We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Aloft Lexington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Lexington
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I suppose this is a great place IF you're in your 20's and have a job interview the next day at Oracle or Adobe..... (like the techie generation and gender that it's clearly trying to attract) but, if you're over that age, this is not the place to enjoy a nice weekend getaway. The saltwater pool which is supposedly a "green" idea is indeed chlorinated - not as green as the name implies. The highlight of this hotel is the bar - like the rest of the reviewers here point out. A place to meet and greet over ETOH. If you forgot the KY and trojans, they are openly available for sale in the "needs" case and in full view of young adolescents.

Simply put, do not take children here. This is a place for young male techies to either immerse themselves in their room and play X Box, OR, eat boxed sandwiches and Stouffer's side dishes (microwaveable and included at the food "court") or play pool -either the saltwater or billiards type, better known as "pool" in the USA.

The room sink is made for one person and only one is available per room. We had to remove the drain to get the water to actually "drain" as water was intended to do. The beds are very uncomfortable and not really intended for sleeping on (see 1st paragraph last 2 lines). The shower is nice but getting in is tricky without freezing or being boiled. Good luck with that!

And finally, don't look for any instructions on how to find the ice machine, order room service or fire escape routes. Don't expect to find out what's on TV - no guide except the channel names already on the TV are provided. Don't expect to find ANY paper products in the room, except the obligatory toilet paper that's more like onion skin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 513 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

the aloft was an interesting and more than suitable for one night in Lexington. It is a cool concept and the Breakfast short order cook was wonderful. this is better than I expected but really just a 3 star with interesting decor. Check in was a little difficult considering that it was very late and we had been traveling all day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarylandTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good location close to highway and short drive to restaurants. Friendly staff. All the usual Aloft features: trendy cool lobby (with pool table, computers, lots of seating, games), swimming pool, etc. Friendly staff. Our large family (with kids of all ages) rented two rooms - lobby was great place for teens and young adults to hang out in the early evening. Have stayed here at least twice and will stay again when driving through this area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 150nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Liked this trendy, contemporary, chic hotel. Visiting my kids in Cambridge and it was a nice getaway place to stay for the night. Nice bar, inviting lobby. Liked the location in the location in the hills - away from the city. WIll stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenacity77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoyed staying at aloft. The bar and billiard were inviting (though we did not linger there due to kids). The room was minimalistic, functional, and comfortable though I find a little more housekeeping will improve the look (around the vanity area). Breakfast can become a bit pricy for a family of four with good appetite. We were so glad to find aloft and element as we used to stay nearby Best Western every time we visit this area. We are pleased with its affordability.

Room Tip: Not too close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Let me start by commenting the communication system: it doesn't work! I made a reservation and wated to ask a specific question, so i called the hotel number which seems local, but it actually went to the aloft reservation office who had no idea about any individual hotels. I asked to be transferred to the hotel, and it went to the executive office, and a lady didn't want to waste her time and transferred me to the front desk. Now the funny part: I was asked to input a security code!! I then sent an email to the address on their website, and of course, no one replied.

Now the hotel itself:

Pro:
Generous gifts for kids (goodie bag,a drink, and a snack)
Room small but clean with unique contemporary design
Two bottles of free water
Nice shallow pool
Small gym which works well

Con:
Slow wifi; dropped line all the time;
Weak shower water flow;

Overall, a 2.5 star hotel which I would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonwalkerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our first Aloft experience, and we'll seek them out in the future. Love the clean, modern look. Comfortable room, new fixtures. Trendy lobby with bar, pizza and other snacks. Tech was excellent... good free wifi, plug-in station with HDMI, audio, video inputs for the TV and a great selection of on-demand movies.

The location was great too. Short drive to downtown Lexington for dinner, plus a bonus: hiking trail right out of the parking lot into Minuteman National Historic Park.

Room Tip: Front rooms (facing parking lot) can be a little noisy. Quieter on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinFamilyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.1 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
469 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
180 reviews
4.7 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Concord
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Concord
3.3 mi away
Best Western TLC Hotel
Best Western TLC Hotel
#4 of 11 in Waltham
512 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Lexington

Address: 727 Marrett Rd # A, Lexington, MA 02421-7311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range: $107 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Lexington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Lexington offers a modern and bold travel experience in a historic Boston suburb, surrounded by revolutionary battlegrounds & quaint New England towns and just 20 min from downtown Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Lexington Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing