We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facility for business meeting and entertaining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worceter, MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent facility for business meeting and entertaining”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We wanted a facility for a day and a half meeting with our clients. We also wanted to provide an atmosphere where they would feel comfortable getting to know one another and enjoying themselves. Cranwell was the perfect fit. Meeting room was quiet, clean, comfortable and well set up. They were very accommodating when one of our pieces of equipment was out of batteries. It was an unusual battery size and without even blinking they went offsite and got the battery replacement. Food was great, rooms were very comfortable and our guests loved the golf course. Highly recommend this facility for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidneyXVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    197
    88
    74
    38
See reviews for
166
329
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I recommend NOT going to this resort. I had to cancel my upcoming plans and the snotty reservations agent informed me that I would be charged $25 for cancelling. Even though I cancelled weeks in advance of the reservation...

In this economy, it is absolutely ludicrous to make-up ridiculous charges. Doesn't Cranwell realize that I will never want to go to this resort in the future because of such a petty practice? They just lost a customer/fan over $25. What a ridiculous price to pay when customer loyalty is at a premium for any resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golf2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranwellMktg, Marketing Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
We are sorry you are upset about our Cancellation Policy. Such policies are common practice in the hotel industry and we do notify guests of the policy in advance of taking a reservation. The policy is stated in writing on our website, listed two times on our Online Reservation System, and in both our printed and electronic confirmation letters. Additionally, our phone reservationists verbally explain the policy. We charge the fee to cover the administrative costs to process your reservation, which include the time of our reservations staff, applicable credit card fees, printing and stationary expenses. We would be happy to apply this fee toward your next overnight stay with us. We do value your loyalty and hope you will reconsider visiting our resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

My girlfriends and I booked a weekend at the Cranwell in order to have a relaxing fun filled weekend at a luxurious hotel and spa. Well, the joke was on us. We knew right away when we walked by the motel style pool complete with blue painted asphalt surround and a beaten up picket fence that our weekend was going to be anything but luxurious.

Our rooms were located in the off- site mini condo style buildings right near the spa. For $440.00 per night we were appalled. The room looked like a cheap beach house rental that you would crash in with a bunch of friends when you were young and broke- not a $440.00/night room. In addition to the outdated furnishings and incredibly uncomfortable pull out sleeper sofa, the towels and sheets were as rough as sandpaper.

When we went to the spa for our services, we were greeted by a very nice employee (all of the employees were very lovely) however, upon entering the spa, we realized that there was going to be very little zen happening. It looked incredibly institutional complete with drab colored walls, washed out white tile, depressing lighting, etc. The limited services offered were O.K. -nothing great, but not that bad, which is not acceptable when you check into a resort that bills itself as a top rated, luxury spa. The message that I booked was pleasant-I really liked the message therapist and she knew what she was doing. I also got a spa pedicure. I just have to say that the $25 pedicure I get in Boston beats the one I received at the Cranwell by a landslide. There was absolutely nothing $50 worth that happened to my feet. The room where we had our spa lunch was equally depressing and looked like a geriatric function hall. The spa lunch consisted of cafeteria style food, dried out salmon and a number of other dishes that looked unappealing.

Needless to say, we have decided that our next spa getaway will not be happening at the Cranwell resort and Spa.

One more note...The view from our property would have been wonderful had it not been obstructed by the new construction housing community built all along the perimeter of the property.

Overall, I wish we could get our money back. Two thumbs down.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BostonSpaseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranwellMktg, Marketing Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry you and your girlfriends had an experience that did not meet your expectations. We continuously update guest accommodations to maintain our facilities and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to host your next visit to the Berkshires and would be happy to suggest other accommodations on property that might be better suited to your individual needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

The Cranwell Resort and Spa has always provided us with an exceptional stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating -- always seeking to make things better. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are complete with all of the amenities.

The chef, Al, who is superb at the Sunday brunch, will be leaving soon. If you want an incredible omelet made, with a friendly smile, go visit now!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBAmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Stayed at Cranwell as birthday present from my girlfriend. Although nice, seemed to miss a few things around the edges. Room was nice and large, but nothing special. Golf course the same, nice but a little rough around the edges. Spa was great, but pretty booked full due to weddings (which seem to happen alot). Breafast was good, but dinner was overpriced and not that great and the room looked like it was out of the 50's and catered to an older crowd.

All in all an ok place, but not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranwellMktg, Marketing Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and greatly appreciate your feedback. We are continuously updating the furnishings in our guest accommodations, as well as making golf course enhancements to improve our guest experience. In fact, we completed an extensive refurbishment of our guest rooms on May 25th of this year. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience at the Spa at Cranwell. It is quite popular on weekends with all guest types; leisure visitors, weddings, and golfers, to name a few. We have shared your comments about dinner with our Executive Chef so that he may look into the matter. We do hope to host your next visit to the Berkshires and wish you a very Happy Birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel due to a gift certificate from a family member. What a wonderful surprise to find this magnificent jewel nestled in the Berkshires. Although we could not stay in the mansion, our room in Olmsted Manor was large, clean and beautifully appointed. Our special dinner in the Wyndhurst Dining Room was top quality and prepared to perfection. I would definitely recommend the Cranwell for a get-a-way that is a welcome respite from the mundane of daily living. Whether you play golf, or not, (we do not) the grounds, spa and pool are still worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Just visited the Cranwell resort with a small group of 10 people. The staff at the Cranwell couldn't have been more accomodating. From planning to departure, the staff was very attentiive to our needs and ensured we enjoyed our stay. The food was outstanding, along with the service. Some in our group used the spa and some the golf course. Both experiences were first class! Most in our group stayed in the Founders Cottage and were more than pleased with the accomodations. Very nicely appointed.
If you have a group event planned, I'd recommend you check-out the Cranwell Resort. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
130 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing