We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting by day...Sassy by night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Enchanting by day...Sassy by night”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This Bed & Breakfast has everything you are looking for in a romantic getaway. The facility is clean and well decorated, the staff is very friendly and personable and it has the charm you would look for in a B&B.

The Tavern "Rumpy's" that's connected brings the differentiator to this B&B. The atmosphere is fabulous, drinks are delicious & once again, the staff aims to please.

This combination makes the Village Inn the perfect place for a nice, quiet get away with a dash of wild fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    31
    27
    22
    20
See reviews for
25
105
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here on the opening night of the Tanglewood season. Granted, we had booked one of their "smaller" rooms. Let's just say it was so small that we had to move the chair out into the hallway so we could fit our suitcase in. Also, the room was directly over the entrance to the pub and since there was no air conditioning, we had to choose between overheating with the windows closed or being kept awake by the smoking bargoers outside our window. And it cost $200 a night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank horsemom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lenox hotels

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Village Inn Lenox
This was our third stay, so it may come as a surprise that I do not give this inn high marks. If there were another inn vacant or not requiring a 3 night stay we would book elsewhere, but this inn is right in the heart of Lenox, always has rooms and the location is really what keeps us coming back. We have stayed in several inns and this one just does not compare favorably. When you check in, there is no warm, personal greeting because it is staffed by employees rather than owners. We knew we were booking the smallest room (and believe me it is small). If you have ever cruised, the bathroom is the size of a cabin bathroom (the shower was good) and the room itself is smaller and does not have a closet. You have to take it in turns to move around the bed as there is not enough space and nowhere to stow luggage and you hang your clothes on four pegs on the wall. The chest of drawers was old and needed love and attention, this was no antique, it was just old furniture. The inn owners have nice wall paper on the walls, but the ceiling was water stained and the light fixtures antiquated. The wires leading from the over- bed lamps were exposed, wires ran along the floor... This all points to not caring about details. Worst of all, our room was above Rumpy's the inn's disco and bar, and until 1:00 at night you hear the thump, thump, thump of dance music and people coming out and holding conversations.
The inn has breakfast in the morning and the breakfast room is nice. The breakfast is ok, again not up to the standards of other inns we have stayed in (see my review for Old Harbor Inn which is superb). They leave coffee and cookies out all day and there are two nice sitting rooms. The BEST thing about the inn was great wifi and being able to sit outside with a cup of coffee. The place is not awful, but for the price it could be a lot better. The owners are resting on their laurels. I see others gave 5 stars, all I can imagine is that they stayed in the most expensive rooms and they have not experienced really well looked after inns.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 10 unless you like dance music until 1 a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brit_USA_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room we chose was their 2nd tier because it had a "spa" bath tub. My husband and I paid $261 for one night ( a Thursday) plus tax, so it was nearer $300

The bed was a king, but the room was tiny. There were two armchairs, a drawer unit and a giant TV unit, so there was absolutely no room to move. The bedside tables were tiny with no light. The only side light in the room was on the drawer unit at the end of the bed and could not be switched on or off from the bed.
The bathroom was tiny. The spa bath had 8 jets, 4 on each side; nothing for the back or shoulders. It was also standard size. The bathroom floor had been patched with new flooring not meeting old tile. Really shabby.
There was internet, but when we switched on the television, there was no cable, no satellite, and a poor quality picture on most of the channels that were available.
There was a light on the fence outside the bedroom window that shone brightly into the room all night despite the blind. The AC unit was an in window type; very old and really noisy all night. Did not work well either.
There was no coffee/tea in the room. The breakfast was good and the staff attentive, but for less money we stayed in the Red Lion, Stockbridge the night before and everything was perfect.
The Inn is located in the centre of Lenox with plenty of parking. It is charmingly old, but absolutely not worth the money!

Room Tip: Don't bother with tier 2, the spa bath is money down the drain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern NJ
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spend a lovely weekend in Lenox seeing the BSO at Tanglewood amongst other things and we stayed at the Village Inn. Excellent location and good service. However, the value at $250 per night in peak season is questionable.

Pros:

Location, location, location.
Big parking lot on-site
Friendly service
Great breakfast

Cons:
Rooms are tired, in desperate need of renovation but still just about passable.
Extension cords all over the rooms
Bathrooms have no place to put toiletries- C grade at best

Room Tip: Upstairs facing the side or front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This place is great value and the staff are friendly and welcoming. I stayed here on a trip with my mother and we found the people at the front desk to be charming and welcoming. We actually went down to the bar and did the trivia night which was surprisingly fun. We are having a wedding nearby and the Village Inn has been really easy to coordinate with. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgetownlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we must have hit the village inn on a full moon; our experience doesn't compare to the raves of others. our room was modest, but clearly the victim of a lot of wear and tear: the carpet worn, rust stain on the ceiling and a generally tired feeling. the staffer who registered us was not very helpful, but did point out that the doors were locked at 8; he left sooner than that. we were one of only two guests in the place with the other couple in the room directly overhead so we did have some noise to let us know we weren't alone. there was a good selection of videos not to mention a large stuffed panda sitting at the piano in the restaurant. while a good location, this place gives "charming" inns a bad name.

Room Tip: try another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijt-nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
523 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240-2503
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the Historic District of downtown Lenox, The Village Inn has been catering to the needs of travelers since 1771.Today, we are a prime choice for those wishing to be within walking distance to some of the finest shops, galleries, restaurants, and nightspots that Lenox has to offer.We also have our OWN restaurant, Rumplestiltzkin's Restaurant, right inside The Village Inn. Rumpy's Tavern, located right below The Village Inn, is open 7 nights a week and hosts a variety of entertainment for our guests and locals alike, from karaoke to bingo to live music.When you stay with us, you'll almost never need your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Lenox
The Village Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing