We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, mediocre room, forgettable breakfast”
Review of Yankee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yankee Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Rockport, ME
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, mediocre room, forgettable breakfast”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Front desk staff was very pleasant on arrival, gave me a free upgrade to a better room. Suggested local restaurants for dinner, and provided a discount coupon. Room was spacious and fairly comfortable. Bathroom was dated, and shower had a large amount of water trapped under the tub! Felt like I was standing on a raft. After showering, some of the water under the tub was forced out onto the floor, leading to a minor flood. Very odd situation. Breakfast was adequate at best, typically forgettable hotel continental breakfast. Internet connection worked well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 04856Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    208
    70
    20
    18
See reviews for
161
223
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Yankee Inn for a weekend getaway in April 2012. The place is not fancy, but it is very pleasant and clean, and the price is reasonable. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Our room had a gas fireplace, which we didn't use since it was warm during our visit, and a balcony. We really enjoyed the indoor heated pool, and used it both nights of our visit. The hotel is very well located on Pittsfield Rd (Route 7), so you are on a major road in the Berkshires and close to pretty much everything in the area. We would definitely recommend the Yankee Inn, especially if you are looking to save some money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We chose the Yankee Inn based on other TripAdvisor reviews, and were very pleased with our two night stay. Located in Lenox, it was central to our needs. Just a short drive to Pittsfield or Lee for shopping, and, of course, the Norman Rockwell Museum. We stayed in a King bed room with a fireplace and balcony on the third floor of the main building, overlooking the pond and mountains. The room was very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have encountered in our travels. Front desk staff were very courteous and most helpful in providing information about the local and surrounding area's dining and sightseeing locations. Given their reasonable rates, and great customer service, the Yankee Inn is clearly the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RetiredVetzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

On par with a Hampton Inn but as the Hampton Inn's seem to be aging, this hotel is staying crisply clean. We stayed in the HOTEL portion and not the motel which I cannot comment upon. Decor: typical, although the furnishings are a darker wood and not modern, it all looks as if it was purchased recently. (that is how impressed I am with the maintenance.) The room has a traditional tv cabinet and not a flat screen. The breakfast area, unlike a Hampton Inn, is not on the main floor but on the room floors in a large room set up exclusively as the eating room.

Positives: Friendly staff, clean, omelets made while you wait.
Negatives: pool smell when you enter the building, no enlargement mirror in bathroom, Poor water pressure (hand held shower helps make up for it so you can actually rinse the shampoo out of your hair.)

I was told that the rooms are about to be updated.

Room Tip: the hallways have a door to enter them. The elevator is on the outside of that door but, I imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My sister and I stayed on 3/10/2012 overnight and we were extremely happy. The staff on the desk were very helpful and polite. The check-in process was quick. The indoor pool and hot tub were great. The room we stayed in was in the main hotel and was very bright, clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was very good with many choices and the breakfast staff was very cheerful. The desk staff in the morning also was very cheerful and I highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be staying again in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building so we did not have to go outside of the building to get to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barb822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We booked a last-minute overnight the beginning of March. Rooms were very clean and updated. Had a very comfortable King with a fireplace, spacious bathroom and small deck. Add the pool, hot tub and other amenities and you couldn't ask for anything more for $119/nt. The free continental breakfast was quite elaborate with a made to order omlette station, belgium waffle machine, plus the normal bagels, muffins, cereals, etc. The night was topped-off in the lounge with $8 top-shelf martinis served up by a wonderful bartender named Lucille.
The Inn is located just 15 minutes from several towns offering fine dinning, shopping, cultural events, skiing, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent one night in September 2011. The price was great ($77 for two people). Nothing fancy but the room, reception, and grounds were clean and neat. Great choice for anyone needing a good place to lay your head for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Inn

Property: Yankee Inn
Address: 461 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lenox
#3 Family Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yankee Inn is a landmark hotel in the beautifully serene Berkshire Hills of Lenox, MA. The Yankee Inn is cozy and private enough for a romantic getaway, but also accommodating and accessible enough for a family vacation. Our staff works above and beyond to cater to your needs and provide the exact experience you want. The Main Building houses our lobby, cocktail lounge, indoor pool and guest rooms, which included original and newly built hotel rooms. Our South Building maintains the motel style of the original motor lodge, housing smaller and more economical rooms. We provide a complimentary breakfast every morning, leaving you more time to spend skiing or sightseeing. You can also book an in-room massage for ultimate relaxation. Whatever your vacation desires are, we can help you plan the perfect stay. Yankee Inn is your next vacation destination. Book a room with us today and let's get started planning your perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Yankee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing