We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful experience”
Review of Rookwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rookwood Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We have just returned from a restful and beautiful weekend at the rookwood inn in lenox, MA. We found the innkeeper to be warm, friendly and yet totally respected out privacy. She and her staff catered to our every need. We loved our breakfasts! We especially appreciated the fact that they were cooked to order at the time that we wanted them. What an indulgence! Our room was cozy and beautifully appointed, with a four poster bed and fireplace. The Inn was decorated so beautifully for the holidays, that we are thinking about returning next year with friends, to make a holiday tradition of coming to this Inn. We enjoyed the fact that we could walk into the quaint village of Lenox for great dinners and fun shopping. All in all it was just magical!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank franniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2007

Learning that many B&Bs in the Berkshires do not accept babies, we were wondering if we could go at all. Fortunately we found the Rookwood Inn, in the center of Lenox. Isabel, at 10 months, was warmly received by our generous hosts. Nice, cozy Victorian house in a convenient location. A worthy find for the family with a baby in their arms.
Thanks,
Kurt, Claudia, and Isabel

Stayed: October 2007
Thank bsmembership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Just as Rookwood pottery is known for its outstanding craftsmanship & treasured by those in the know, so is the Rookwood Inn, located just several minutes by foot from the heart of Lenox Center. The Rookwood Inn stands as a magnificent example of Victorian architecture, & has always provided us with consistently outstanding & legendary service. My aunt, best friend & I have stayed at the Rookwood Inn 7+ times & have gotten to know this Inn quite well. Amy, our Innkeeper & her professional staff work together to make the Inn clean, well-lighted and always welcoming. At breakfast, we look forward to the wide array of freshly-baked & heart-healthy choices. We are never disappointed. At tea-time, we are greeted by the aroma of freshly-baked goodies, coupled with a glass of ice cold pink lemonade, the perfect combo to carry onto the veranda & take in the fragrance of Amy's beautifully-groomed gardens. You don't have to look far to find perfection in the heart of Lenox.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank Chantal1NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

On a recent (first and last) stay at the Rookwood, I discovered that the photos of this inn on its website were "staged" with additional furniture, accessories and lighting. The ultimate give-away is the front porch. The website photo shows a welcoming, inviting and clean porch with clean bright white wicker furniture and lush, colorful hanging flower baskets and plants. The truth is completely different. A dirty, dusty porch with nary a flower in sight except for dead, headless impatiens covered in cobwebs was furnished with a few dirty, dark and deteriorated chairs and tables. I was offered the use of a porch off the parlor, but it was just as depressing. This place is such a far cry from what the website makes it out to be that it is a disgrace. The breakfast is billed as a "full breakfast." It was neither hot nor full, but a glorified continental breakfast that was very much self-serve. Again the photo on the website of the breakfast is not representative. The fact that you must sign the credit card receipt for the full balance before you even see your room is a troubling tip off. While the sink and toilet in my room were clean, there was a thick layer of dust on the bathroom fan vent. My room was dark and oppressive and the decor throughtout the inn was shabby (and not chic). No one asked me how my stay was, or if I needed anything. The only positive here is a convenient location. Given the situation the price is outrageous. With so many other options, don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Very disappoiting. Our room was dark, dingy, and the mattress was uncomfortable. The breakfast was not homey - more of a buffet than a hot breakfast that would be associated with B&Bs. Even though the location was great, I would not return. Not a good value for the price tag.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank KM20071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely week-end at the Rookwood.
Our room (Tavern #15) was small but very charming. I loved the victorian atmosphere and the antique furniture. The breakfast was ok, nothing special, the variety of items was pretty limited.
Afternoon tea consisted of iced beverages and home-made cookies and brownies. A fridge is at the disposal of the guests
(very convenient when planning a Tanglewood pic-nic). The staff was welcoming and friendly. The Inn is steps away from the center of Lenox and a 5 min. drive to Tanglewood. I will gladly go back to the Rookwood next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a lovely stay at the Rookwood Inn in the Berkshires. We found the Inn to be very comfortable and lovingly maintained. It is within walking distance to the town of Lenox and many terrific dining choices. Amy and her staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast is tasty and plentiful! We had to leave early on Monday morning, before breakfast was being served, and Amy made sure to send us on our way with breakfast to go, including travel coffee mugs!
We will be sure to return to the Rookwood next year for our annual trip to the Berkshires.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lenox hotels
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 15 in Lenox
582 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.7 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.5 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookwood Inn

Address: 11 Old Stockbridge Rd, Post Office Box 1717, Lenox, MA 01240-2415
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $225 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rookwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairytale Victorian Inn with 19 antique-filed guest rooms each with its own private bath, luxury amenities, Wi-Fi, AC and many with fireplaces. Great buffet breakfasts that are delicious and healthy. Ideal location in Lenox and the center of the Berkshires. Perfect for small weddings, reunions, small group meetings or just that special romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rookwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing