We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
117
8
9
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
8
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomown private villaitalian palacewedding giftbeautiful hotelhotel experiencecircular drivemain restaurantwine list isfavorite hotellamb chopsgilded agespecial thankswarmer monthssoaking tubdowntown lenoxgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 141 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2017

This is our third review of Wheatleigh and our fourth stay here. We just can't get this place out of our system. Wheatleigh is meant for relaxation. It is romantic. It is about celebrating with the one you love. Dinner is served in the country's most unique dining room - a glassed in outside wing of an Italian palazzo. Yes you are staying in what was built as an Italian palace and now holds 19 rooms. The dining room projects into the Bershires. It is a picture perfect view of complete tranquility. The four course dining menu is a 2 1/2 hour event of pure bliss. Service is impeccable; the wine list is second to none. The food arouses the senses. You also have the choice of a simpler meal in the Library. You are pampered by the luxurious rooms and superior housekeeping. The best linens, towels, and products are used. It is like you have your own private villa. Service is exceptional, reflecting true hospitality, but never intrusive. There is much to do in the area with some picturesque towns, some great museums, a short walk to Tanglewood, or a massage outside under a tree. But it is truly about getting away and relaxing and letting the cares of the world slip by and being with the one you love. I will never forget the warmth of the candle glow dancing off my wife's face at dinner. Even though we have been here many times, we spent a good bit of time carefully exploring every bit of this property inside and out and taking loads of pictures. Wheatleigh does this to you. For an architecture nut and for one who appreciates the classics you can't beat this place.Yes it is very expensive but it is also a completely unique experience.

Room Tip: A second floor view overlooking the back area of the property.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Situated on a long winding road that leads to an Italianate mansion with a circular drive and a fountain to boot. Very elegant and the staff is polite and always there. We had lunch in the library facing the rear of the building . Delicious lamb chops and swordfish were our entrees, expertly prepared. Service was excellent. French press coffee was asked for and provided. We sat in a green leather banquet and felt very comfortable.Very elegant surroundings so I am sure the rooms befit the ambience.

Room Tip: Did not stay.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lfbmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

We were passing through Lenox and read about the history of the Wheatleigh, called and made a dinner reservation for the library. We first had a cocktail in the 'backyard ' and then to the less formal library for dinner. The service was impeccable and world class, the food, we both enjoyed a fish dish was perfect. Don't miss this place, or better yet, stay there , it's a world class facility, with historic preservation value.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Yes it is expensive. Yes it is out of the way. Yes it is small. Yes it is on the quiet side. But if you are looking for a get away and a true luxury experience, the Wheatleigh delivers. The service is outstanding from before you get there until you leave. The staff is beyond gracious and helpful. The hotel itself is an old estate converted to a hotel. The grounds are beautiful and everything about the place gives off a relaxing, you're away from it all vibe. Rooms are well appointed and the lobby and back patio are great placed for a drink or cup of coffee. If I had one little (tiny) complaint is that is can be a little noisy first thing in the morning because of the old creaky floors and non-modern insulation. We could hear the "background" music and people moving about but we were in a room above the kitchen/restaurant area.

A great place and I expect we will be back when the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: The views out the back are wonderful.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Movedaroundalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Going to Tanglewood was on the bucket list. Went for a great visit in mid August and stayed at Wheatleigh. This 19 room super resort has exceptional rooms, wonderful bar service and delightful main dining....we tried it all. Exceptional staff, great history....the mansion was built as a wedding present for the daughter of a wealthy NYC financier in the late 1800s....and has been thoroughly and thoughtfully modernized throughout. It sits on 25 acres in beautiful Lenox with wonderful gardens designed by Olmstead (Central Park). We will return. Expensive....but worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the building are premium....and worth it for the views. Large bedroom, bathroom and sitting areas.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews