We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad points about our stay”
Review of Yankee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yankee Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good and bad points about our stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed at the Yankee Inn September 13th-16th 2010 with my wife and another couple. We had a Firespa Suite with four poster bed and jacuzzi tub. The bed was fine, very comfortable and king sized so we slept very well. The jacuzzi tub was nice, but we didn't use the water jets as they were very noisy, defeating the point of relaxing in the tub.
The rest of the room was disappointing, with dated and tired looking furniture. The fridge in the corner of the room had a creaky door and looked out of place. The microwave sat on top of it had a short cable that didn't reach to the extension cable on the floor next to the fridge, so had to be lifted off to use it. The coffee maker sitting on top of the microwave also had a short cable and had to be moved to the desk on the other side of the room.
The room our friends had was a standard double which was cramped. They had a smaller fridge also with a microwave on top, but due to lack of space the microwave was turned sideways. Overall impression was that electrical items were dumped in the rooms with little thought.
Other aspects of the hotel were much better, with a good breakfast included every morning and a nice indoor pool.
The staff were average, and we found them unsure of what they were doing. I paid using a prepaid credit card (visa cash passport) with no problems, but our friends wanted to pay by cash. This was treated as an unusual request, and the receptionist asked for a credit card for incidentals. They didn't have a credit card with them, only a debit card so were told (we think, it wasn't explained well) that $50 a day would be charged to the card and refunded at the end of the stay. To prevent further confusion I handed over my regular credit card for any additional charges and our friends asked to pay with cash on checkout. When they came to checkout the full amount had been charged to my credit card, so a refund had to be issued before they paid with cash. Not what we expected from staff dealing with customers every day.
Location wise the hotel is well situated to see the sights and towns of the Berkshire's, with the Prime outlets nearby at Lee for some shopping bargains. There are reasonable restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, and better ones a short drive away. The restaurant in the hotel is seasonal and wasn't open during our stay.
Having stayed at two excellent hotels immediately before the Yankee Inn we felt it was average, let down by seemingly inexperienced staff and lack of thought in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulhuntterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtoole, Owner at Yankee Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We are currently updating the amenities and decor of our property, and the Firespa (fireplace jacuzzi suites) are a top priority.
We apologize for your experience at the front desk , this is unacceptable as we take customer service very seriously. In the future we will make sure that all members of staff will be absolutely clear on both understanding and explaining our cash policy.

*To clarify we do not have a restaurant on premises. We do, however, have a bar/lounge that is currently open Friday and Saturday nights.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Larry Toole, GM & the Toole family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    214
    73
    20
    18
See reviews for
166
227
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Desperately needs to be updated. The color scheme in our room used 4 different shades of green ; talk about poor taste in decorating, and very old-style furniture. Our carpet was rippled from side to side. We had 2 reclining chairs in our room, maybe from the 1970's, that were pink and dirty looking. The price was too high for the caliber of this place. The breakfast room used paper on the tables and there was no TV in the Breakfast Room. Come on Yankee....get with the program.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtoole, Owner at Yankee Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Kelsey,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are presently implementing renovations to amend issues with our decor and amenities. Since your stay we have added a TV in the breakfast room and new tables that no longer require tablecloths. Many more improvements in rooms as well as our common areas are in progress. We do hope that you will consider a return visit so that you can experience the new and improved Yankee Inn!
Thank you,
-Larry Toole, GM. & the Toole family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I stayed at the Yankee Inn over the weekend of September 11-12 for a girls' getaway weekend. We got a great rate of $145 per night which is really cheap for any lodging in Lenox. The Inn is part hotel/part motor lodge and is located on a busy route about 10 minutes from downtown Lenox. We stayed in the main building inside the hotel part. The staff at the front desk were really accomodating. We arrived around lunchtime and even though we were several hours earlier than check-in, they let us check-in early. The room was really nice with two queen beds and a nice balcony that faced the back of the building, with a partial view of a pond and another hotel building. The room and bathroom were both very clean. Breakfast was included in the room rate and included omelets, make-your-own-waffles, pastries, toast and bagels, fruit, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee and fruit juice. The breakfast room was pleasant with many large windows. The hotel has free WIFI although the connection was a bit slow - but it was free so no complaints here. They also have a computer in the lobby for guests to use.

The front desk staff was very helpful to us in answering our questions of what to do in the Berkshires.

I thought the Yankee Inn was a good value for the money. Clean, good free breakfast, and very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFrogBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Nice place - we were in the main building in the back of the motel where it was nice and quiet.
Continental breakfast was fresh with lots of items to choose from. I only wish they would have taken the "paper" off the tables and wiped them down.
Good value.
We were in a King room with a fireplace, but it didn't work - we did not notify the desk because it really did not matter to us in September (we were only trying it out).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This hotel is located about 5 minutes drive to the quaint part of Lenox and about 10 minutes to Stockbridge. We had adjoining king bed rooms on the second floor of the main building, overlooking the back of the property. The room was spacious, clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The desk clerk was extremely helpful in providing local information. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The free breakfast was served in a room on the 2nd floor, and included bagels, cold cereal, juice, coffee and make your own waffles. My only complaint is the breakfast room was noisy. We were only here for one night, but our experience was good and we would return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocknroll52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We found the room was well appointed; clean and spacious. When service/questions were requested be it added towel or internet connections, they were immediately taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharp789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We have been staying at Yankee Inn during trips to MA for a number of years. Our top reasons for returning to their place: friendly, helpful staff, rooms with 'fridge (to store picnic goodies & leftovers) & microwave, balcony or patio spaces for each room in the main building, generous continental breakfast that includes made to order omelets on weekends, pools in and outdoors, short drive to Tanglewood; close to Bosquet for winter travelers.
We always request rooms in the Main Building, as we enjoy sitting on the balcony or patio with morning coffee and newspaper or book. Front Desk Staff always personable and willing to help with ideas for restaurants and things to do. Very helpful housekeeping staff, too. Our favorite rooms have generous spaces with easy chair, desk & chair in addition to entertainment unit. WiFi usually not a problem in main bldg, and they have a computer with constant access in the Lobby for use by anyone staying there. Whole place being renovated, but not obtrusively during our stays. Easy place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibraryWoman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Inn

Property: Yankee Inn
Address: 461 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lenox
#3 Family Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yankee Inn is a landmark hotel in the beautifully serene Berkshire Hills of Lenox, MA. The Yankee Inn is cozy and private enough for a romantic getaway, but also accommodating and accessible enough for a family vacation. Our staff works above and beyond to cater to your needs and provide the exact experience you want. The Main Building houses our lobby, cocktail lounge, indoor pool and guest rooms, which included original and newly built hotel rooms. Our South Building maintains the motel style of the original motor lodge, housing smaller and more economical rooms. We provide a complimentary breakfast every morning, leaving you more time to spend skiing or sightseeing. You can also book an in-room massage for ultimate relaxation. Whatever your vacation desires are, we can help you plan the perfect stay. Yankee Inn is your next vacation destination. Book a room with us today and let's get started planning your perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Yankee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing