We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always a pleasure!”
Review of Rookwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rookwood Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have been coming to the Rookwood every summer for a number of years. It is a lovely B&B right in the heart of Lenox, and easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and parks. Tanglewood is a 5-10 minute drive. The inn is the definition of charming, with nicely decorated rooms (all different) and plenty of space indoors and out to sit and chat, read or relax. There is a buffet breakfast in the morning, and much appreciated late afternoon lemonade and cookies. Amy, the owner, and the rest of her staff are always warm and helpful; and we always feel that each year we are returning to see old friends.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank CandS232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 175 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

We love Lenox and make it a point to attend Tanglewood at least once every summer. Our discovery of the Rookwood Inn just adds to the pleasure of the visit. We're always warmly received and cared for by Amy, Chris and the rest of the staff and look forward to our next stay. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed and the convenience of location can't be beat. None better!

Room Tip: Look online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonMorganville_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent a long weekend at the Rookwood, centered around Tanglewood. Hard to beat the location, with a short drive to concerts, and a short walk to all Lenox has to offer. Room was clean, nicely decorated, and the inn functions smoothly and provides a delicious breakfast with fresh quiches and fruit, toast, bagels, etc. The sign-up for breakfast is a fine system, allowing for choice and no crowding on full weekends during the busy summer. We also appreciated the welcoming staff, friendly but inobtrusive, and the afternoon snacks, water, and wine glasses in the room were other nice touches.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdenOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in late July 2011. Clean and comfortable room -- A/C, extra towels, bath amenities, great decor! Breakfasts and late afternoon refreshments were plentiful and wonderful -- there's nothing like homebaked breads, cakes & cookies!! Guest area just off entrance offered full-sized fridge, sink, glassware & mugs, Keurig coffee/tea brewer with wide selection of coffees & teas. Choice of breakfast seatings made for freshly prepared breakfast offerings each morning (and I never felt rushed because of later seating!). Great screened in side porch and front lawn (complete with bocce/boules set!!). Innkeeper Amy and her staff were extremely warm and welcoming, offering suggestions on where to shop/have dinner when requested. Perfect location to visit Lenox & Tanglewood & BUTI (I was there to attend my son's final concert & take him home). I'll be staying @ Rookwood next time I'm in Lenox!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamanMusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We came to the inn on a last minute whim as we had to pick up our kids at sleep away camp and decided to come to Lenox . From the moment we walked in, Amy made us feel at home. She is warm and lovely and takes great care in making sure her guests enjoy their time in Lenox. Our room was very nice and comfortable. You cannot beat the location-walking distance to town and to tangle wood . The breakfast was yummy and amy' s staff is just terrific. My husband and I want to make a visit to rookwood an annual tradition.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharigersten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

It is sad to see a potentially beautiful Inn starting to slide downhill. Lights were out in the living room and not fixed or replaced, hence group gatherings were dark, only adding to the old, musty feel of the Inn. Breakfast was only average: one hot dish, cold cereal and some sort of bread to toast yourself, yogurt and fruit served buffet style. We were hustled out of the dining room to accommodate other guests after 45 minutes. We found the cost for our room (almost $600 for two nights) to be overpriced for the service and quality of the Inn. Its proximity to Tanglewood, the Stockbridge museums/homes and Canyon Ranch probably account for the proprietor's justification in charging such an exorbitant rate. There are so many B and B's as well as chain hotel/motels just outside of town, I say save your money and find either another inn with more charm and less must or a modern chain and go to the Patisserie for a great French breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJR364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Chose Rookwood Inn from their web site. Rooms and ambiance all that I expected.However when arriving my daughter and I were dissappointed with the porch. and grounds Firstly there was a full cat litter container on steps to be used for snow or ice I imagine.
An ashtray with soggy butts in it, looked disgusting. Grounds looked unkempt Asked to see rooms before checking in. Was very happy with the rooms.Chrissy greeted us on entering . She was an exceptional hostess. and cook .Overall had an enjoyable stay. If we were riding by we would not have given it a second look. Upon leaving dumpster was overflowing and garbage was on the ground. Day bed in Turret room was extremely noisy .every time I moved it squeaked .

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanie229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
572 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookwood Inn

Address: 11 Old Stockbridge Rd, Post Office Box 1717, Lenox, MA 01240-2415
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $259 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rookwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairytale Victorian Inn with 19 antique-filed guest rooms each with its own private bath, luxury amenities, Wi-Fi, AC and many with fireplaces. Great buffet breakfasts that are delicious and healthy. Ideal location in Lenox and the center of the Berkshires. Perfect for small weddings, reunions, small group meetings or just that special romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Rookwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing