We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the Berkshires”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Reviewed September 2, 2012

OK, so full disclosure -- we stayed at this hotel with Wyndham Rewards points free for two nights, so it was good value to start with. My husband, grown son and I came to Lenox for an August wedding, expecting just a place to lay our heads at night. But we were pleasantly surprised to be given a king-size bed, large room with fold-out sofabed and jacuzzi, all spotlessly clean if a little dated. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful, the location is terrific. What more can you ask? The free breakfast was good, with a dedicated waffle maker on hand. He was a little fussy about how you make the waffles, but that's a reasonable exchange for having someone actually staffing the breakfast room. We will certainly return there if we are in the Lenox area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NESunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 391 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Howard Johnson Express Inn is conveniently located in Lenox and reasonably priced, however it is a bit run down and even a little dumpy. The room we staying in was quite large and clean. The beds were not particularly comfortable and the pillows and bedding were terrible. The TV looked pretty ancient, but it did seem to work reasonably well. There are numerous hotels along route 7 in Lenox and next year I plan to try a different one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitchhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband & I stayed 3 nights at the H.J. Express Inn while vacationing in the Berkshires. The room was ready for us upon our arrival at 1 pm. We had a modest motel room with dated furniture, clean linens, comfortable beds, good shower and better than basic amenities (A/C, cable TV, microwave, fridge, free wi-fi). The motel also had a couple of handicap rooms.The daily breakfast was certainly sufficient & we enjoyed it outdoors at the facility's picnic tables, while reading the complimentary newspaper. We also used the heated pool each afternoon after our excursions. The property itself is in a convenient location; Historic Lenox & Tanglewood is less than a 10 minute drive; Pittsfield is also less than 10 minutes away. With plenty of conveniences at a reasonable price here vs the expensive luxury Inns nearby - You decide!

Room Tip: Ask about the king rooms with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monsey-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

At first, I thought "I paid how much for this?" Boy was I wrong! This motel was worth every penny I paid. The room was clean, well stocked and when I requested more towels and an extra blanket, I got them fresh and clean and within minutes :). The wifi was excellent, the pool was clean, the property was meticulous (dude actually sweeping the parking lot!), the lawn furniture was so relaxing and the breakfast was refreshing and filling (except for the man "in charge" of the waffle machine, he was freaked out whenever the waffle machine beeped, but provided good entertainment). The a/c was ice cold (good for me!), the room was spacious and the check in/out was fast. If you are someone who is accustomed to luxury and up to the minute decor, don't bother, but for the frugal traveler, who insists on cleanliness and convenience this place can't be beat! Looking forward to returning in the Fall when the leaves change :)

Room Tip: Non-smoking is truly non-smoking...no left over musty smoke smells in room 112. We stayed on bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The office staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping service was polite and through. This is by no means a luxury hotel, but if you are just looking for a place to sleep, it fits the bill. The free breakfast included, cereal, english muffins, oatmeal, waffles and muffins. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadisonUrbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Howard Johnson Lenox hotel is little beauty in Berkshire County of Massachusetts. View of Berkshire Mountains around the hotel and garden area. I stayed here in handicap room with my husband and had no problem. We were able to easily access all the areas. Microwave and fridge in the room was big relief. AC and internet worked fine. Housekeeping staff did room cleaning time to time. Navin – the guy who manages this hotel is thorough gentleman and soft spoken. This is less pricey and well managed hotel run by happy family.

Room Tip: We liked rooms with mountain view. Rooms are with garden view also not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waltersgosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We took a motorcycle trip from Florida to Boston this was one of our stops along the way. We initially were placed in room 114. Since it was a warm day we turned on the A/C when we entered the room. It sounded like a diesel truck running. It was an old unit so we tried to see if it was just the casing or cover but neither seemed to be the cause. When the compressor shut off the sound would stop. There were also flies in the room and it had a musty smell to it. We gave the A/C a half hour or so to see if it would quiet down but it didn't. I asked the hotel clerk if we could get another room explaining about the A/C noise. He told me he has had no complaints and we need to adjust the front cover of the A/C and it would quiet down. I explained to him that we tried that and it did not improve. So after much pushing he acquiesced and gave us another room. We ended up in room 104. The A/C unit was newer and much quieter. There were no flies or bad smells. Good size room with an ok bed. There were not enough pillows or blankets. The bathroom was small but clean. The TV was old but large and functioning. The pool was closed and we could see the liner was all torn up so it didn't look like it had been open in a long time yet the billboard out front still advertised a pool. It also advertised HBO but the HBO was not working.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.1 mi away
Wagon Wheel Motel
Wagon Wheel Motel
#11 of 16 in Lenox
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox

Address: 462 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range: $60 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Lenox features Suite Rooms, Jacuzzi Suites, 2 Queen Bed Room, 1 King Bed Wheelchair accessible room, 1 Queen Bed Room, Two Double Bed room, 1 King Bed Room, Non Smoking and Smoking Rooms. Hotel Amenities are Outdoor Pool, Free Breakfast, Free High Speed wireless internet, Free Parking, Truck/Bus Parking, Cable with HBO. Every room has air condition, High Speed wireless Internet, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, Iron and Ironing Board. Extra amenities includes ice machines, Extra bed ($10.00), Crib ( $ 10.00), safe deposit box ($ 1.50), local phone, AM/FM radios/ Alarm Clocks. Hotel is minutes away from Mass Pike (Exit-2) and conveniently located on Routes 20 & 7 in Lenox, Massachusetts. Visit nearby museums, theaters, ski areas (Jiminy Peak & Brodie Mountain), cross-country skiing, shopping stores, scenic bike routes, mountain biking trails and hiking trails (including Appalachian Trail & Taconic ) while staying at Howard Johnson Express Inn Hotels in Lenox MA. Tanglewood is only 5.6 miles from this Howard Johnson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Hotel Lenox
Lenox Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing