We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, cozy with outstanding customer service”
Review of Yankee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yankee Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
long island, new york
Level Contributor
126 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“clean, cozy with outstanding customer service”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was my first time as a guest at the Yankee Inn in Lenox MA. The property is located on RT 7 in lenox and is close to all restaurants, shopping and other tourist attractions. The inn itself is clean and country cozy. My room included a double bed, fridge, flat screen tv and full bathroom. It was so clean you could eat off the floor. The room has hardwood oak flooring with a beautiful carpet runner, The free wifi worked perfectly. The indoor pool/hot tub was just what I needed at the end of a busy day. The continental breakfast has everything to get you started for the day. As for customer service the Yankee Inn wrote the book on how to treat the guest. Samantha was wonderful she had an answer for any question she truly exuded warmth and caring for the customer. This is now my go to lodging facility in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amishboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    208
    70
    20
    18
See reviews for
161
222
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holtsville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Room was clean,Bed comfortable,Had a problem with the wireless internet.Called front desk and the young lady said she would reset the router.Not only did she do that but without having to she came across the property to my room and stayed untuil she saw i was hooked up She didnt have to.The continental breakfast was good.On weekemds the also have made to order omlets.Locationis perfect .within 15-20 minutes to everything

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here last weekend to attend a concert at Tanglewood and make it a mini get-a-way after sending child off to college. Staff at the front desk were very pleasant. Noticed comings and goings and commented "have a good time." Room was nice- in main building with king bed and gas fireplace. Had potential but the carpet was old, worn with actuals holes in it. Balcony over looked the roof of pool. Fireplace would have been cool at another time of the year but it was a hot, humid day and it throws off far more heat than I would have guessed. Rooms seemed dark and bathroom shower had a hand held, adjustable spray showerhead but most of the water came out of spout on tub. Very difficult to regulate flow. Never mentioned the inclusive breakfast times at check- in and literature in room had two different times and therefore we ended up missing it. Location to Lenox was fine...10 minutes but there are multiple bed and breakfasts in town that I would look at next time. Nice but could use a cosmetic facelift but very over priced for what you got. Pleasant Valley Sancuary near by was nice way to start the morning with a hike. On main strip leaving Lenox where track malls were. Close to Lenox, Stockbridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kczajka912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here with our two grandsons, ages four and six. It was perfect for them and us. Our room opened on the back to a big green lawn. Being city kids this was a big treat for them and us, since running around etc. kept them happy and we could relax. As mentioned by others the staff is very welcoming and the breakfast plentiful. It was perfect for the two nights we stayed there. We spent a lot of time actually at the motel since the pool was something we all enjoyed.
I would definitely recommend staying here for a reasonably priced option in this area.

Room Tip: If you would like a room with a lawn like we had mention that preference when booking. Not all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredonia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The front desk was so wonderful when I had a personal emergency, it pains me to give them a so-so review for the room itself. We were located in the older part of the hotel (which looks quite run down)- very basic room but clean. We were there for a mini-vacation and wanted something a little less than a typical highway motel, but that is what the Yankee Inn turned out to be. I'd look for a cheaper motel along Pittsfield Road but I'd go back there for the attention I got from the lovely young women at the front desk.

Room Tip: If you're going for the sightseeing, waterfalls, or concerts and not spending much time in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I knew this when booking but don't want people to think that you're getting a cozy inn with a bell at the front desk to summon the little old innkeeper. This my friend, is a glorified motel, maybe even a small hotel. It has ALL the amenities one would need including an indoor and outdoor pool, pretty extensive continental breakfast and even a lounge for a night cap. We stayed in the main building (the other buildings have outside entrances and are more motel like). The rooms are classic motel style with a mini fridge, decent sized for two, might be a little crowded for a family of four. The beds were comfortable and pillows fluffy and it was nice that we had a balcony, although are view was a huge unpleasant looking shed. We were there for one night to attend a concert at Tangelwood (which is in great proximity) so it really didn't bother us. Continental breakfast, which is included in the price is served every morning and it was a pretty decent spread of the normal cereals, danishes, bread and morning beverages (NOT including mimosas and bloody marys) and even a waffle making station. It was very convenient and it was served in a good space. The best part of this motel was the staff. People at the front desk were overly friendly and courteous and upon 10 minutes after entering our room we even got a phone call from the front desk making sure everything was fine with the room. I've stayed at Fairmonts and Four Seasons and have NEVER received this follow up phone call. It was great customer service, set the tone and really made me feel that IF something had been broken or unpleasant, the problem would have been remedied immediately. I would absolutely recommend this place, especially for families. Although the website is a bit misleading, making the place seem more cozy and aesthetically pleasing like an inn, we were still pleasantly surprised with our stay at this classy motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
405 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I attended corporate board of director meetings at the Cranwell, and due to overbooking there, three team members were booked into the Yankee Inn including myself. We didn't spend much time there as we went from board presentations to the CEO's house for dinner in Richmond, MA. The hotel had a 'distrinctive' worn look and the rest of the place was consistent. The beds were semi-comfortable, the woodwork worn, carpet needs changing soon, etc. Ok in a pinch, but not high on my return list for sure. Relatively inexpensive as compared to other area hotels, so if you are on a budget, this is the hotel for you - no frills, semi-comfortable and just acceptable/ok.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end as the sound proofing is not that great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEBAY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Inn

Property: Yankee Inn
Address: 461 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lenox
#3 Family Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yankee Inn is a landmark hotel in the beautifully serene Berkshire Hills of Lenox, MA. The Yankee Inn is cozy and private enough for a romantic getaway, but also accommodating and accessible enough for a family vacation. Our staff works above and beyond to cater to your needs and provide the exact experience you want. The Main Building houses our lobby, cocktail lounge, indoor pool and guest rooms, which included original and newly built hotel rooms. Our South Building maintains the motel style of the original motor lodge, housing smaller and more economical rooms. We provide a complimentary breakfast every morning, leaving you more time to spend skiing or sightseeing. You can also book an in-room massage for ultimate relaxation. Whatever your vacation desires are, we can help you plan the perfect stay. Yankee Inn is your next vacation destination. Book a room with us today and let's get started planning your perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Yankee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing