We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is simply not a more congenial spot”
Review of Blantyre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blantyre
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“There is simply not a more congenial spot”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Even in the cold weather, with many attractions closed, Blantyre is worth a visit. Indeed, it may be better, as one does not feel guilty about preferring to stay on the property. What a beautiful property it is, with vistas of the hills, trails to walk (or in this case snow shoe or cross country ski), tennis courts frozen over for skating. The mansion is grand but warm and welcoming. The accommodations distinctive and delightful. My husband and I plan to stay in every one be it in the main house, the carriage house or one of the cottages. The owner Ann Brown cares about every detail and so does her staff. The restaurant serves delicious classical French food. Only a curmudgeon could find fault.

Room Tip: There really aren't any poor rooms. Obviously, though, the more one pays, the better the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    18
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
176
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Blantyre provides a magical experience that makes you feel like you are home at this beautiful property. The attention to detail is amazing, service spectacular and grounds are impeccable. The winter wonderland they have created is amazing. Between sleigh rides, ice skating and the beautiful property for snowshoeing, it is a wonderful escape in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed in January and had a lovely time. The Blantyre was relaxing, peacful, quiet, and offered a very romantic setting. The service is welcoming and we really enjoyed speaking with Luc and Barbara. You can tell working at the Blantyre is not their job, but their passion. We enjoyed just sitting in the spa and reading magazines together, and we had a lovely dinner. They went above and beyond to accomodate our need for a light bite, but offered a wonderful experience for us. A very special place!

Room Tip: I would prefer to be in the main house, as it truly feels like you are a guest in someone's beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Blantyre is a hotel that we love to come back to. It is the most charming and special hotel in the Berkshires by far and is probably my favorite small hotel in the world. The interiors and rooms are fantastic. The decoration is very well done. The staff is very friendly. It is easy to forget where you are when you stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

There are places that are so astronomically expensive that you wonder if they are worth it - and many are not - but this one truly is! They could not be more welcoming or accommodating. We stayed there for their New Year's Eve festivities, so I guess that they were at their best, but it was wonderful. We brought our dog,so we stayed in a dog-friendly cottage, where they had a bed and treats for him. We can't say what the bedrooms in the main building were like, but the cottage was charming and very comfortable. The bed was a high four poster, with lots of pillows, and there was a footed tub and shower in the bathroom.

The public rooms, dining rooms, and entrance were lovely, warm, and as others have said, like an old Scottish or British manor. The dinner was delicious, course after course of great food paired with wonderful wines. Drinks and dessert were served in another room, buffet style. The breakfast was also lovely, served in the conservatory.

Even in winter they have activities galore. A carriage and team of horses was waiting to give rides to the guests and there was a wonderful looking ice skating rink. They also have a fitness center, but we did not get there this trip. Lovely. . .

This place deserves its Relais and Chateaux designation and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wywyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is a representation of an old Scottish manor. As you enter, a dark wood paneled room awaits you with furniture representing the era. Lots of Santa's, mostly modern, not period pieces, however guests will enjoy. The breakfast area was christmas decorated and looks to be pleasent all through the year. The quilts covering tables makes sitting very uncomfortable, but probably just my taste. Our room in the main house did not meet the quality we expected at this price point. We assumed a lot based on all the excellent reviews. The furniture was antique, however, our room seemed in need of updating. Our bedding with blankets, etc...not what I expected. I did not get a chance to view other rooms, but go by the reviews. Our meals were all taken at the Blayntre since enjoyment of the property was our goal. The meals were good, but not great. The wine list is extensive, and Luc is the one to assist you if you have questions. Evening dining experience is very romantic with cocktails, menu review/order placement and after dinner enjoyment with beautiful piano music. The whole experience was nice but not repeatable with so many more hotels to visit. The lighted outside Christmas tree was exquisite. The hotel staff is wonderful, and you will receive the best customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SSGCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was a great trip for a long weekend for my wife and I. We drove to Lenox Mass from New Jersey. We stayed in the Old Bath Cottage. It was a two room suite, a short walk from the main hotel. It was very nice and the place exuded the early 1900's luxury of the gilded age when the property was constructed. The food and the service was very good. The grounds were very pretty. It was quiet and a good place for couples. It was close to Lenox, Mt. Greylock state park, and some scenic hikes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.3 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
129 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,007 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blantyre

Property: Blantyre
Address: 16 Blantyre Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2776
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blantyre 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blantyre Relais & Châteaux is a romantic country house hotel. Set amidst 117 acres of lush lawns and woodlands in the beautiful Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. A Tudor style house built in 1902 is resplendent with period furnishings and sumptuous fabrics. A relaxing retreat with a professional,caring and friendly staff. Award winning food, wine list and spa. A getaway for all seasons...summer music festivals, splendid fall leaves, winter wonderland with ice skating, snowshoeing and 105'Christmas tree all on property. Blantyre is equidistant between NYC and Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion and getaroom.com so you can book your Blantyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blantyre Hotel Lenox
Blantyre Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing