We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, great service and an excellent spa treatment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Arlington, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great room, great service and an excellent spa treatment!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had a great short stay at the Cranwell in late september. A friend and I wanted a nearby vacation that was a little active and a little relaxing, this did the trick. Lenox was a little sleep for two single women, but we were then forced to relax.

The room we stayed in at the Carriage House was great - high ceilings, clean and comfortable beds, with a nice size bathroom. Always important to me is function - there were plenty of outlets, easy to access wireless and a fair amount of storage space. The small fridge allowed us to have drinks and snacks in the room.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful on the staff - especially in the spa and the onsite tavern. All in all great stay!

Room Tip: Carriage Room - 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    192
    81
    71
    36
See reviews for
158
318
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Metro West Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went here for a one night stay with my son for an event at Tanglewood. Booked this through their website and took the "Cultural Package". Was greeted warmly at reception and had no problems with the booking through check-in. We were given a room in the carriage house - which is a completely modern facility and the room was large, clean and well within expectations for the rate. As part of the "cultural package", you are allowed up to $20.00 a day in food/beverages which seems like an attempt to get people to spend more on their stay since there are very few things that cost less than $20 at this place. I did get to use the benefit, as thankfully the bar in the main house was still open after the event. Unfortunately I had to hunt through the mansion after waiting at least 10 min at the bar to find the bartender who had gone on walkabout presumably thinking there were no more customers that would arrive so late in the evening (11'ish). We were told the kitchen would be open until 11 - alas it was not, and our request for food was denied. Some nice folks at the bar shared their wings and fries with us overhearing our refusal of service. We returned in the morning for breakfast - which was good enough and service was excellent. Here's the weird part - at checkout, there was a mysterious $20 charge *added* to my bill. The agent at the front desk could not adequately explain to me why it was there or what it was for. I was told that only the bookkeeper could explain, who was not available. She seemed not to comprehend my surprise nor empathetic to my concerns. After going back and forth, she eventually took the charge off my bill, but this left a decidedly poor impression. There's few things I dislike more when checking out than finding inexplicable charges on my bill. This property would do well to simplify and streamline - don't give away things that people may or may not use, and don't add charges that aren't clearly explained prior to check-in. Otherwise, overall quality was as one would expect at a high(er) end resort such as this. I would probably go back, but would definitely make sure that all terms, conditions and operating hours were well documented and explained prior to checking in - and suggest you do the same...

Room Tip: I didn't use the spa, had to leave too early the next day - so the rating above doesn't appl...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hard to say - they have the usual "please re-use your towel" notices - this is a resort and not really catering to the kind of clientele that is obsessed with these practices.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us to experience Tanglewood on our Culture in the Country Package. We appreciate your taking the time to share all the positive aspects of your stay. We apologize for the confusion upon check out as the package does include a $20 food credit per person. It was originally booked with one adult and the second adult was added to the reservation at check in. This should have been adjusted so that you did not receive a $20 charge, but I’m pleased that you received the credit before you departed. If you would like further explanation, our Rooms Division Manager would be happy to speak with you. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay in Lenox on our drive from Toronto to Newport RI in September 2013. It was a great choice! The grounds are stunning, the outdoor heated pool was amazing and the spa was also very nice. The rooms were in a historic building that was very interesting architecturally. The room was very large with a separate seating area that had a fireplace. Although the rooms were dated, they were exceptionally clean and extremely comfortable so we had no complaints. If you want a similar hotel with more up to date decor than stay in the nearby Wheatleigh Hotel (very gorgeous) which is also in Lenox but we prepared to pay four times the rate. We had breakfast at the New Haven which is located in town and it was amazing!!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about which building your room is in since there are many different onces on the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueToth_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to enjoy in the beautiful Berkshires! The grounds are gorgeous. Terrific food, a fabulous spa, and one of the most comfortable rooms I've ever enjoyed on vacation. Dinner in the Mansion was the best, and Sloane's Pub was delicious and fun. The spa services were great, and the staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful. We headquartered at Cranwell and took several lovely day trips to enjoy the beautiful surrounding areas. I would highly recommend Cranwell and would love to return. Breakfast in Lenox at Haven and dinner at Prime Italian Steakhouse are both a "do not miss."

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Cranwell resort for a couple of days following our son's wedding. It was a time to relax and recharge after a whirlwind weekend with friends and family. Cranwell is gorgeous, the golfcourse is beautiful (tho we didn't play golf) and the rooms are lovely. We stayed in the lowest price room and it was extremely comfortable. view wasn't great, but we didn't care. We love the area, and spent a lot of time just strolling around lenox and lee window shopping. We saw the Capitol Steppes at Cranwell and enjoyed them immensely! Ate in the pub, outdoors and the food was excellent. Without a doubt we'd go there again, except next time we'd bring our golf clubs!

Room Tip: We stayed in Beecher's cottage, note there is no elevator, we were on the 3rd floor, tough to lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Cranwell is a great place to stay and relax. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The resort is well maintained and all of the facilities are very clean. We have already made reservations for our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed at several places in the Berkshires. We have decided that Cranwell is our favorite. The grounds are lush and well maintained. The location is close to many sights. We enjoyed breakfast in the mansion.......the selection was unlimited with everything you could imagine. Our room in Olmstead was roomy and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank believe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Given that you are a return visitor to the area, we are so pleased to learn that Cranwell is your new favorite place to stay in the Berkshires. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing