We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We have been going to the Cranwell for years and have NEVER had anything but a fabulous stay! Additionally, our whole family meets there for their spectacular Thanksgiving feast and it has become a family tradition. Now friends join us as well and our group is steadily growing. The staff are like family and cater to your every whim. Everything is upscale and spotless. Wish I were there right now!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsychiatricRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 817 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2009

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights at the Cranwell, and had a wonderful time. I was concerned, given some of the negative reviews posted on Tripadvisor. We had no negative experiences at all. The place was beautiful. The grounds were gorgeous. Our large room was spotlessly cleaned. All the employees seemed to go out of their way to be friendly, welcoming and gracious. The spa facilities were stunning. We plan on coming back again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

My boyfriend and I purchased the Romance and Relaxation package and stayed in a suite in the Mansion. The mansion and our suite were beautiful and had an old world charm. We quickly realized that our enjoyment of the resort/spa would mostly depend on our ability to make the most of what Cranwell has to offer. It is very quiet and the staff is pleasant. If you need anything, all you have to do is ask. I think a lot of the negative reviewers expected everything to be handed to them, but it is really up to you to spend your time and resources the way you choose to.

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and it was snowing. They have shuttles to take you to any of the buildings, should you need it and we never had to wait for one to arrive. We ate dinner at Sloane's Tavern, which is an English pub. This is definitely a family restaurant and many families were dining when we arrived. The food was great, and it's important to note that ALL of the restaurants on the premises offer a "Spa" choice on their menus, for those who wish to be healthy on their trip. After we ate, we took a shuttle to the Spa to check it out. We booked our Swedish massages for 12pm the next day.

In the morning, we had a fabulous breakfast in the mansion. At noon, we headed to the spa for our massages. We had full use of the indoor pool(children are allowed, for those of you who care, but are not allowed in any other parts of the spa unless they are over 16 years old). After our wonderful massages(they were really great!), we separated and each went to the whirlpools, sauna and steam rooms. These are separated into male and female areas. There is also a dimly lit lounge area with fireplaces, coffee, tea and water and comfortable seating for relaxation. The locker rooms were very accommodating and had absolutely anything you need! The lockers have digital locks, the showers have shampoo/conditioner, deodorants, hair products amongst many other amenities.

We ended up spending 4 hours at the spa that day. We worked out, got massages, swam, sat in the whirlpools, sauna and steam rooms. When we left the spa to go back to our room, we were so relaxed!!!

Part of our package included dinner in the mansion. It was very private and we got the best seats in the room, and watched the sunset. We dressed up and the wait staff was wonderful. I have to say, the food wasn't as good as we had expected it to be. Our steaks were overcooked, but it really was a very pleasant dining experience.

The next morning, we went back and made full use of the spa once again. We did not want to leave!!! I highly recommend visiting this resort, especially during the off season. It was private, pleasant and quiet. We will definitely be back!!

Overall Rating: 9
Atmosphere: 9 - Old world charm, beautiful
Staff: 10 - Wonderful, very friendly and accommodating
Food: 7 - Ok
Spa: 10 - Extremely relaxing, quiet

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Shauna079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We are repeat visitors to The Cranwell but after our most recent experience (we just returned home today), I just had to write a review. In these tough economic times, it's obvious that The Cranwell is doing all they can to make their guests feel welcome and happy in every way. We stayed with our 3 young children and were thrilled to see the activities planned for families like ours. From the fabulous pool (complete with floaties and noodles for the kids) & spa amenities (for the adults), the bonfire and make your own smores each evening, the family movies and afternoon hot chocolate and cookies - their efforts to go the extra mile did not go unnoticed. The staff could not do enough for us and served with a smile. A terrific getaway!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mcvmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My fiance and I just recently came back from an amazing weekend at Cranwell and felt the need to comment. I had previously been on this site and was a little weary about staying here but since the comments were from 2006, I figured I would give it a chance. The grounds were beautiful. Peaceful and perfect. The spa was lovely. I had a great massage and facial. We stayed in the mansion and really enjoyed our room. For us, the best part was the food. It was amazing! We are self proclaimed foodies, so we were definitely extra excited about the food and wine! Overall, it was a great, romantic, peaceful weekend getaway that I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelswithpugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

I wish that prior to our visit I had read the reviews here going back about a year - people who described this place as campus-like and glorified motel were right. I should say that we are not golfers, so perhaps golfing at this place is great. But without golf, it really is a stretch to call this a "resort". Rather, it's a collection of buildings located on the same property. There is zero resort feel. Our cottage was located behind some other buidlings, so we just drove up to it and parked in front like we would at a motel. And no, the parking lot was not particularly charming. Our room was ok, we did not have issues with dirty linens others have mentioned. The housekeeping staff was terrible, the worst we have enountered in a long time. They acted as if they were in the midst of a labor dispute with management and were taking their anger out on guests while barely doing any work. Our room was cleaned very poorly. I mentioned this to the front desk, and while they listened politely, they could not have cared less. Nothing was done and nothing changed. Breakfast was just ok - the buffet certainly should be better, with fresher pastries and better selection of food, for what they charge. The first time we went to breakfast the weather was absolutely beautiful and we mentioned to the hostess how it would be great to have breakfast outside, where they actually have tables and chairs. She responded that the outside area is used for special events (such as weddings) and not for hotel guests. This sums up their attitude towards their guests - they really don't care what kind of an experience you have and will not do one thing to make it better.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dagny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Just got back from Cranwell. Golf course is great but the rest of the resort leaves MUCH to be desired. Started with room not being ready as promised, then had directions drawn so WE could bring our own luggage to the correct cottage (no bellman). The rooms are dimly lit. Room service was brought in a plastic shopping bag with no utensils or napkins. The high end restaurant service was extremely slow and the food was no better than fair. The breakfast wait staff disappear and service was just above a stand still every day we ate there. You have to flag them down just to get coffee or juice. Very poor. One day we sat with members of the resort and even they complained how bad things have gotten since the resort staffing was reduced.

There are some places to sight see and the resort has a great golf course. Those things in and of itself is NOT enough to stay at this resort EVER again!

4 star resort? In their dreams!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank axios50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
270 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: $160 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing