We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Certain Crowd”
Review of Aloft Lexington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Lexington
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“For a Certain Crowd”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel in mid June 2012. It is definetly cool and has a good bar downstairs. They have an outdoor area with couches, so the lobby is more like a lounge/bar than a lobby. If you're into the modern scene, it's pretty cool. I wouldn't suggest it to my grandmother, however. The elevators have blue lights and the hallways have funky wallpaper. My boyfriend and I are 25 and 26 and thought it was really funky and fun. Under all of it, however, its just a regular medium budget hotel. If it's the right price and place, stay there, but don't go out of your way just to stay.

The rooms are clean, the shower is pretty neat (has a rain shower head!) and the beds were fine. I did not have any of the previous mentioned issues with the bed being to hard or anything like that. It was a firm bed, but not uncomfortable at alll. The room has a pretty hip feel to it and was a nice size.

My main complaint, however, is that for a hotel trying so hard to be nicer than it is, they are pretty stingy. They dont have an ice machine, you have to call the front desk and you get a baggy the size of your hand. This is obviously not that important haha, I just found it really strange. They have excessively expensive snacks and breakfast downstairs, but no real place to eat them. I'd definetly suggest eating elsewhere.

All in all, cool hotel thats worth a stay. Youll get a good nights sleep in a clean room, a nice shower and some pretty cool pictures!

Room Tip: Dont stay on the first floor, I think the bar may be pretty loud from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthSideLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aloft Lexington, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear casimpson86,

Thanks for your comments! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your experience and vibe at the Aloft Lexington. Come visit it us again and don't hesitate to bring your grandmother. You never know, she may enjoy Splash, our pool or enjoy an Iced-T from WXYZ on our patio.

Live life aloft and live well,
Maryana Madorsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    212
    82
    28
    22
See reviews for
123
133
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celebration,Florida,USA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stepping into the Aloft lobby with my teenage son we were both oohing and aahing over the design. Bright colors, loads of technology and fun contemporary design. The rooms are more of the same with great design, large beds, a huge flat screen tv and spectacular attention to detail in the bathroom area. I did not give the hotel 5 stars because a beautifully designed analog clock on the night stand ticked all night and some of the tech items made noises repeatedly throughout the night, resulting in a poor nights sleep. I also found the mattress to be a little stiff. I usually stay at Hampton Inns on U.S. road trips which do not come close to Aloft's spectacular design, however I always get a great nights sleep. The Aloft location is beautifully situated on a hill close to downtown Lexington which is filled with history, wonderful restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful view of natural rocks and trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aloft Lexington, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Floridiantraveler50,

Thank you so much for your recent review!
I am glad you and your teenage son enjoyed the Aloft experience even though you encountered some concerning sounds throughout your night. In an effort to enhance your overnight experience, we offer sound machines to use in your room with soothing and calming melodies.
Please visit us again on your next trip from Florida!

Live life aloft and live well,
Maryana Madorsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
242 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you know this chain, you know what to expect. Everything is hip, but not quite as swanky as W hotels. It's style of a budget. Everything has clean, modern lines, but is quite functional. The lobby has a lot going on. People hang out here, at the bar or cafe, with their laptops, snacking, drinking and hanging out. There is a small area for buying snacks and drinks, which is good as the hotel is in a residential area with no shops within miles. On the other hand, they are loud, so the lobby is not a place to go for peace and quiet. I felt sorry for the front desk staff who had to try to talk and hear the phone over the din. There is no other restaurant at the hotel. The hotel is carved out from a hillside, so many rooms face a forest and rock face. It is trying to be in tune with nature, and succeeds. The neighboring Element even reserves parking spaces closest to the front door for hybrids. Aloft doesn't go quite that far, but rooms have recycling containers, so you get the picture.

The rooms are quite different than your average hotel room, very edgy in style. For example, one wall of the shower is translucent glass facing the bedroom, so the shower gets sunlight but is still private. On the other hand, only a sliding door separates the toilet and shower from the sink part of the bathroom, and there is no place to hang towels or washcloths in the sink area, only over the toilet next door. My king room was quite large, but that's partially because there is no sitting chair, just a basic chair for the desk, no closet or drawers, so missing all those items left a lot of space. Storage space is very, very limited. But there is a long, padded bench under the wall mounted flatscreen TV, where one would normally expect drawers. Go figure. The windows have shades that keep out all the outside light. It's just different. There is a box on the desk with four outlets and video and audio input plugs and jacks. All so very techy. The mini fridge is under the sink and there is a wall mounted safe. There is only a shower, but a good one with a good showerhead. More of the design is functional than over the top.

The pool is in an almost separate building with glass walls. You feel like you are almost outside, a neat feeling. There is a nice area outside the pool for sitting and hanging out.

The location is great if you have a car, as it is right next to the Boston beltway (128) between routes 3 and 2. But it is not near any public transportation. You can drive to the end of some Green line subway lines and park there to get public transportation into Boston. So the suburb hotel prices come at the expected suburb distance from the city. Overall, this chain gives you so much more than other interstate chain hotels, that if you are young at heart and appreciate modern style, this would be a good choice for you. I saw mainly young people and hardly any children at all at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aloft Lexington, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Dutch Brother,

WOW! Thank you for your fantastic review! We are so glad you had the chance to mix and mingle with the people of Aloft Lexington and check out the unique style that defines the Aloft brand, a vision of W brands. We like to call it style at a steal.
See you again soon!

Live life aloft and life well,

Maryana Madorsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Aloft Lexington for 3 nights in May/12. One of the best experiences we've had.

The pros:
- free inroom wifi
- comfortable bed
- modern and fresh decor
- clean
- large lcd tv
- affordable
- Bliss shampoo and soap
- in room safe and mini fridge
- pool table in the lounge area
- close to Boston (approx. 1/2 hour drive)

Cons:
- parking lot fills up pretty quickly

You won't regret staying at the ALoft.

Room Tip: If yo're staing on the main floor, try to get a room with an even number so you're not facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern_Neighbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aloft Lexington, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hello Northern_Neighbour !

We really appreciate your comments on the trip advisor page! We are happy to know that we did not dissapoint and your expectations were met. Your room tip is great as well.

Live life aloft and live well,

Maryana Madorsky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here four nights in August 2011. It was a really hip atmosphere to a hotel. I kinda felt like I was in a bar. Our room was on the 4th floor (or top) which was very quiet, and didn't hear anyone coming or going. All was very quiet up there. Bed was HUGE - and comfortable, Lots of room in bathroom, powder area. We liked the little shelf areas. We had a great stay in Lex.

My hubby and I are quite athletic and enjoyed the little gym and pool area. I did a bit of yoga with the mats on hand, and we both relaxed poolside.

Having said that the only downside was there was no continental breakfast. The breakfast they served was $$$. We ended up walking across the parking lot to the Element to have their continental which was delicious and healthy! So good. Egg white wraps, asparagus, fruit, yogourt and pretty good coffee to boot.

would stay at A Loft again!

Room Tip: Was very quiet on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonctonGal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

On the plus side, this was a great hotel property stay and well worth the rack rate. The decor is very upbeat and the staff was very friendly. There's a full bar, lounge and pool tables in the lobby, which is pretty cool. The indoor pool is a saline solution water and quite refreshing. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are roomy.
On the downside, they need to put a vacuum on the floors a bit more often. Kind of offsetting seeing the line of dirt along the walls that the vac cannot touch.
Otherwise, a great stay and we will stay at other Aloft's in Denver, Portland and other locations we frequent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
188 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The place is nothing fancy but still attractive and clean. The pool was cold and so was the shower at the pool area. I thought Lexington was a charming area, the hotel is surrounded by rocks and woods, I loved that. The rooms have an adequate space, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivonne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.1 mi away
Element Lexington
Element Lexington
#2 of 4 in Lexington
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Hastings Park
The Inn at Hastings Park
#1 of 4 in Lexington
147 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western at Historic Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Concord's Colonial Inn
Concord's Colonial Inn
#2 of 3 in Concord
509 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Lexington

Property: Aloft Lexington
Address: 727 Marrett Rd # A, Lexington, MA 02421-7311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Lexington 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Lexington offers a modern and bold travel experience in a historic Boston suburb, surrounded by revolutionary battlegrounds & quaint New England towns and just 20 min from downtown Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Lexington Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing