We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist, Functional and Clean”
Review of Element Lexington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Element Lexington
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

First stay at The Element. I will return.

Pros:
Healthier indoor air. Pet and smoke-free rooms. Window opens and is screened - rare in hotels these days. AC is individually vented by room, so no shared air with pet rooms.
No carpeting. Finally, hotels are smartening up about what is hiding there... :)
Kitchen a nice surprise.

Cons:
Noise - request 3rd floor, NOT facing the patio.

Tips:
Request no spraying of air fresheners prior to arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryana m, Manager at Element Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear LisaTK,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay at our Element brand. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the brand and the details in its design. The floor that you enjoyed is made from 100% recycled material in an effort to be more green.
See you again soon!

Live life aloft and live well,

Maryana Madorsky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 469 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was my first experience of Element and we were not disappointed. Rooms are like small modern studio apartments. Very comfortable, full kitchen, desk and sofa sitting area. There is also a great pool and gym. Breakfast is served, both hot and cold dishes and there is dinner during the week. We stayed two nights it was busy and there was a wedding party which caused a lot of noise in the early hours and they had little respect for other guests (holding up elevators, taking up breakfast area) obviously this can not be helped it was just annoyance. Returned for another night a few days later, this room was less well kept with some things showing a lot more wear but overall this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Element in Lexington far exceeded my expectations. My room was actually a small studio suite complete with a fully functional kitchen stocked with appliances, dishes, cutlery, pots & pans, etc. It had everything you would need for an extended stay. The room also had very nice living room area with an L-shaped sofa & coffee table. There was a spacious desk situated at a large window which afforded not only a view, but natural light as well. The bed was very comfortable and the "rain forest" shower a real treat. The pool, while small, was indoor with diffuse sunlight streaming through the windowed roof. A great perc was the free breakfast which include freshly made egg sandwiches as well as bagels, muffins, cereal, etc. I will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Higher floor, facing away from parking lot, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathshebanDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryana m, Manager at Element Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear BathshebanDavid,

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed the property! The "rain forest" shower is a real treat. We welcome you back next time you take a drive into the suburbs.

Live life aloft and live well,

Maryana Madorsky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

When you first walk in, you get almost a feeling that you are in a Scandanavian country. It isn't your typical lobby but for those that like something a little different, this is your place. Our room had a kitchenette and very comfortable bed and the shower was great. Breakfast had a lot of fun and healthy items to choose from and is included in your room rate. I would not hesitate to stay in this place again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdtid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My family and I chose Element Lexington due to the hotel’s convenient location between a Boston-area university and Boston itself. I also wanted to try the Element brand after reading its rave reviews and appreciating its emphasis on sustainability and environmentally-conscious/-friendly hospitality.

LOCATION: The hotel is located in Lexington, a small town with historical value to the American Revolutionary War. It is just off a quiet road [which is in turn off the I-95] and shares a large lot with its sister Aloft hotel. The hotel grounds are well-planted, clean, extremely quiet and right across from Minuteman National Park, which has plenty of beautiful walking paths and trails for exploration. Boston is a twenty-five minute drive/75 dollar cab ride away [$$$], so I recommend you rent a car if you plan on staying here; there is parking aplenty on-site.

ENTRANCE/LOBBY: The lobby is a signature part of the Element concept. The check-in counter is on the immediate left next to a recess containing carts for guests to haul in their own luggage. It was always staffed during the daytime and well into the evening/night by very friendly people who were always eager to help. We were checked-in in a matter of minutes, given three keycards to our suite and had our Starwood Preferred Guest membership acknowledged by the front desk.

The lobby space serves as a common ground encouraging guest mixing and interaction, with a sunken area with couches and a communal table with handy power ports for electronics backed by a wall of tall windows that floods the lobby with natural light. Further communal tables are located across from the front desk next to a counter used for the hotel’s daily complimentary breakfast and evening receptions. There is also an all-day counter offering guests coffee and hot water with a variety of teas.

ROOMS: Rooms at the Element are designed as open-plan studios and suites with discreet zones for working, sleeping, bathing and cooking. Our room was a one-bedroom suite with a separate living room and bedroom spread over forty-two square meters. It doesn’t sound like much, but the space was extremely well-utilized with modular furniture that tucks into walls to avoid clutter and keep spaces open so we never felt cramped.

Being an offshoot of the Westin brand, the bedroom had a king-size Heavenly Bed complete with the requisite supportive mattress, fluffy duvet and abundant pillows as well as closet space and a plasma television. The living room had another television, desk, L-shaped corner couch that doubled as a fold-out bed, a kitchen with dishwasher, toaster, microwave, a full fridge and all the necessary cutlery and crockery. The bathroom, designed to be spa-like, has a sink with generous counter space and a convenient shelf along the wall, toilet and a spacious shower stall with large rain showerhead and handheld wand. In the vein of staying green, the shampoo/conditioner and body wash are provided in wall-mounted dispensers instead of little bottles/containers, which is a shame because they’re great and can’t be taken home.

FOOD/BEVERAGE: There is no formal restaurant on-site, but a signature point of all Element hotels is a complimentary breakfast every morning. This is served in the lobby space and consists of healthy options like whole wheat/spinach burritos with egg whites and salsa [or bacon-and-cheese wraps for the carnivores among us], cereals, breads, muffins/baked goods and fresh juices/coffee/tea. The food was always fresh and delicious and constantly replenished throughout the morning.

Another fantastic service we took advantage of was the four-times-a-week evening reception between 6:30 and 7:30 that serves complimentary beer and wine along with a light dinner that changes day by day. There was stir-fried chicken and vegetables with rice on one evening while another evening, we were treated to a barbeque in the hotel’s backyard with ribs and baked potatoes. I loved this service and wish it was provided daily.

There is a pantry behind the reception desk with staple foods like noodles, fruit, microwaveable meals, juices, water and beer/wine that can be charged to the room and taken back at the guest’s convenience. We also went to a nearby supermarket in Lexington and grabbed groceries from there, so it’s never really a hassle to cook and feed yourself if you’re inclined to it.

LEISURE: The hotel has a 24-hour fitness center and a small indoor pool that are accessible by room keycard. I used the fitness center a few times and found it to be very well-equipped, with machines that have iPod connectivity and plenty of towels and water within reach. The pool was popular with young children, but was always clean and both facilities were never crowded nor kept in disarray.

The hotel’s backyard between the pool and lobby is a pleasant outdoor space with sun loungers and outdoor seating and is a good place to read and unwind in the fresh air and cool climes; the weather in late August/early September was nothing short of spectacular.

Bikes are also provided and are free to rent; just ask the front desk staff for the keys and you can pedal around the hotel grounds or explore Minuteman Park.

FACILITIES: Aside from the above facilities, the hotel has two small meeting rooms off the lobby as well as two computers with free Internet access and printing capabilities. The hotel also provides free wi-fi to registered guests, which we found extremely convenient and fast. There is also a laundry room with washers and dryers for guests to do their own cleaning at $1.75 per machine/run; detergent and cleaning supplies are provided by the hotel free of charge.

SERVICE: The service was awesome, awesome, awesome. The front desk staff [Courtney was mostly on staff during our stay] was very friendly and enthusiastic, providing speedy service and ready to answer questions. The hotel team in charge of the evening receptions were also brilliant, always taking time to make conversation and make that personal connection with the hotel guests, creating a very intimate and at-home vibe. I wish the staff wore nametags so I could personally identify and recognize them!

OVERALL: Starwood Hotels have a winner on their hands with the Element concept. Although Element Lexington was the first hotel in the chain and has been around since 2008, it remains fresh, convenient beyond words and fantastic in all aspects. Although I’d prefer to stay in Boston itself during my next trip to the area, I wouldn’t pass on Element Lexington and would happily return without thinking twice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors to enjoy a view of the greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaled B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryana m, Manager at Element Lexington, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Khaled B,

Your review of our property makes me proud to work for this incredibly unique brand. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your detailed and passionate review. Courtney was so suprised that her name made it into a tripadvisor review. I know Kuwait is a far travel, but hopefully you get the opportunity to stay with us again.

Live life aloft and live well,
Maryana Madorsky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have stayed in 4 star and 5 star hotels, but I would have to say this is one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The Element had very nice rooms. The bed is probably the nicest hotel bed I have ever slept on. The shower was wonderful, and the breakfast was great. Fresh fruit, 4 different juices, cereal, yogurt and breakfast sandwiches. They also had 6 different kinds of coffee and flavors. I was vert impressed with staff and the green atmosphere of the hotel. This hotel is in a great location right off of I 95 and minutes from all the history in Lexington and Concord. My wife and I had a wonderful 6 nights in the Boston area and the Element was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mssteelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My family & I enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Element as we were in town for a wedding in Newton/downtown Boston. Booked with SPG points & last minute deals, so price was reasonable. We had a car, so everything was very convenient. There was ample parking, and our room (King suite) was pretty clean for the most part, with the exception of the dark faux wood floors that were hard to see dirt on & the leaky shower. There was plenty of space as we were travelling w/ our toddler who needs her own corner to sleep in & room to run around! The living area & kitchen were great amenities to make our home away from home comfortable..we think it was even nicer than our first apt when we first got married ;). Breakfast was busy (it was also a holiday wkend) but decent w/ lots of healthy choices & they did their best to replenish everything quickly. The lobby/common areas were well lit & I enjoyed the outside patio area, even though there was a heat wave that week. The only disappointment was the pool was closed for maintenance during our stay so you had to go across the parking lot to use the one at the Aloft if you wanted to do so. Self-serve laundry facilities were 24 hrs, so that was really convenient. They definitely emphasize the "go green" idea here. All in all, an excellent hotel for what we needed & great home away from home on our extended trip on the East Coast. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Ling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.1 mi away
Aloft Lexington
Aloft Lexington
#3 of 4 in Lexington
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
180 reviews
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
538 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Lexington

Address: 727 Marrett Rd # B, (for October 1, 2008), Lexington, MA 02421-7311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range: $112 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Lexington 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element Lexington focuses on keeping guests feeling fresh, focused and at their best. Surrounded by rich colonial history and a vibrant business community, it is located 20 min from downtown Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Element Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element Lexington Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing