We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Weekend”
Review of Rookwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rookwood Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A wonderful stay, where we were very comfortable and all requests were dealt with patience and charm.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, the breakfasts first-rate and there were even sufficient clothes hangers in the wardrobes.

We attended a family wedding last weekend and although the wedding wasn't held in the hotel itself. They dealt with all "the emergencies " that can ensue when the families of the bride and bridegroom are in one place, e.g. printing out the lost speech of the Best Man, rustling up breakfast, when we had said it wouldn't be necessary and helping to keep a surprise for the Mother of The Bride

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestonParkSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 175 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Rookwood Inn from August 24-27. It exceeded our expectations. We had the first floor suite with a large living room and king size bed with our own patio. The Inn was very quiet and the other guests were friendly and outgoing. The breakfasts were delicious and there were many choices. It was right in the center of Lenox with easy access to shops, restaurants and Tanglewood.
Amy and her staff were delightful and extremely helpful and managed to succeed in making us feel more at home. We enjoyed our honeymoon extensively and plan to return in the future.
Johanna and Joe Robichau

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Another trip to Tanglewood where my son spent 6 weeks this summer. Very excited to re-visit the Rookwood Inn both taking son there in June and picking him up in August (first stays were in June & August 2011). Amy, Chris and staff were wonderful, as usual, interested in our comfort and visit to Lenox/T'wood. Room upgrade gratis (Lady Harrison's) on first stay and wonderful stay in Silhouette on second stay. Rooms very pretty and baths very clean with great amenities and extra, fluffy towels. Breakfasts yummy, freshly made and copious. Freshly baked cakes and cookies at afternoon teatime. Retreated to side porch several times with coffee after breakfast and with tea and cake in late afternoon -- very pleasant and relaxing. I'll be back -- I promise!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamanMusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights and attended four concerts at Tanglewood. The Inn is in an excellent location in Lenox, a short walking distance from the shops and restaurants. The building is well kept and our accommodation was comfortable and quaint. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed an afternoon game of croquet. It's not really a criticism as I know the building is very old, but the rooms and bathrooms are quite small. My partner is over 6 feet tall and had a little trouble maneuvering around the bathroom. We had everything we needed in the room which was nice and clean. The owner, Amy was very personable and helpful, nothing was a problem. The highlight would be the gourmet breakfasts which are included in the room rate and change daily. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Rookwood Inn. In fact, we were actually married in the parlor area by Innkeeper Amy Lindner-Lesser. We contacted Amy at the end of June and told her our interest for getting married there and staying a couple of nights. Talk about a perfect romantic setting. This was our 2nd marriage for both me and my husband and Amy and staff went out of their way to make sure everything was memorable from my walk down the gorgeous staircase to meet my groom, the ceremony in the beautiful parlor, our first toast as husband and wife and then off to celebrate at a wonderful restaurant in town. All of which The Rookwood Inn handled by taking care of the reservations, getting the wedding cake, ordering the flowers and making sure that our day was special. Our room was spotless and decorated with a beautiful Victorian theme. Breakfast was so personable and cozy. We felt like we were in our own dining room. The night before our wedding we went to a show at Tanglewood which is only a mile away from the Inn. How convenient! Plus, the town is in walking distance and the shops and restaurants are incredible.

We highly recommend The Rookwood Inn whether you are catching a show at Tanglewood, touring the lovely town of Lenox, if you want to just kick back and relax in a peaceful and quiet setting or….to get married. This is the place to be! We can’t wait to go back next year to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Thank you again Amy and staff for making our stay and wedding incredible and one we will never forget!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at The Rookwood Inn, celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary. We cannot wait to return! The location is the best! One mile from Tanglewood and within walking distance to town! The breakfast was beautiful and delicious, with plenty of hot coffee and fabulous service. Our room was spotless and very tastefully decorated! Finally, our Innkeeper, Amy, was so kind and welcoming. She was attentive and available, without being smothering!

I cannot wait to go back! There is a great spirit and energy at the Rookwood Inn that we loved! Thank you Amy for a very special stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragonfly81256, Manager at Rookwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are happy you selected The Rookwood Inn to spend your 22nd anniversary and even happier that you enjoyed your stay. At The Rookwood Inn we enjoy helping our guests create wonderful memories for special occasions such as birthdays and anniversaries - or make a great memories out of "just because" getaways!

We look forward to helping you celebrate your 23rd anniversary next year!

Amy Lindner-Lesser, Innkeeper/Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the 2nd weekend of August while visiting Tanglewood and other attractions. Very comfortable accomodations. Excellent breakfast, very pleasant staff and owner Amy. Very accomodating to the guests.
Short walk into Lenox, 2 blocks.
Will return next year on our annual visit to Lenox.

Room Tip: we picked the big room on the 2nd floor. mpore expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dort40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.5 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#3 of 20 in Lenox
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookwood Inn

Address: 11 Old Stockbridge Rd, Post Office Box 1717, Lenox, MA 01240-2415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $243 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rookwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairytale Victorian Inn with 19 antique-filed guest rooms each with its own private bath, luxury amenities, Wi-Fi, AC and many with fireplaces. Great buffet breakfasts that are delicious and healthy. Ideal location in Lenox and the center of the Berkshires. Perfect for small weddings, reunions, small group meetings or just that special romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rookwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing