We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful historical tour in Massachusettes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Ride

Liberty Ride
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.99*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Liberty Ride: A guided trolley tour of historic Lexington & Concord. Visit the birthplaces of American liberty and 19th century literature! Board a classic trolley for a ride along the scenic Battle Road while your costumed guide recounts the exciting events of April 19, 1775 and the literary legacy that defined American identity and culture. Weekends April and May and daily Memorial Day through October 26, 2014. 90-minute tours leave from the Lexington Visitors Center [1875 Massachusetts Ave] at 10:00 am, 11:30 am, 1 pm and 2:30 pm. Ticket includes valuable discount coupons for Lexington merchants and restaurants. $28 Adults; $12 Students 5-17; Free under 5.Discounts for AAA members, seniors and military.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful historical tour in Massachusettes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

I really enjoyed this tour. This tour took you through Lexiington and Concord. This is a hop on and off tour, which is great because there is so much to see. There is a $25.00 fee, which includes the tour and admission to severel historical homes and taverns. The scenery in the fall was incredibly beautiful. The tour guide Marsha was the best.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank AJCE2GIRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    32
    10
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is a very informative tour of the area but this is not a hop-on/hop-off set up. The entire ride takes 90 minutes and they highly suggest you stay on the bus. The only stop our bus made was at North Bridge outside of Concord. If you do get off they said it would be 90 minutes before another bus arrived. Your ticket does allow you to get into the Buckman tavern and Hancock-Clark house (along with one or two other sites). It ended up being a good overview of the area for us since we only allowed one day for Lexington and Concord. The bottom line is that you need more than one day to experience all the two locations have to offer. If we had skipped this experience, I suppose we could have squeezed in a couple more sites in Lexington. It is too bad there were not more buses for I had hoped that we would be able to get off the bus in Concord for Orchard House etc. It would have saved us the frustration of driving (the traffic was fairly heavy for us country bumpkins) and it would have allowed us to include a couple of additional attractions. Those on the bus were primarily senior citizens.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kayofcny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Liberty Ride - interesting, informative, and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

The Liberty Ride takes you to the key places in Lexington and Concord where American liberty began. One price covers the ride itself and entry to three terrific old colonial houses.

The tour guides are in Revolutionary costume and know their stuff. They bring history alive. They cover a lot of what happened, where it all happened, and they do it in ways that are serious when that's called for but also relaxed at other times.

They gave us a sense of what people fought and died for in Lexington and Concord.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank APSSAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a great value. The tour hits all the important historical spots, including a walk at the Old North Bridge in Concord. From the comfort of the warm bus, you learn about the real story of the Revolutionary War.

Helpful?
1 Thank suzergrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a RIP-OFF!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

$25 apiece to hear a trolley guide race through history as the trolley doesn't even slow down enough for us to take pictures, let alone stop at the sites. We were told by the lady selling tickets at the museum that they strongly advise us to stay on the trolley as it would be 1 1/2 hours before another would come along, but we could go back on our own after the tour (wow, thanks a lot). So, we got to take blurry pictures of the Lexington/Concord sites as they whizzed past us and the only time we were allowed off the trolley was at The Old North Bridge and after a brief narration were scolded to hurry up and get back on the trolley. Geesh! She was nice, but we couldn't get a question in, for the fast spiel...AND she solicited tips at the end of the "tour." We saw plenty of other tour buses stopped with the customers outside taking pictures at the historical sites along the way...but not us! We wished we would've bought an audio tape and drove it ourselves and SAVED a lot of money! At least we could've rewound it when we couldn't understand something. We highly recommend buying a CD tour or some other kind of audio recording and driving it yourself at your own pace.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Harley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTraber, Tourism Committee Chairman at Liberty Ride, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
The Liberty Ride is owned and operated by the Town of Lexington. There are stops at historic houses and sites along the way, and although many customers choose to ride the full 90 minutes, the ticket is good for 48 hours so you can get on and off at the site. While guides can accept tips, they are not allowed to solicity them. From your post it appears that you had an experience not consistent with our standards. Customer satisfaction is important to us. If you would like to contact me at info@libertyride.us I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Ask your email to be forward to the Chairman of the Tourism Committee. We are the governing board for tourism activities in the Town of Lexington and supervise the Liberty Ride. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Ride also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing