We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa is first rate, rooms a step down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spa is first rate, rooms a step down”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here on a Serenity Sunday deal (low room rates and discount on spa services). The man at reception was not the friendliest and kept telling me of places without giving me directions. Room was not ready at first and when it was I had a much friendlier person at the reception desk who gave me a map.
The room was big and nice. Coffee and tea and a fridge. Bathroom was large as well and bright. As someone else mentioned, the TV was small (not a biggie). It was loud as it is an older building with little sound proofing and I was close to the stairs. I do not think that it is a 5 star hotel for the price, unless you get the discounted fare like we did.
The spa was 5 star, definitely. The staff was fantastic and there was not much that one could want for while there. There are lockers to leave your stuff in (though it was a covered walk from the hotel it was nice to have some stuff there) and robes and slippers to change into. The waiting "Quiet" room was so nice, I spent some time just reading there. The services and the staff were well worth the money, they truly pamper you. I also took advantage of the fitness center which was nice and clean.
Overall this is a great place, not a ton to do in the off season (not enough snow, yet cold) but very relaxing. I would not stay there unless I was going to the spa and would only stay with a discounted rate. Will go back

Room Tip: Top floor, large ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the rooms and the amenities (we have a fridge in every room at the resort). Your feedback on other aspects of your stay are being addressed and we’re glad to know that you plan to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    190
    81
    71
    36
See reviews for
158
318
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
long island new york
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We decided to stay at the Cranwell based on a few reviews and the outside appearance of this hotel on an earlier trip to the area. What a disappointment! There were few redeeming qualities of this resort. The lobby area and spa are pretty but that's it! The man at the front desk was unfriendly and not welcoming in the least. We paid extra to get a room located in the Mansion. It was large but plain- nothing attractive about it- rough linens- tiny tv - worn carpet- the bathroom had a black toilet and shower-old throw rugs-and towels and outdated and inferior quality amenities.

Do not have dinner in The Wyndhurst-( dining room located in the Mansion) The menu is a variety of small plates and several entrees. The food was terrible and the service the worst. I ordered the celery root- pear bisque- totally tasteless. I am a vegetarian and inquired as to any type of vegetarian entree ( nothing listed on the menu) and was told by our server that there was only a salad or eggplant rollatini. Our server was not friendly and acted as if she was doing us a favor by waiting on us. I ordered the eggplant small plate which was approx. a 2 inch long dried out fried piece of eggplant - no sauce-!! At the table next to ours was a group of three women who were ordering a special pasta dish with vegetables and vegetable tempura!!!!( neither were on the menu) When I asked the server why I could not have ordered that meal I was informed that they were friends of the chef!!! Unbelievably rude and totally unacceptable!
I ordered the cheese cake for dessert ( only 4 dessert items) and they were out of it. My husband ordered the grouper and was not impressed.

We did eat breakfast ( breakfast buffet) the following morning in the "music room" and the service and quality of food was excellent. Additionally Sheila was the hostess at breakfast- a very kind and welcoming person - an asset to the hotel!!!!

We did use the spa which was quite nice ( in a separate building) and the spa offered lots of services was modern and up to date. We met two great employees of the salon there- Bridget and Jessica- friendly and professional and really eager to assist. The massage by Emily was terrific.
I would not stay at the Cranwell again nor would I recommend it.

Room Tip: We paid $50 extra a night to get a room in "The Mansion" ( this is where the restaurant is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queenie12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl P, General Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are always looking to focus our efforts in particular areas that need a bit more attention and we will do just that. Plans are in the works for enhancing the Mansion rooms, I know it will make the difference. So glad you enjoyed the Spa and the area, the Berkshires has so much to offer. I do hope you reconsider and return, but call me first and I'll bring you up to date on all of our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
268 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Cranwell for a weekend and found it charming and spacious, two adjectives that don't usually go together. The spa area was well-maintained and relaxing, and their indoor pool was Olympic-sized and heated. Their rooms, while indeed clean, spacious and comfortable, need a bit of an update. The service was pretty good and the food served at the Wyndhurst was good. The resort also has a golf course, but did not play during our visit.

The hotel is also a quick drive to good restaurants in town, as well as the Lee outlet mall.

We would love to stay here again for another relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_T_Zarraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Spacious and charming is cerrtainly a nice way to describe Cranwell Resort. Thank you. You didn't have a chance to golf since the course wasn't yet open, but you can guess the opening date for a chance to win a round of golf and lunch at Sloane’s Tavern for two. Simply “like” Cranwell Resort on Facebook and enter your guess. See you on the course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very high priced resort but it does not live up to its reputation. When asking help from a gentleman at the front desk we received very short and surly answers. We (a group of 6 women) had dinner at the mansion on a Saturday evening and had the worst service I have ever experienced. First I must say that while the voice was very tasty it was extremely overpriced. The waitress was so bad that we had to ask several times for extra bread and refills of water. We sat at 8, did not receive our drink order until 8:30, she was very slow in taking our dinner order and we never ate a bite until around 9:30. As it was someone's birthday we had brought a cake and when served she never asked if we wanted coffee or after dinner drinks. One of our guests asked for coffee and she said OK and walked away without asking the others if they wanted anything. Then she had the nerve to add her tip on automatically. Upon leaving we had to poke our heads into the kitchen to ask for the remainder of the birthday cake and found it in the box under a pile of dirty dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl P, General Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments - I'm sorry for your disappointment and surprised; as we consistently receive such positive reviews of our staff. I very much appreciate your thoughts as we can always find ways to make things right. I'm happy to help with your next visit, it seems many aspects were positive for you. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Carl P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Everything about the resort was top notch from check-in to the grounds, to the room itself. We enjoyed an appetizer and a beer in the tavern after checking in and the service was prompt and friendly. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The wedding was flawless. We appreciated the shuttle service getting to and from the various buildings on the ground. Everyone on the staff that we encountered was friendly and accommodating. This was our first stay on the property and after experiencing it first-hand, we will be returning to enjoy the golf and spa this summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaCyn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
You have made our resort staff very happy. Everyone appreciated your wonderful review about your recent visit for a winter wedding in the Berkshires. Since you attended this event in March, you know that weddings at Cranwell any time of the year are special. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I took my daughter and her friend to Cranwell to celebrate her 13th birthday. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, our beautiful room (in Beecher's Cottage) was large and comfortable. I found the spa to be very modern and clean, the pool is large without the strong chlorine smell. Next time I will travel with another adult so that we can take turns staying with the kids while the other uses the spa (as they do not allow anyone under 16 in the spa area. Overall, this was a very comfortable and relaxed setting. Our only disappointment was the food. We found the menu at The Tavern to be disappointing - the breakfast at The Mansion was not especially inspired.

Room Tip: Beecher's Cottage was lovely. Rooms had original details, and it faces the golf course for beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Happy Belated 13th Birthday to your daughter and thank you for selecting Cranwell for this important celebration. I hope there will be many more birthday getaways to come. While the “inner core” of the spa area is reserved for adults, we do offer “What About Me – Youth Services” a menu of salon services including a Mini Mani/Pedi Combo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff at the Cranwell Resort went above and beyond to make our family feel welcome and relaxed on our recent stay. I recommend requesting one of the cottages, ours was the "Griswold". They have ample room and a full kitchen in each suite makes it much easier than a traditional hotel room. The Cottages are located just steps away from the indoor pool, and spa. The sauna and gym worked well to relax Dad, all the while mom played in the pool with the little ones. When it was Mom's turn to unplug the full service spa completely washed away the tension of having 2 at 2. The early morning gourmet breakfast was a big hit. The kid friendly chef and staff making omelets to order made our usually challenging morning schedule a lot more fun. All the resort assistance, combined with the central location to great restaurants, shopping and entertainment make this resort tops on our list for winter getaways in the Berkshires.

Room Tip: The separate cottages are great for kids, there were other families staying around us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Wow. That was an awesome review. Thank you. Our team here will be especially pleased since they strive to make everyone feel comfortable, including families with young ones like yours. I’m glad that you had a chance to relax as you certainly deserve it. Thanks also for recommending the cottages for families…they do fit the bill. Incidentally, the Griswold Cottage was named about William Griswold. He married Evelyn Sloane, the daughter of William J. Sloane, who built the Mansion (where you had those great omelets for breakfast). Their 1907 wedding was one of the largest high society events in Lenox at the time. Hope you and your family are doing well and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 15 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 15 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing