We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying harder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trying harder”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

So we have stayed twice more at the Cranwell since my last review. Yes, it has lovely facilities - still. What we were impressed with was the improvement in housekeeping and the overall cleanliness of our rooms. The front desk staff was much nicer and even smiled this time! This stay we had friends who also came but stayed in the hotel and not the cottages. They liked the overall facility but did not recommend the restaurant in the mansion. We did not have dinner at the mansion as they did - we had breakfast there which was just fine. We ate a Sloan's Tavern and found the service very friendly and efficient and the food standard tavern type food.

The Spa services were excellent as always with a very helpful and attentive staff. The gym was clean with a reasonable selection of fitness classes considering that this is a hotel I was impressed with the varied classes and excellent teachers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank far_away_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
As a frequent visitor to Cranwell, we can’t thank you enough for continuing to share your feedback concerning your stays with us. We’re pleased to hear that you continue to enjoy the quality of services at the spa and have also noticed improvements we’ve made in other areas. We look forward to your next visit and more firsthand reviews of your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    195
    84
    74
    38
See reviews for
162
326
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We decided to spend a spa week-end at the Berkshires, so we looked online for packages and offers. I remembered the Cranwell, because I spent a few days with my daughter there six years ago and we had a wonderful time.

The attention was excellent from the beginning: since we made our packages reservations, our appointments with the spa and the welcome at our arrival. The room we had inside the Carriage House was gorgeous, very spacious with a lot of amenities.

The Spa is amazing, with ample space to relax and enjoy a quiet time in a cozy room, up to a nice whirpool inside the facilities. They have very corteus and professional staff who made us feel welcome and they pampered us deliciously. The only suggestion I have is to have a smoothy, juice or fruit bar. That would be very nice to have it in the Spa área.


The dining room at the Mansión is magnificent, very European, with An excellent food and luxurius service.

The only thing that was completly out of place was the service we received at the Sloan Tavern. We had to wait more than 15 minutes in our table in order to get a menu, and 10 more minutes to order our lunch. The food is too pricey for the quality you get. If you need a light fare, it is much better to go somewhere else, like Lenox, which is 5 minutes from the resort and has a lot of great dining choices.

Overall, the Cranwell is a great place to stay and go to a wonderful Spa.

Room Tip: Look for online packages and offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCAlfonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for selecting Cranwell Resort for your return spa visit with your daughter and we’re pleased to know that you enjoyed your accommodations in the newly opened Carriage House. Since you had such a nice dining experience in the Mansion, please be on the lookout for our new Fall/Winter menu which changes seasonally. We strive for consistency in quality and service throughout our resort, so we will certainly follow-up on your other concern. We hope to see you and your daughter at the spa again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Mt wife and I spent 2 nights at Cranwell. We were very happy with everything about the property.

Our room was a "standard" resort king. The size of the room and the amenities were anything but "standard". There was plenty of room for the king size bed and plenty of other furniture. The closet was fine for our needs. It might be a little tight for a weeks worth of clothing. The bathroom was quite large with a jacuzzi tub.

The property is beautiful. The several buildings are set on a hillside surrounded by the golf course. There is an outdoor pool next to Sloane's tavern, so you can get refreshments. The pool needs some additional shade areas, but it is a very nice place to end a day of touring. There are outdoor tennis courts.

Although we did not use the Spa, it seems to have all the amenities including an indoor pool.

The food in the restaurant was very good and not terribly expensive.

We saw the show "Capitol Steps". It was outrageously funny.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nygolfer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing details of your recent stay with us. We’re so pleased that you caught the Capitol Steps that perform at Cranwell throughout the summer. We are fortunate to have a national troupe of the caliber at our resort. Our spacious rooms are one of the things that differentiates us from many other hotels and inns, so we are grateful that you took the time to let us know. We hope to see you back again soon…we have more large rooms waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We loved the place! Our accommodations in the Carriage House were great, service was exceptional, spa has everything you could want, location ideal. Even the breakfasts (where other resorts tend to charge exorbitant prices) was good and fairly priced. The review would have been excellent except for two annoyances: Sloane's Tavern and the golf. The service at the tavern, where we ate twice, was slow and once our order was mangled. The service at the golf course was also mixed. Once we had a very helpful starter, once no one seemed to want to pay any attention to us. That being said, it’s a great place and we’d return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillytravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We’re pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay in our newly opened Carriage House. As you experienced, we work very hard to ensure our staff interaction with our guests is exceptional throughout our resort. We're very sorry that you found two areas that did not fulfill the expectations set by the majority of our staff during your visit. Thank you for bringing this particular concern to our attention so we can enhance these specific areas. We look forward to welcoming you back and we expect you will find your next experience to be enjoyable from beginning to end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had my eldest daughter married there last Sat. Outstanding. Service was outstanding. Staff was very experienced at weddings - great at handling the myriad of emotional highs & lows that can come up in a wedding. The property was beautiful, the party lasted till 1 AM, and my daughter and my ex-wife were totally happy. What else can you want?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Widge836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I've stayed at Cranwell several times and love it there, it's very quiet, there are wonderful different mansions on the property to stay in. The most unusual is the Tower Room. The restaurants are great too. BUT the SPA is one of the best. First, be sure to arrive early to take advantage of the wonderful jacuzzi, steam room, sauna. There's also a gym, indoor and outdoor pool and golf too. What more do you need. I think the Cranwell does the BEST body scrub in the US and I'm tried most spas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Authorspurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our first time at the resort. It was great. The room was quite spacious and the amenities wonderful. The staff was friendly and could not be nicer. The food at the Mansion was excellent and beautifully presented. Needless to say the proximity to Shakespeare & Company was wonderful. Capitol Steps performing at the resort was hilarious. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor of the Founders. The room was spacious and wonderful. Would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
555 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing