of Revolutionary History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My children (8 & 12) enjoyed the tour of all three houses as each gave a different perspective. We're glad we started at The Buckman Tavern as it's the only one without a video clip. The tavern houses three muskets from the colonials and three from the red coats- interesting to see the difference. My 12 year old was fascinated by the hole in the original door caused by a musket ball during the battle at Lexington. We really enjoyed our guide at this house.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flashmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour was just okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Although it was not our favorite tour during our trip, our guide did her best to help us understand how the tavern had been used and changed over the years. We did not get to the two other sites that our ticket allowed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ronmiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Minutemen Gathered Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

One of the 3 places to go with the discount triple ticket. It is incredible to see the place that the minutemen gathered just before the battle & to see how small the tavern really is! A good tour guide leads you through an incredible historical building!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1nelson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great people in the shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We did not actually have time to look around the tavern, but the ladies in the gift shop were brilliant and gave us a lot of information about the town and sights.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Photophilplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHSOC, Front Office Manager at Buckman Tavern, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are so happy to hear that our volunteers in the Buckman Tavern shop were helpful to you. We pride ourselves on our hundreds of volunteers and are truly thankful for the time they are willing to give us. We appreciate the kind feedback and will pass this along to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckman Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Buckman Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing