We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why Can't I Give Ten Stars?”
Review of Blantyre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blantyre
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
302 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Why Can't I Give Ten Stars?”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been fortunate to stay at Blantyre many times over the last few years, but this is the first review I have written a review. Simply put, there is no finer place to stay anywhere. You are close to all the cultural wonders that the Berkshires has to offer--yet you feel that you are away from it all at your private country estate. The food, wine, ambiance--none of it can be any better. The spa is beautiful, and the pool is lovely as well. The staff is without peer. There are not enough stars for this place!

Room Tip: We prefer a cottage, but if you want to be near the spa-choose a room in the carriage house. And don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    18
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
173
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuck in MA
Level Contributor
304 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Seven years after our last stay, my wife and I were driving by and we waxed nostalgic. We drove up the spectacular roadway to the castle and were transported back in time. Even though we were not staying at the hotel, we asked if they could accomodate us for lunch and they did so, graciously. The beautiful verandah where we were seated overlooked a marvelous garden and we were treated to a chef's menu of several courses of seafood. The dishes were amazing in flavor complexity, presentation, and even mouth feel. The ever polite staff chatted happily with all the tables and the hour was gone too quickly.
While it was admittedly pricey, we don't get up here often and it was a treat we'll not forget.

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms in the castle but the rooms in the other buildings are beautiful. Lovely tennis courts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BixUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Extremely atmospheric, very attentive staff, lovely grounds, and a truly superb breakfast. The beds are wonderful (pillows not so much) and it was blissfully quiet. While the furnishings do not attain the level of, say, the Villa d'Este, the staff is far more attentive and the attention to detail actually exceeds that of any other top hotel I have seen (where else do they leave bookmarks and a book on the Berkshires along with the chocolate as part of turn-down service? And where else do they ask on the breakfast room-service menu if you'd like additional newspapers?). We'll definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PellegrinaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Quiet and very comfortable, the grounds are beautiful and the staff is extremely helpful. A very relaxing place

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Blantyre should be on everyone's bucket list. You will feel like you are staying on the grounds of a king and queen and the staff will treat you like royalty. The staff made us feel as if they were waiting just to personally meet our every need. We stayed there while attending the Berkshire British Motorcar Festival and it was the perfect setting. Breakfast, the only meal (meals are included) we ate there, was phenomenal and special requests were cheerfully handled. They will even provide a picnic for you. The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. We wish we had more time to spend on the grounds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newengland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I went to the Blantyre to celebrate my Mom's birthday. It was a truly amazing experience. The staff was great and the food pretty darn good. We got the tasting menu and it was excellent. On top of that Simon, the general manager, was amazing. He showed us around the property and treated us to a great time.

I cannot say enough good things about the Blantyre and so to learn more check out my food blog, "The Food Travels of a Coffee Snob" at http://foodtravelsofacoffeesnob.blogspot.com/

The post on the Blantrye is titled: Blinded by the Blantyre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odysseus91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Blantyre transports you to another era. It's probably the single most beautiful manor at which we've had the opportunity to stay. The service is absolutely perfect, and our weekend days included a wine tasting, high tea, a walk on the beautiful grounds, and relaxing in the spa. Two days here feels like you've spent a week decompressing. Expensive but you'll never forget it -- this is a true stand out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler10028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
8.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blantyre

Property: Blantyre
Address: 16 Blantyre Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2776
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blantyre 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blantyre Relais & Châteaux is a romantic country house hotel. Set amidst 117 acres of lush lawns and woodlands in the beautiful Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. A Tudor style house built in 1902 is resplendent with period furnishings and sumptuous fabrics. A relaxing retreat with a professional,caring and friendly staff. Award winning food, wine list and spa. A getaway for all seasons...summer music festivals, splendid fall leaves, winter wonderland with ice skating, snowshoeing and 105'Christmas tree all on property. Blantyre is equidistant between NYC and Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Blantyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blantyre Hotel Lenox
Blantyre Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing