We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous price for massage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I recently received massages at the Spa at Cranwell. And though it was a great massage, the price for a 50 minute deep tissue of $130 + the 20% gratuity they automatically include was a little over the top!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bgirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 817 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

Attended a wedding at the incredible Cranwell. The buildings are historic & well-maintained, the grounds beautiful! Our room in Founders Cottage was large, very comfortable, had french doors we opened for the fresh air. Bath had double sinks, plush towels & jetted tub. Small wet bar w/fridge. Very easy walk between bldgs. The Spa building amazing with large indoor pool, well-equipped exercise room, locker rooms and separate mens & womens "Quiet Rooms"-for relaxing & de-stressing! Food and service really good, staff very accomodating. The only issue I had was the lack of elevators in the bldgs I saw, and the tub height was quite high, making getting in & out of tub difficult. The hotel is very expensive (we paid a "wedding rate", which was managable); food prices what you'd expect at an East Coast resort; spa services (hair/makeup/nails) very pricey! Easy parking and close to Stockbridge & many other attractions. We would stay again for the right price.

Room Tip: Ask for room on main floors to avoid having to drag luggage up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryandhumphrey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Beautiful place to stay. Spa and golf course is fabulous!! Staff was wonderful and could not have been more helpful. The resort has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My most recent stay, October 4th and 5th was the usual "perfect". I come to the Berkshires on business and always choose Cranwell when it's available. The spa is a perfect way to unwind after a long day (and it's free with your stay), and the beautiful grounds are always inviting.

A really competitive corporate rate was available for my stay (individual business traveler), which made it even better. Very good food and service in Sloane's Tavern also! And for vacationers, Cranwell is in the heart of the Berkshires near all of the major attractions.

Room Tip: I like Founders Cottage, but all of the rooms I've stayed in are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJanetTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Went for a mother/daughter spa get away and had a terrific time. The Founders Cottage is attached to the spa building so that you can go back and forth to your room without going outdoors. All treatments and classes were outstanding. Watching the sunset from the Mansion, cocktails in the Music Room and dinner in the Mansion Dining Room were all a special treat.

This is my second stay in 6 months and I hope to get back there soon. I can see the potential here also for a romantic get away, business trip and friends. Lots of options and a nice luxury stay for most people.

Be sure to visit the designer outlets nearby (near the Turnpike) and Guido's market for organic and local food products going north. Also the chocolate shop. Naturally, in season, there is a lot going on with Tanglewood and local theater.

Room Tip: Founders Cottage for Spa goers - the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChathamMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I have been coming to Cranwell for three years. I have done day spa visits with girlfriends (2 hour drive) as well as one and two night stays. It rained on our last visit, so we couldn't golf, but we enjoyed the pool, exercise room, spa and food. Terrific staff and a beautiful place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The name of this hotel pretty much gives it away: there's a lot happening at the Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club. There are several buildings that provide food and/or accommodations. We stayed in the "Griswold Cottage" while here for a wedding. The cottages are two story suites with a big bedroom, a kitchenette, and a living room with pull-out sofa (TVs in both the bedroom and living area) and some live indoor plants (nice touch). The cottages are surrounded in the summer by lush landscape and beautiful views from the parking lot that leads directly to the cottage door. For a FABULOUS view get thee to the "Mansion", which is where we went for the wedding. You couldn't ask for a more perfect setting. The Mansion itself is stunning in decor and service, and the lawn where weddings and such take place oversees a nearly endless view of the Berkshires. The food is spectacular (I had the Chilean Sea Bass for my entree, which was terrific (the lamb chop appetizers needed more flavor, but that's my only complaint about the food). The decor all around is rich and inviting (and comfy). We don't golf, nor do we gravitate toward spas, but we do enjoy truly fine accommodations, and that's what we got. While it may be pricey, it's in the middle of the one of the most beautiful places on earth, in a facility that makes it all the more beautiful.

Room Tip: The cottages offer a greater sense of privacy than hotels tend to offer, and they're bigger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robinstamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
270 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: $161 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing