We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECTACULAR EXPERIENCE!”
Review of Blantyre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blantyre
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We can't say enough about our stay at the Blantyre. From the moment we arrived until the time of our check-out we were treated like the Queen of England! The service was beyond impeccable. The ammenities were fabulous. The little "extras" made us feel special. We can't wait to return for another amazing experience.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank merjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Blantyre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 259 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2009

It was a short visit but o so memorable, wonderful people, wonderful rooms, wonderful place

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graceofdeveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at Blantyre almost 10 times over the years and we plan to continue our annual visit long into the future. The grounds are magnificent. The area is full of interesting places to visit (and of course, Tanglewood--but there's more, too). The service is superb. Some describe it as formal, which is true, but I would nuance it by adding it's old-fashioned and genuine. For some, the best feature is the dining room--it really is spectacular. The last time we stayed there, the chef's tasting menu was incredible. The Chef , Christopher Brooks, was recently recognized by Relais & Chateaux for his outstanding work. The hotel is now open during the winter months and I look forward to using the skating rink they place over the clay tennis courts (which I like playing on in the summer months). Getting a massage in the spa is recommended too. (Btw, I have stayed in the Paterson Suite twice--quite a room!)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j02446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Blantyre's a pretty special spot. We stayed in the Laurel Suite for one night for an anniversary. It's a stunning room - enormous bed nestled in a big bay window, fireplace, boudoir to prepare for dinner, pretty bathroom. The mod cons are all present, but tastefully tucked away.
Highlights:
- Wine tasting before dinner (Saturday evenings) and associated tour of the phenomenal wine cellars with the resident Wine Director, who's truly passionate about her field. Wine pairings with dinner were equally impressive.
- Sunday morning in bed with sun streaming in the windows, an amazing room service breakfast and the Sunday Times.
- Massage in the "Potting Shed" spa, followed by relaxing in/around the hot tub.
Meals were all delicious, the extra touches were nice and staff very welcoming. Enjoyed a nice stroll along the walking trail, with good warm boots provided for our use.
The drive from New York is fine - worth bringing a GPS or a patient navigator.
Gents, remember to bring tie and jacket for dinner. Girls, it's definitely an opportunity for a frock and heels.
Will hopefully head back soon - maybe in winter to partake of ice skating and hot chocolate outside.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

My husband, our dog and I had a wonderful vacation over the New Year holiday. We stayed in the Cottage by the Path. It was welcoming, clean and comfortable. The staff was outstanding and very friendly. We had several meals in the cottage - the food was excellent. The resort was perfect for a restful vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Black Lab Nickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

We went to Blantyre for our honeymoon, having just been married in New York. They could not have been more kind, generous, welcoming and accomodating. The entire community offers the utmost hospitatlity, and they made our stay truly wonderful. We indeed felt transported to another time; we felt totally pampered from the moment we arrived to the last. We cannot thank Blantyre enough for our, wonderful, wonderful stay, and the memories we will have forever of our lovely autumn visit.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nwyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

Blantyre is a very elite experience - but one not to be missed. My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful road trip around the New England states and ended it at Blantyre, and we were so happy we did - saving the best for last. The mansion itself is quite stunning, with period pieces and wonderful artwork throughout, giving an authentic hunting lodge feel. (But an exclusive one!) There are many private areas to relax and gaze at the wild turkeys on the lawns and listen to the shrieking of the plentiful wildlife - squirrels and birds. You feel as though you are on the set of a movie.

We were greeted at the door by what I can only call a butler - who, once he knew our names greeted us every time we came and went. This includes opening the doors for us, hauling around our luggage, and ensuring we had whatever we needed whenever we entered.

We stayed in the Coach House in the Fairlawn room which is a stroll from the main house (one of the few rooms available when booking) and although beautifully furnished, the bathroom was quite small, so initially I was a bit disappointed. This was completely undone after a few hours after being on the property. You have to understand; not only does the price include your room, but your stay. By that I mean you are situated on an exquisite piece of property, with plenty of room to roam, with a nice spa and pool area - and the mansion itself. We spent hours relaxing in the peace and quiet, waited on hand and foot by an outstanding and personable staff who all seemed to know our names.

At no time during our 2 night stay did we feel any hint of snobbery or disdain - in fact, we dined in the restaurant one night and felt lovingly welcomed as family. The meal itself was heavenly, and we had at least 4 knowledgeable servers at our disposal in the beautiful dining room. We are very involved in the San Francisco restaurant world, and I have to say, Michael Mina has found an equal here in terms of service, interesting dining options, quality of food, and quality of service.

I can't say enough about this property - yes, it costs small fortune to stay, but you get what you pay for and more. I know some have squawked about the 20% service charge on everything - but - truly: in the restaurant you would already have planned on a 20% tip, would you not? And the number of people who are on hand at all hours to take care of your every need, were you on a cruise ship, would also be given a 20% tip - so why quarrel? Blantyre is worth every penny for that special occasion, or just when you need a vacation and a half. It is splendid. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sanfrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.3 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,037 reviews
0.7 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
150 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blantyre

Address: 16 Blantyre Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2776
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: $538 - $1,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blantyre 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blantyre Relais & Chateaux is a romantic country house hotel. Set amidst 110 acres of lush lawns and woodlands in the beautiful Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. A Tudor style house built in 1902 is resplendent with period furnishings and sumptuous fabrics. A relaxing retreat with a professional,caring and friendly staff. Award winning food, wine list and spa. A getaway for all seasons...summer music festivals, splendid fall leaves, winter wonderland with ice skating and snowshoeing on property. Blantyre is equidistant between NYC and Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Blantyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blantyre Hotel Lenox
Blantyre Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing