We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Many B&B's in Lenox are outrageously expensive; it was nice to find Hampton Terrace, whose mid-week prices are relative moderate, especially since it's so close to the center of Lenox. In keeping with the price our room in the carriage house was fine, as were the breakfasts, though neither was especially memorable. Some prefer B&B owners to treat their guests like family. This is too big a place for that, but we appreciated how professionally the Hampton owners run their inn.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GracieSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 976 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2007

I was thrilled with a recent stay at a terrific Inn in the Berkshires by the name of Hampton Terrace in Lenox, MA, and I want to tell you why. I have been traveling for summer vacations to the Berkshires for many years, and I have stayed in a number of different locations in and around Lenox. I find the Hampton Terrace to be the best of all of the places in which I have stayed. The hallmark of a great stay at an Inn is, first and foremost, the proprietors. Stan and his wife are the perfect host and hostess. They are helpful without being intrusive, quality oriented to the maximum, wonderful sources of information and recommendations, and great story tellers. You cannot ask for a better location, particularly if you want to take advantage of all that the Berkshires has to offer. Lenox is smack in the middle of all that anyone would want to do - from Jacob's Pillow to Tanglewood to Williamstown Theatre Festival and on and on. The rooms at the Inn are great, the guests were interesting, the breakfasts are high quality, high variety, and home made. Stan always has an interesting hot entree, and I hope that his blueberry pancakes, Poppi omelet, and french toast are offered during the times that you visit. There is just a homey, warm, welcoming feeling about the whole place. I will be staying there whenever I go to the Berkshires, provided that there is room availability and that Stan and his wife are still there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MAAWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We just returned from a wonderful week in Lenox at the
Hampton Terrace. Our experience was the total opposite of the negative review below. In fact, I am wondering if that reviewer stayed at the same property! Having visited the Berkshires every summer for the past 10 years, we found the Hampton Terrace to be our favorite B&B in this region. The innkeepers, Stan and
Susan were warm, welcoming, inviting and provided us with unlimited touring information. Our rooms (we actually sampled two different rooms) were both comfortable, cozy, clean, tastefully furnished, and well airconditioned. The breakfasts were by far the nicest and most complete breakfasts we have enjoyed in Lenox B&Bs, and included a hot delicious entree as well as a full cold buffet. I highly recommend this property and have already planned my visit next summer.
Judi from Philadelphia

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miltonPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed for 2 days in June. The Inn was a disappointment, cobwebs in every corner, the landscaping was a mess. The Innkeepers where very unfriendly. Stan barely spent two minutes with us and was short with my husband when he asked him a few simple questions. The breakfast was awful, we took a pass on the second day. I can not recommend this Inn, it is far too expensive and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anniegirlCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonT, Owner at Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2007

During that time period, we cannot find a record of anyone who left a night early, or came from Cape Cod. It is especially puzzling, because June marks the month we hosted our daughter's wedding in the yard, and we initiated more than the usual upgrades to transition from mud season to high season. All that being said, we are sorry that this person had a bad experience. Had they shared that with us (instead of a 3rd party website 2 months later) we would have probably offered them recompense. We hope you place this review in proper context....contrasted to the highest possible marks offered by dozens of reviewers before and since.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Nestled in the woods of Lenox, Massachusetts, Hampton Terrace is a beautiful b & b that has space galore, lovely cottages around the very sleek and immaculate pool...wonderful breakfasts and a cheerful staff. Stan, the owner, manager and his wife do it right. Atticus, their dog, is a very sweet boy who likes to greet everyone. Some of Stan's southern hospitality, courtesy of being raised in Georgia, makes the Hampton Terrace, extra cozy. We would definitely go back. This is a homey Berkshire retreat.

J Dulin Jones

Stayed: August 2007
Thank sevendials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We found the innkeepers and the overall experience here to be pleasant. The room (in the Main House) was quaint, the sheets were nice, the AC worked well. The inn has a nice pool in back. The location--just one block from the main part of town--is great. We would gladly stay at Hampton Terrace again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank loganearthski68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Over the past decade, my wife and I have stayed in eight different inns in Lenox, MA (which is our favorite destination--Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Co, Berkshire Theater, Williamstown Summer Theater, et al). This year we stayed for the first time at Hampton Terrace, and already are planning our return visit. The accommodations were quiet and extremely comfortable, we frequently had the (heated) pool to ourselves, breakfast was excellent, and Stan Rosen's service and attention were truly outstanding. Hampton Terrace has become our favorite nesting site when we migrate north to the Berkshires--the location is perfect for all that is available in Lenox, too. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tomnorthrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
2.2 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
174 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
534 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,092 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range: $157 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Our Lenox, MA bed and breakfast is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing